ASRock.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Technical Support > Intel Motherboards
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - Win 10 not booting with new MB
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Win 10 not booting with new MB

 Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Message
MikeM View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 04 Nov 2015
Location: Centerburg, OH
Status: Offline
Points: 4
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote MikeM Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Win 10 not booting with new MB
    Posted: 04 Nov 2015 at 10:34am
I just upgraded the MB to the X99 Extreme 4 3/3.1 and left everything else as is  (with exception of adding DDR4 memory as the old DDR3 is not compatible).  I had previously upgraded to Win 10 and had been operating without  too many issues (occasional freezing and Blue Screen which prompted the new MB.  Now windows will not boot from the old hard drive (Samsung EVO Pro 850 500GB SSD).  The  drive boots up fine when installed in a laptop, and an older Samsung EVO 250 boots up with the new MB with Win 7.  is this a compatibility issue with the ver of MB bios or is there something else I am not aware of that must be done to the MB to be Win 10 compatible?  Thanks in advance for any comments....
Back to Top
Xaltar View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 16 May 2015
Status: Offline
Points: 5427
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Xaltar Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 04 Nov 2015 at 2:02pm
Do you mean you can't install windows 10 on the new drive or that the old OS installation that was set up on the previous board will not boot into the OS? If you are trying to boot an OS that was installed on different hardware then that is the problem, you will need to perform a fresh installation on the new hardware.

I have discovered a trick that makes the OS detect and install drivers for new hardware and while I advise against it as it can cause instability and driver conflicts I will outline it here anyway incase you need to boot the OS for backup purposes. Now this trick works on windows 8.1 but I suspect will work on 10 as well.

1. You will need to boot the OS with the original hardware it was installed on
2. Once in windows run "Msconfig"
3. Select the boot tab
4. Check the safe mode box and apply
5. Close the window
6. Do not restart
7. Shut down the PC
8. Install the drive with the new hardware
9. Boot into safe mode
10. Run Msconfig again and uncheck safemode
11. Reboot

I figured this out after I found out this was the only way to enable AHCI without reinstalling the OS when it was set up in legacy/IDE mode. Given that it worked for installing the drivers for AHCI I figured it should work for all other critical drivers too and it does. It looks like a long process but is actually fairly quick and easy to do. 

I hope this helps. 
Back to Top
MikeM View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 04 Nov 2015
Location: Centerburg, OH
Status: Offline
Points: 4
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote MikeM Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 05 Nov 2015 at 9:47am
Great info...thanks! I  had previously gotten lucky installing the new hardware with the old drive (and OS)it just updated the hardware drivers...as it did when I installed the HD from the desktop into the laptop...it just did a hardware update and went on form there as normal.  I suspected I would need a new install of Win 10 but I was hoping to get off easy...win some lose some....thanks again!
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 11.06
Copyright ©2001-2018 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.063 seconds.