ASRock.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Technical Support > AMD Motherboards
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - Unable to post Taichi x470 ulti
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Unable to post Taichi x470 ulti

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>
Author
Message Reverse Sort Order
evilized View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 10 Feb 2019
Status: Offline
Points: 9
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote evilized Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Unable to post Taichi x470 ulti
    Posted: 11 Feb 2019 at 9:08pm
Originally posted by Xaltar Xaltar wrote:

On all AM4 boards that provide a display output (or several) you need an APU in order to use them. Currently the only CPUs that can be used with the "onboard" display outputs are:

Athlon 2XXge (200, 220 etc)
Ryzen 3 2200g
Ryzen 5 2400g

APUs listed in order of price and performance. There are also a line of Bristol Ridge APUs but I would strongly advise against those. The list above are the only CPUs I would recommend.

As you already have a Ryzen 7 2700 you will need to purchase a discrete GPU. This is a common point of confusion ever since the integrated graphics shifted from the motherboard chipset onto the CPU (APU). It is further complicated by the fact that most intel CPUs have an iGPU and are not called APUs. It is a common mistake to make, particularly for those less experienced with current hardware


Thank you for the solid response, I figured it out and plugged in a old gpu for the time being until my new one arrives, and am up and running now. My last build was a fx series chip so indeed I was not up on current hardware. Also usually I have everything at the ready but newegg decided to split my shipments having the gpu come almost a full week after the rest of the parts. Who wants to sit on a pile of brand new pc parts so I figured I could get everything built and ready to just plug the gpu in on arrival. Was my mistake.

The other guy could have easily summed this up in his first post but wanted to play games like a idiot on support forums, no clue why someone would do that.
Back to Top
Xaltar View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 16 May 2015
Status: Offline
Points: 5266
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Xaltar Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11 Feb 2019 at 5:43pm
On all AM4 boards that provide a display output (or several) you need an APU in order to use them. Currently the only CPUs that can be used with the "onboard" display outputs are:

Athlon 2XXge (200, 220 etc)
Ryzen 3 2200g
Ryzen 5 2400g

APUs listed in order of price and performance. There are also a line of Bristol Ridge APUs but I would strongly advise against those. The list above are the only CPUs I would recommend.

As you already have a Ryzen 7 2700 you will need to purchase a discrete GPU. This is a common point of confusion ever since the integrated graphics shifted from the motherboard chipset onto the CPU (APU). It is further complicated by the fact that most intel CPUs have an iGPU and are not called APUs. It is a common mistake to make, particularly for those less experienced with current hardware
Back to Top
Ray62 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 01 Jul 2018
Location: Gemany, Berlin
Status: Offline
Points: 233
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Ray62 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11 Feb 2019 at 6:07am
How ridiculous.

- Vega Series Graphics in Ryzen Series APU
not on the mainboard!

You have a Ryzen 2700, that is not an APU.

Buy a graphics card or replace the Ryzen 2700 with an APU like
Ryzen 3 2200G or Ryzen 5 2400G

and than you can continue with your system setup.
R7 1800X@Stock
Scythe Mugen5
Fatal1ty X370 Pro Gaming Bios 5.10
G-Skill 2xF4-3200C14-16GTZ@3200
GeForce GTX 1080 Ti
NVME 960 PRO 512GB, 960 EVO 1TB
PS/2 Kb, USB Mouse
bequit!DarkPowerProP9 750W
Back to Top
evilized View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 10 Feb 2019
Status: Offline
Points: 9
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote evilized Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11 Feb 2019 at 5:31am
- Integrated AMD Radeon??Vega Series Graphics in Ryzen Series APU*
- DirectX 12, Pixel Shader 5.0
- Shared memory default 2GB. Max Shared memory supports up to 16GB.**
- Supports HDMI 1.4 with max. resolution up to 4K x 2K (4096x2160) @ 30Hz
- Supports Auto Lip Sync, Deep Color (12bpc), xvYCC and HBR (High Bit Rate Audio) with HDMI 1.4 Ports (Compliant HDMI monitor is required)
- Supports HDCP 1.4 with HDMI 1.4 Port
- Supports 4K Ultra HD (UHD) playback with HDMI Port


I'm reading the specs. If I'm just that blind and I'm not posting due to not having a gpu installed that is great news, but I'm pretty sure there is in fact on board graphics.

Please stop being crypic in your response, I'm here to get help, and in these situations people tend to be upset and not needed to be poked.
Back to Top
Ray62 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 01 Jul 2018
Location: Gemany, Berlin
Status: Offline
Points: 233
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Ray62 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11 Feb 2019 at 5:24am
Originally posted by evilized evilized wrote:

The board has onboard graphics via hdmi.

Come on! The board has NO onboard graphics, just a hdmi port.
And read the specs of this board very carefully!


R7 1800X@Stock
Scythe Mugen5
Fatal1ty X370 Pro Gaming Bios 5.10
G-Skill 2xF4-3200C14-16GTZ@3200
GeForce GTX 1080 Ti
NVME 960 PRO 512GB, 960 EVO 1TB
PS/2 Kb, USB Mouse
bequit!DarkPowerProP9 750W
Back to Top
evilized View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 10 Feb 2019
Status: Offline
Points: 9
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote evilized Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11 Feb 2019 at 5:06am
I'm not sure I understand?

Why am I dreaming? The board has onboard graphics via hdmi. Is there a reason I would not be able to post without having a gpu installed? If I have missed something some kind of explanation and help would be appreciated as I would rather not do a RMA.
Back to Top
Ray62 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 01 Jul 2018
Location: Gemany, Berlin
Status: Offline
Points: 233
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Ray62 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11 Feb 2019 at 4:55am
Your are dreaming, not planning.
R7 1800X@Stock
Scythe Mugen5
Fatal1ty X370 Pro Gaming Bios 5.10
G-Skill 2xF4-3200C14-16GTZ@3200
GeForce GTX 1080 Ti
NVME 960 PRO 512GB, 960 EVO 1TB
PS/2 Kb, USB Mouse
bequit!DarkPowerProP9 750W
Back to Top
evilized View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 10 Feb 2019
Status: Offline
Points: 9
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote evilized Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11 Feb 2019 at 3:53am
this board has onboard graphics and hdmi connection. Was planning to use that atm while waiting for a gpu to show up, to set up the rest of the pc and install windows.
Back to Top
Ray62 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 01 Jul 2018
Location: Gemany, Berlin
Status: Offline
Points: 233
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Ray62 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11 Feb 2019 at 3:38am
Hmm, did you forget to install a graphics card?

R7 1800X@Stock
Scythe Mugen5
Fatal1ty X370 Pro Gaming Bios 5.10
G-Skill 2xF4-3200C14-16GTZ@3200
GeForce GTX 1080 Ti
NVME 960 PRO 512GB, 960 EVO 1TB
PS/2 Kb, USB Mouse
bequit!DarkPowerProP9 750W
Back to Top
evilized View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 10 Feb 2019
Status: Offline
Points: 9
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote evilized Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 10 Feb 2019 at 10:28pm
after some cord swapping ive been able to run power to bother the 8pin and 4 pin cpu powers. So I can rule that out I think.

Still I can not post. Never get to any kind of screen just a blank screen and the board reading 0d.
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 11.06
Copyright ©2001-2018 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.047 seconds.