ASRock.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Technical Support > AMD Motherboards
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - Help with disabling SMT
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Help with disabling SMT

 Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Message
ZIZOX View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 06 Jun 2019
Status: Offline
Points: 5
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote ZIZOX Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Help with disabling SMT
    Posted: 06 Jun 2019 at 3:42am
Hello forum users))
I encountered the following problem:
I can not disable SMT on the Asrock x470 Gaming K4 motherboard. I select smt-disable But after saving the settings and rebooting into windows it continues to work
I have flashed the latest BIOS for my motherboard 3.31 but this did not help (


PS.Please forgive my bad english
PPS.CPU is R7 2700
Back to Top
xhue View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie


Joined: 17 Aug 2018
Status: Offline
Points: 634
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote xhue Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 06 Jun 2019 at 3:46am
OK, I honestly don't know how to achieve this with your board, but let me ask you - why you want that in first place?
Back to Top
ZIZOX View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 06 Jun 2019
Status: Offline
Points: 5
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote ZIZOX Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 06 Jun 2019 at 3:50am
Well, I would like my motherboard to fully function and not partially.
Back to Top
xhue View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie


Joined: 17 Aug 2018
Status: Offline
Points: 634
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote xhue Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 06 Jun 2019 at 4:00am
Originally posted by ZIZOX ZIZOX wrote:

Well, I would like my motherboard to fully function and not partially.


In order to do that you need to ENABLE SMT, not disable it.
Back to Top
ZIZOX View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 06 Jun 2019
Status: Offline
Points: 5
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote ZIZOX Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 06 Jun 2019 at 4:14am
One question, do you understand what smt is? And that the functionality of a normal MB allows you to disable it? It doesn? matter why it? not important, but what? important is that I cannot use the functionality provided by the motherboard.

Back to Top
xhue View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie


Joined: 17 Aug 2018
Status: Offline
Points: 634
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote xhue Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 06 Jun 2019 at 4:32am
Yes, believe I've glimpsed the ways and doings of SMT, that much I can guarantee you.

As for why you can't disable it on your mobo, I have no idea. You could also raise a ticket with ASRock's support crew. On rare occasions they can be helpful too.
Back to Top
Ray62 View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie
Avatar

Joined: 01 Jul 2018
Location: Gemany, Berlin
Status: Offline
Points: 390
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Ray62 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 06 Jun 2019 at 6:14am
And after changing SMT to disabled, saving settings, restart and going to the bios again (without starting an OS) it is still enabled?

If yes, this is a bios issue and a ticket for ASRock's support crew.


R7 2700X@Stock
Scythe Mugen5
Fata X370 Pro Gaming Bios 5.80 @testing
G-Skill 2 x F4-3200C14-16GTZ@testing
GeForce GTX 1080 Ti
NVME 960 PRO 512GB, 960 EVO 1TB
PS/2 Kb, USB Mouse
DarkPowerProP9 750W
Back to Top
Ray62 View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie
Avatar

Joined: 01 Jul 2018
Location: Gemany, Berlin
Status: Offline
Points: 390
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Ray62 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 06 Jun 2019 at 6:27am
Hmm, you should do one test:
The following procedure is known for switching SMT on for some mainboards. Maybe it helps here for switching off too:

Go to the bios, disable SMT, save it and make a power cycle (switch power supply completely off, unplug, wait a minute, plug, switch it on and start the machine again into bios.

If it is still enabled, it is a real issue.
R7 2700X@Stock
Scythe Mugen5
Fata X370 Pro Gaming Bios 5.80 @testing
G-Skill 2 x F4-3200C14-16GTZ@testing
GeForce GTX 1080 Ti
NVME 960 PRO 512GB, 960 EVO 1TB
PS/2 Kb, USB Mouse
DarkPowerProP9 750W
Back to Top
Ray62 View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie
Avatar

Joined: 01 Jul 2018
Location: Gemany, Berlin
Status: Offline
Points: 390
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Ray62 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 06 Jun 2019 at 3:56pm
There is another aspect for Ryzen CPUs: Suspend to RAM does only work, if SMT is enabled. So if Suspend to RAM is enabled, SMT maybe cannot be disabled due to this dependency (in this bios).
Meaning: Check that Suspend to RAM is also disabled when disabling SMT.
R7 2700X@Stock
Scythe Mugen5
Fata X370 Pro Gaming Bios 5.80 @testing
G-Skill 2 x F4-3200C14-16GTZ@testing
GeForce GTX 1080 Ti
NVME 960 PRO 512GB, 960 EVO 1TB
PS/2 Kb, USB Mouse
DarkPowerProP9 750W
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 11.06
Copyright ©2001-2018 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.047 seconds.