ASRock.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Technical Support > Intel Motherboards
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - Z390 Taichi Bios 1.80 problems
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Z390 Taichi Bios 1.80 problems

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <1 345
Author
Message Reverse Sort Order
marjohn56 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 05 Nov 2018
Location: London
Status: Offline
Points: 21
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote marjohn56 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 16 Dec 2018 at 8:56pm
I do have drives on the SATA ports, but they are not conflicting with the NVMEs.

I have two NVMEs a 512Gb ( boot ) and a 1Tb work drive, they are in slots 1 & 3, I also have four SATA drives, two are in the appropriate sata3_2 & 3_3 and the other two drives are on the ASMEDIA ports. To add to the usual gfx card I also have a Soundblaster card, and a USB3 expansion card as I never appear to have
enough USB ports! That card also has a couple of SATA3 ports on it as well, I only use them for hanging drives on temporarily if I need to.

I have just completed a clean W10 install, using 1.60 ( found a copy ) Bios, update the bios and it crawls, revert back to 1.60 and all is fine, think I'll be sticking with 1.60, it ain't perfect but it works.
Back to Top
RLGL View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 29 Jul 2018
Location: MN
Status: Offline
Points: 202
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote RLGL Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 15 Dec 2018 at 6:58am
do you have anything plugged into the sata ports. some are shared with the m.2 slots
Asrock Z370 Gaming K6,Intel i7 8700K, ThermalTake Contact Silent12

EVGA RTX2070
EVGA 750 W Super Nova,
16G GSkill Ripjaws, F4-3200C16D-16GVKB,
Samsung 960 Evo 500G M.2,Samsung 970 Evo 1T M.2
Back to Top
marjohn56 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 05 Nov 2018
Location: London
Status: Offline
Points: 21
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote marjohn56 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 15 Dec 2018 at 4:56am
I've just repeated the procedure to make sure I had done nothing stupid, exactly the same result, W10 is very sluggish, mouse is slow etc, all in all just not responsive.
Back to Top
marjohn56 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 05 Nov 2018
Location: London
Status: Offline
Points: 21
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote marjohn56 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 Dec 2018 at 10:57pm
Well I reset to default settings, rebooted and went through my normal setup again.
Back to Top
RLGL View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 29 Jul 2018
Location: MN
Status: Offline
Points: 202
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote RLGL Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 Dec 2018 at 10:54pm
After the installation of the 1.80 version did you clear the cmos and go through and reset everything?
Asrock Z370 Gaming K6,Intel i7 8700K, ThermalTake Contact Silent12

EVGA RTX2070
EVGA 750 W Super Nova,
16G GSkill Ripjaws, F4-3200C16D-16GVKB,
Samsung 960 Evo 500G M.2,Samsung 970 Evo 1T M.2
Back to Top
marjohn56 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 05 Nov 2018
Location: London
Status: Offline
Points: 21
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote marjohn56 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 Dec 2018 at 8:12pm
Anyone else having issues with the 1.80 version?

I have an nvme Samsung as my boot device and after installing the 1.80 bios everything slowed to a crawl, my old 386 would have been quicker to boot!

Reverted back to v1.51 and normal service was restored. Would have gone back to 1.60 but cannot find that one on my drives.
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <1 345
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 11.06
Copyright ©2001-2018 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.063 seconds.