ASRock.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Technical Support > Intel Motherboards
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - z370 pro4 problem graphics and sound card
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

z370 pro4 problem graphics and sound card

 Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Message
bingowski View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 06 Dec 2018
Status: Offline
Points: 7
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote bingowski Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: z370 pro4 problem graphics and sound card
    Posted: 06 Dec 2018 at 6:37am
Hi,

Just bought the board along with i5-8600k and 2x8 G.skill aegis 3000 RAM, ocz modxtream-pro 700w PSU

I've put in my old r9 290x - it doesn't work - only the onboard card is able to display anything. The fans are running, it's powered with the 8 and 6 pin and nothing happens
The same with my xonar dg

Updated the bios to newest
graphics in bios is set to PCIe
onboard audio to Auto

Any ideas ?
Back to Top
badbri View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie


Joined: 20 Feb 2018
Location: USA
Status: Offline
Points: 281
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote badbri Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09 Dec 2018 at 7:40am
Make sure you have the r9 290x card in the 16x PCIe slot (PCIe2) closest to the CPU.
You may not be able to use the PCI slot for your audio card if you have anything plugged into PCIe4 or PCIe5 as they share some PCIe lanes
https://www.passmark.com/baselines/V9/display.php?id=99573335296
Back to Top
RLGL View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 29 Jul 2018
Location: MN
Status: Offline
Points: 117
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote RLGL Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09 Dec 2018 at 10:25am
what happens if you clear the cmos settings
Asrock Z370 Gaming K6,Intel i7 8700K, ThermalTake Contact Silent12
Asus Strix GTX970,
EVGA 750 W Super Nova,
16G GSkill Ripjaws, F4-3200C16D-16GVKB,
Samsung 960 Evo 500G M.2,Samsung 970 Evo 1T M.2
Back to Top
bingowski View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 06 Dec 2018
Status: Offline
Points: 7
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote bingowski Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09 Dec 2018 at 9:30pm
Originally posted by badbri badbri wrote:

Make sure you have the r9 290x card in the 16x PCIe slot (PCIe2) closest to the CPU.
You may not be able to use the PCI slot for your audio card if you have anything plugged into PCIe4 or PCIe5 as they share some PCIe lanes

Tried to plug it in both of them, still the PC boots from the onboard graphics

Originally posted by RLGL RLGL wrote:

what happens if you clear the cmos settings

Still the same
Back to Top
RLGL View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 29 Jul 2018
Location: MN
Status: Offline
Points: 117
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote RLGL Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 10 Dec 2018 at 12:29am
Do you have the primary graphics adapter set to PCI Express? (bios settings)
Asrock Z370 Gaming K6,Intel i7 8700K, ThermalTake Contact Silent12
Asus Strix GTX970,
EVGA 750 W Super Nova,
16G GSkill Ripjaws, F4-3200C16D-16GVKB,
Samsung 960 Evo 500G M.2,Samsung 970 Evo 1T M.2
Back to Top
bingowski View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 06 Dec 2018
Status: Offline
Points: 7
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote bingowski Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 10 Dec 2018 at 8:31pm
Originally posted by RLGL RLGL wrote:

Do you have the primary graphics adapter set to PCI Express? (bios settings)

Yes
Back to Top
Xaltar View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 16 May 2015
Status: Offline
Points: 4975
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Xaltar Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11 Dec 2018 at 12:26am
Have you tried a bare minimum configuration? CPU, 1 stick of RAM, GPU and PSU with all else removed from the system.

It sounds like you have no PCIe lanes working from your CPU or you have a lane conflict. Removing all devices except for the ones I mentioned should rule out a conflict. If you still have no luck, take out the CPU and check for bent pins in the socket or debris on the CPU contact pads.

Let us know how it goes.
Back to Top
bingowski View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 06 Dec 2018
Status: Offline
Points: 7
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote bingowski Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 12 Dec 2018 at 6:40am
Originally posted by Xaltar Xaltar wrote:

Have you tried a bare minimum configuration? CPU, 1 stick of RAM, GPU and PSU with all else removed from the system.

It sounds like you have no PCIe lanes working from your CPU or you have a lane conflict. Removing all devices except for the ones I mentioned should rule out a conflict. If you still have no luck, take out the CPU and check for bent pins in the socket or debris on the CPU contact pads.

Let us know how it goes.

CPU and socket clean
tried with 1 ram stick and gpu only everything ale unplugged

Nothing helps
Back to Top
bingowski View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 06 Dec 2018
Status: Offline
Points: 7
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote bingowski Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 13 Dec 2018 at 5:48pm
Finally i've bought a new graphics card and it works normally

My guess is that the board doesn't have backward compatibility
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 11.06
Copyright ©2001-2018 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.063 seconds.