ASRock.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Technical Support > AMD Motherboards
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - X470 Taichi - 1.5V DDR4 crash
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

X470 Taichi - 1.5V DDR4 crash

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>
Author
Message
ByReaL View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 06 Feb 2019
Location: SoCal
Status: Offline
Points: 12
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote ByReaL Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: X470 Taichi - 1.5V DDR4 crash
    Posted: 06 Feb 2019 at 3:32am
reset bios, everything factory defaults
set in bios DDR4 voltage to 1.45V or 1.5V
(no other change)

windows fails to boot i get blue screens.

any idea ?


bios version 2.0
DDR4 memory Samsung b-die 2x16G
same memory sticks in a different motherboard work fine at 1.5V and over
just to clarify, i don't load XMP or any other setting, the one and only change is the DDR4 voltage and that alone by itself is causing big instability 1.4V works tested stable, 1.45V and over gets blue screen
Back to Top
Ray62 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 01 Jul 2018
Location: Gemany, Berlin
Status: Offline
Points: 21
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Ray62 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 06 Feb 2019 at 5:03am
Did you measure the real DRAM voltage with both motherboards?
Is the working motherboard also an AM4 board and used the same CPU?
The IMC of each CPU can behave different regarding those limits!


AMD Ryzen 7 1800X
Asrock X370 Professional Gaming
G-Skill 2xF4-3200C14-16GTZ
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 Ti
Samsung SSD 960 PRO 512GB
Samsung SSD 960 EVO 1TB

Back to Top
ByReaL View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 06 Feb 2019
Location: SoCal
Status: Offline
Points: 12
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote ByReaL Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 06 Feb 2019 at 5:15am
i'll measure and come back but this is irrelevant
but increasing just the DDR4 voltage to 1.6V-2.0V why would cause any instability ?
if i set 1.5V and motherboard is providing less like i said at 1.2V to 1.4V is rock solid. if i set it to 1.5V and actually it is more, b-die can take even 2V, and the memory sticks work fine at higher voltages like i said (teste don teh x299) so it's not the memory sticks.

the other motherboard is a X299 Intel different brand, make, something i know works and i use to test to see each memory kit how high it can go.

why would the IMC behave differently when the frequency , IMC voltage ... are left unchanged, only the DDR4 memory stick voltage is changed ?(i know there is a termination voltage that is usually DDR4 voltage/2 that has some impact but that is left to auto, and at 1.5V/2 = 750mv for termination voltage that is still in within what AM4 platform can do)

now is either the CPU or the motherboard (ram is not the issue for sure)
and since i dont change frequency or anything else, i'm inclined to blame the motherboard for not doing proper "auto".
Back to Top
Ray62 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 01 Jul 2018
Location: Gemany, Berlin
Status: Offline
Points: 21
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Ray62 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 06 Feb 2019 at 5:34am
Maybe the SOC voltage is too low on that high DRAM voltage and not handled the right way on AUTO settings.

But anyway, why using such high voltages?
Even on, say maybe reachable 3600Mhz with Ryzen, 1.4V should be enough!

And i think, you should post your finding at overclock dot net.
AMD Ryzen 7 1800X
Asrock X370 Professional Gaming
G-Skill 2xF4-3200C14-16GTZ
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 Ti
Samsung SSD 960 PRO 512GB
Samsung SSD 960 EVO 1TB

Back to Top
ByReaL View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 06 Feb 2019
Location: SoCal
Status: Offline
Points: 12
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote ByReaL Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 12 Feb 2019 at 3:47am
can anyone, reproduce the problem?
will it be possible for anyone to try set bios to factory defaults
set DDR4 voltage to 1.5V (absolutely no other change) and see if windows is stable (everything else to auto, memory leave it to 2133 JDEC)


also can anyone run stable 1.5V+ and what other settings have been made ? to make it stable.

Back to Top
gizmic View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 13 Jun 2018
Location: Hong Kong
Status: Offline
Points: 244
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote gizmic Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 12 Feb 2019 at 1:33pm
booted just fine @1.5v and reverted back to my settings
AMD 2700X
8GBX2 Trident Z RGB 4000@3466 CL14
Inno3D 1070Ti X2
X470 Taichi Ult
Custom Water Cooling Kit by Bitspower
Samsung 970 EVO M.2
Samsung 860 EVO 500GB RAID0
WD GOLD 2TB RAID0
Corsair AX860i
Back to Top
ByReaL View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 06 Feb 2019
Location: SoCal
Status: Offline
Points: 12
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote ByReaL Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 12 Feb 2019 at 4:19pm
Originally posted by gizmic gizmic wrote:

booted just fine @1.5v and reverted back to my settings

thank you very much, maybe it is the CPU and not the MB
i see you have a 2700X i have a 2600, i'll try see if i can barrow a 2700x to try


anyone else can try please the 1.5V setting? (maybe somebody with x470 taichi non ultimate bios 2.0 and a 2600)
Back to Top
ByReaL View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 06 Feb 2019
Location: SoCal
Status: Offline
Points: 12
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote ByReaL Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 13 Feb 2019 at 4:22pm
i was able to get my hands on a 2700X CPU, tried same thing, set DDR4 voltage 1.4V (reported by BIOS is ~1.43V) and everything works fine
i set that DDR4 voltage to 1.45 or 1.5V and windows gives blue screen right away
Back to Top
ByReaL View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 06 Feb 2019
Location: SoCal
Status: Offline
Points: 12
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote ByReaL Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 13 Feb 2019 at 5:12pm
Originally posted by Ray62 Ray62 wrote:

Did you measure the real DRAM voltage with both motherboards?


any recommended reading point on the motherboard ?
bios reports 1.43 for 1.4V set or 1.53V for 1.5V set.
i have a multi meter and an oscilloscope i just dont see any debug, or measuring points on the board, i may have to read of a component but i dont want o short something with my shaky hands.

anyway any suggestion where to measure it on the actual board ?
Back to Top
gizmic View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 13 Jun 2018
Location: Hong Kong
Status: Offline
Points: 244
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote gizmic Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 Feb 2019 at 11:38pm
what speed are you trying to hit at those volts anyway
AMD 2700X
8GBX2 Trident Z RGB 4000@3466 CL14
Inno3D 1070Ti X2
X470 Taichi Ult
Custom Water Cooling Kit by Bitspower
Samsung 970 EVO M.2
Samsung 860 EVO 500GB RAID0
WD GOLD 2TB RAID0
Corsair AX860i
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 11.06
Copyright ©2001-2018 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.078 seconds.