ASRock.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Technical Support > AMD Motherboards
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - ASRock X470 Taichi Ulyimate m.2 ssd help needed
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

ASRock X470 Taichi Ulyimate m.2 ssd help needed

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>
Author
Message
BRKKAB818 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 05 Feb 2019
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Points: 9
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote BRKKAB818 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: ASRock X470 Taichi Ulyimate m.2 ssd help needed
    Posted: 05 Feb 2019 at 11:32pm
I recently upgraded my pc to a ASRock X 470 Taichi Ultimate mobo, AMD Ryzen R7 2700X cpu and G.Skill Sniper X DDR4 3600 32GBs. (downclocked to DDR4 3266).
The mobo doesn't show my Samsung 850 EVO 1TB m.2 ssd in m.2 slot 2 in the mobo's UEFI version 2.00.
It lists my Samsung 850 EVO 1TB SATA ssd and W.D. Black 2TB hdd in the UEFI, but not the m.2 ssd.
UEFI is all at default setting's, except for the DDR4 3600 ram being fownclocked to DDR4 3266.
I'm sldo uding the cpu's stock heatsink and a EVGS SuperNOVA G2 1000 watt psu.
Sapphire NITRO+ RX 480 OC video card (soon to be updated to a NVIDIA RTX 2070 or the new one of the AMD Vega card's being released soon.
Then, I'll also upgrade my View Sonic 1080P tn panel to a IPS 4K panel.

Are there any UEFI settings I should change for the m.2 ssd in m.2 slot 2?
I don't want to use m.2 slot 1 and thus lower my video card speed from x16 to x8 speed.
Back to Top
gizmic View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie
Avatar

Joined: 13 Jun 2018
Location: Hong Kong
Status: Offline
Points: 485
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote gizmic Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 06 Feb 2019 at 1:28pm
sata interfaced m.2 has to go on the first m.2 slot
Back to Top
BRKKAB818 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 05 Feb 2019
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Points: 9
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote BRKKAB818 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 06 Feb 2019 at 5:36pm
So, I need to use m.2 slot 1, not m.2 slot 2 and thus my single video card only can run at x8 speed instead of x16 speed.
IF THAT'S THE CASE, WHY DOES THE MOBO HAVE 2 m.2 ALOTS ON IT?
APPARRENTLY THIS MOBO SUCKS AND I'M GETTING A TRUE MOBO THAT WORKS PROPERLY.
ASUS ROB CROSSHAIR VII HERO WIFI WHICH EITHER M.@ SSD SLOT CAN BE USED ON & HAS BETTER SOUND TO BOOT.
Back to Top
Ray62 View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie
Avatar

Joined: 01 Jul 2018
Location: Germany, Berlin
Status: Offline
Points: 628
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Ray62 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 07 Feb 2019 at 4:39am
Originally posted by BRKKAB818 BRKKAB818 wrote:

So, I need to use m.2 slot 1, not m.2 slot 2 and thus my single video card only can run at x8 speed instead of x16 speed.

That is not true. The first M2 slot is directly connected with 4 PCIe Gen3 lanes to the CPU as in every AM4 board. There is no dependency to a PCIe slot.
The second M2 slot is handled different on several AM4 boards.
If you would use the second M2 slot on the CROSSHAIR VII HERO, you would have x8 speed instead of x16 speed for your graphics card.
On the X740 Taichi, the second M2 slot is connected with 4 PCIe Gen2 lanes to the chipset and you would loose the PCIE5 slot (Gen2).

However, your SSD should also work on the second M2 slot of the X740 Taichi (according to the manual).

But, why using such a dump SATA M2 SSD?
Asrock Fatal1ty X370 Professional Gaming Offline
Under test:
MSI X570_MEG_ACE | AMD Ryzen 9 3900X | Scythe Mugen5 | 2x16GB F4-3200C14D-32GTZ@3466 | ASUS GeForce GTX 1080 Ti FE
Back to Top
BRKKAB818 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 05 Feb 2019
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Points: 9
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote BRKKAB818 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 07 Feb 2019 at 7:23am
Good one.
Samsubg ssd's are what????
Dump????
Yeah right on that one, NOT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!,
Or is it dump to you, because I see no need to get a new one at the moment.
Back to Top
gizmic View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie
Avatar

Joined: 13 Jun 2018
Location: Hong Kong
Status: Offline
Points: 485
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote gizmic Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 08 Feb 2019 at 3:20am
he isn't dissing samsung ssd's he is dissing the slower sata based m.2. You should move up to nvm types

either way using both m.2 wont affect the graphics slots it only affects the last pcie slot
Back to Top
BRKKAB818 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 05 Feb 2019
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Points: 9
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote BRKKAB818 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 08 Feb 2019 at 6:09am
Soubded like he was to me.
Regardless the only new hardware I'm purchasing is a newer video card and a 4K ips monitor.
Everything else can wait.
My health & eye's are more important than my pc is to me at the moment.
Back to Top
Ray62 View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie
Avatar

Joined: 01 Jul 2018
Location: Germany, Berlin
Status: Offline
Points: 628
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Ray62 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09 Feb 2019 at 4:12am
If i would own a SATA M2 ssd instead of a NVMe, i would use it too, for sure. ;-)

Does the SATA M2 SSD drive now work in the first slot?
Asrock Fatal1ty X370 Professional Gaming Offline
Under test:
MSI X570_MEG_ACE | AMD Ryzen 9 3900X | Scythe Mugen5 | 2x16GB F4-3200C14D-32GTZ@3466 | ASUS GeForce GTX 1080 Ti FE
Back to Top
BRKKAB818 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 05 Feb 2019
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Points: 9
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote BRKKAB818 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09 Feb 2019 at 12:10pm
SATA ssd works in any sata slot.
It wasn't purchased for Windows 10 and programs like it has on it now.
That's the m.2 ssd's jpb.
Thw sata ssd is for games only.
If this mobo can't accomplidh that, like my ASUS Maximus VIII Hero did, then this mobo is useless to me and will go bye-bye's period.
As it is now, it's junk to me.
Back to Top
BRKKAB818 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 05 Feb 2019
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Points: 9
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote BRKKAB818 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09 Feb 2019 at 5:55pm
As far as switching the m.3 drive to m.2 slot 1, I haven't messed with it yet and it will be a few days before I do mess with it.
Probab;y not for almost 3 ,ore weeks.
I just had cataract & glaucoma surgery on the only ryr I can see iut of alile ove a week ago.
I won't be able to get new eyeglasses until February 24th at the earliest and my upclose vision is messed up from the stent they put in for the glaucoma and the prescribed eyedrops cause severe migrains and other issues right now.
However, if I don't use them I go blind.
Thus, pc tear aparts are on hold at the moment.
Thr glaucoma isn't the only diabetes issue at the moment, too.
I also have vascular issues affecting both legs that cause severe leg cramps, falls, etc. and require a cane that won't arrive to me until the end of yjr month - mid March, as it has to be a specific high-end 3-prongeed one and have a built in light for seeing with it at night.
Thus, it's high-end anf the only company that has them isn't in the U.S., so I get to wait for it's arrival.
That's after checking evetywhere in L.A. near me and not finding one.
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 11.06
Copyright ©2001-2018 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.094 seconds.