ASRock.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Technical Support > AMD Motherboards
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - B450m Pro4, Ryzen 5 2400G constantly crashing
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

B450m Pro4, Ryzen 5 2400G constantly crashing

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <123>
Author
Message Reverse Sort Order
thomas1986 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 01 Feb 2019
Status: Offline
Points: 13
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote thomas1986 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 03 Feb 2019 at 5:19pm
Well, here come the memtest86 results

Both Sticks in A2 + B2 on default settings
      4 passes 0 errors total

Took stick out of B2, Cleared CMOS, activated XMP
      4 passes 0 errors total

Switched stick, Cleared CMOS, activated XMP and it showed this

      1st pass 1 error
      2nd pass 0 errors
      3rd pass 2 errors different to 1st pass
      [Note RAM may be vulnerable to high frequency row hammer bit flips]
      4th pass 0 errors

I saved the report, if necessary i can paste it

So am i right to say, that the 2nd stick causes the issue?
Sending the kit back would be no problem.

Just for my curiosity... why do errors occur in one pass and in the next one not?
Back to Top
xhue View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie


Joined: 17 Aug 2018
Status: Offline
Points: 634
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (1) Thanks(1)   Quote xhue Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 03 Feb 2019 at 4:43am
To be exactly sure, try running each one of them solo @ XMP. Remeber to clear CMOS each time.
Back to Top
thomas1986 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 01 Feb 2019
Status: Offline
Points: 13
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote thomas1986 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 03 Feb 2019 at 2:57am
Basically I can. With lowered settings. But since the system crashes while idle even before I install anything on windows I don't think that this is a software problem. I started memtest86 with XMP on and had errors immediately after start. During the first pass 34 total. Now I cleared cmos, RAM is on that 2133mhz and finished pass #2 without any errors. Both bars plugged.
I guess that means they are OK, right?
Back to Top
xhue View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie


Joined: 17 Aug 2018
Status: Offline
Points: 634
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote xhue Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 03 Feb 2019 at 2:38am
Originally posted by _Mael_ _Mael_ wrote:

ok friend your problem is simple, just update the amd chipset driver to version 18.10.0830 and that's it. I have my 2400g with that chipset and zero problems. with the asrock driver it had the same problem that you have. I also use the driver of amd 18.12.2 I do better than with the latest version. I hope to be helpful.


Only that OP can't insall Windows to begin with.
Back to Top
_Mael_ View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 24 Apr 2018
Location: PR
Status: Offline
Points: 99
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (1) Thanks(1)   Quote _Mael_ Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 03 Feb 2019 at 2:08am
ok friend your problem is simple, just update the amd chipset driver to version 18.10.0830 and that's it. I have my 2400g with that chipset and zero problems. with the asrock driver it had the same problem that you have. I also use the driver of amd 18.12.2 I do better than with the latest version. I hope to be helpful.
Back to Top
xhue View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie


Joined: 17 Aug 2018
Status: Offline
Points: 634
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (1) Thanks(1)   Quote xhue Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 02 Feb 2019 at 7:17pm
Yep, kerb is onto something there.

Try runing memtest after cleared CMOS. This should bring the memory to JEDEC default 'speed' of 2133MT/s.

Also, try running only 1 stick of RAM in A2. Then try again with the next stick.
Back to Top
thomas1986 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 01 Feb 2019
Status: Offline
Points: 13
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote thomas1986 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 02 Feb 2019 at 5:34pm
thx kerberos.

RAM is plugged in A2 and B2
By "default settings" you mean settings after clear CMOS which would be 2133mhz CL?? or settings stated in the specs of the RAMs which would be 3000mhz CL16?

Buying components declared as compatible (QVL lists) and then having nothing but troubles is a true pain in the ass, but i'm really thankful for your help.
Back to Top
kerberos_20 View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie
Avatar

Joined: 06 Dec 2017
Location: czech republic
Status: Offline
Points: 547
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (1) Thanks(1)   Quote kerberos_20 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 02 Feb 2019 at 10:29am
your ram desnt seems to be running stable
to make sure, install [URL=https://www.memtest86.com/]memtest86[/URL] on some usb drive and run it, if u get errors, your ram will need different timings/clock that u using right now

soo in case u get errors, set your ram to its default settings (no XMP) and run it again, if u get no errors, ram is working fine, if u get errors even with default settings, then you will need different RAM

also make sure your RAM is seated in A2+B2 slots
https://www.userbenchmark.com/UserRun/14185108
Back to Top
thomas1986 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 01 Feb 2019
Status: Offline
Points: 13
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote thomas1986 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 02 Feb 2019 at 7:28am
Alright, so i disassembled the PC to review the components.
CPU is ok, all pins are sraight, sits perfectly (mhhh i love cooling compound so much.
Cleaned DIMM slots with compressed air from the can, investigated with a lens, and mounted RAM, checked seating twice.
Connected each cable, one by one, carefully watching for perfect fitting.
Cleared CMOS with reset button, worked 'cause FANs spin with default RPM.
Latest BIOS (b450m pro4, P2.00) i installed already days ago.
Started WIN10 installation
Crash before first windows screen, PC powered off. error code 0x000000???... was gone to fast to note it
Rebooted, WIN installation starts and works proper to the point of first reboot, reboots fine, there comes the ENTER KEY screen
Crash, error code: DRIVER_IRQL_NOT_LESS_OR_EQUAL, System reboots
Installation works till end, welcome to WIN10. I start edge browser to visit asrock forum and whine about the situation
Crash, error code: DRIVER_IRQL_NOT_LESS_OR_EQUAL, system reboots, i shut the PC off
This also was the most frequent error code i read with that system.
I investigated on that error and it says it should be a bad driver, but i aint install any drivers yet. All windows natives. Also on my first attempt the time between crashes increased as i put the RAM on 2933mhz but they still happen ones or twice an hour.
so whats next
Back to Top
thomas1986 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 01 Feb 2019
Status: Offline
Points: 13
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote thomas1986 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 01 Feb 2019 at 6:29am
Wow, that was fast. I wasn't expecting answer before weekend.
OK, you lead and it's my pleasure to follow. Since it's short to midnight in austria i will do these steps one by one tommorow right after work and report results.

thx in advance
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <123>
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 12.04
Copyright ©2001-2021 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.063 seconds.