ASRock.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Technical Support > AMD Motherboards
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - Hal Initialization Failed when waking from sleep
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Hal Initialization Failed when waking from sleep

 Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Message
jbmerrill View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 02 Jan 2018
Location: California
Status: Offline
Points: 100
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote jbmerrill Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Hal Initialization Failed when waking from sleep
    Posted: 27 Jun 2019 at 5:26am
Hello,

I have a problem with Win 10 crashing on resume from sleep. It almost always works fine the first time, but subsequent times it crashes and reboots with a Hal_Initialization_Failed 0x5c according to WhoCrashed. I was able to solve this by enabling HPET (on by default in UEFI), in Windows using the bcdedit /set useplatformlock true.


However, this then caused unacceptable lag using Windows, and I had to revert back to HPET off.

Does anyone have experience with this, and can advise of any tricks / solutions? Let me know what additional details to provide.

Thanks,

Bryan
X399 Pro Gaming,1950x Threadripper,128GB G.Skill RGB 3200,EVGA 1200 P2,EVGA GTX 1080 Ti,Enermax Liqtech 360mm,Samsung 960 Pro/850 EVOs,Toshiba x300 HDDs,Ultra Quad/4 nvme,Thermaltake Chaser MK-1
Back to Top
xhue View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie


Joined: 17 Aug 2018
Status: Offline
Points: 634
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote xhue Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 27 Jun 2019 at 5:33am
As a frequent visitor on these forums yourself, I thought you'd thought of posting your configuration first. :)

There are hundreds of variables at play here, e.g. OC, BIOS, PSU, OS version and updates, HW and peripherals, etc.

We need to know it all. :)
Back to Top
jbmerrill View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 02 Jan 2018
Location: California
Status: Offline
Points: 100
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote jbmerrill Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 27 Jun 2019 at 7:10am
Hi, sorry for the lack of info!

OC - 4.0Ghz CPU, 3.0GHz RAM
BIOS P3.50
PSU EVGA 1200W
OS Win 10 Pro for Workstations Insider Preview, 1903 build 18922 - fully updated
HW, see sig + several usb devices such as:
Oculus Rift
hard drives

What else?

Thanks
X399 Pro Gaming,1950x Threadripper,128GB G.Skill RGB 3200,EVGA 1200 P2,EVGA GTX 1080 Ti,Enermax Liqtech 360mm,Samsung 960 Pro/850 EVOs,Toshiba x300 HDDs,Ultra Quad/4 nvme,Thermaltake Chaser MK-1
Back to Top
Ray62 View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie
Avatar

Joined: 01 Jul 2018
Location: Germany, Berlin
Status: Offline
Points: 569
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Ray62 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 30 Jun 2019 at 7:32pm
Some more infos for the RAM (like i have in my sig), all RAM slots are used?
What does it mean, OC - 4.0Ghz CPU?

I suggest to clock the CPU with standard settings.
If the resume crash still comes up, clock down the RAM one step.

Another idea: Disconnect all devices (USB, HD, ...) to get a minimal system and see, if the crash still occures. Maybe one device is causing the behaviour.

BTW: Using suspend/resume on a OCed system is always a bit dangerous.
Did you make 24h stress tests to verify stability?
Asrock Fatal1ty X370 Professional Gaming Offline
Under test:
MSI X570_MEG_ACE | AMD Ryzen 9 3900X | Scythe Mugen5 | 2x16GB F4-3200C14D-32GTZ@3466 | ASUS GeForce GTX 1080 Ti FE
Back to Top
jbmerrill View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 02 Jan 2018
Location: California
Status: Offline
Points: 100
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote jbmerrill Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 10 Jul 2019 at 6:57am
Originally posted by Ray62 Ray62 wrote:

Some more infos for the RAM (like i have in my sig), all RAM slots are used?
What does it mean, OC - 4.0Ghz CPU?

I suggest to clock the CPU with standard settings.
If the resume crash still comes up, clock down the RAM one step.

Another idea: Disconnect all devices (USB, HD, ...) to get a minimal system and see, if the crash still occures. Maybe one device is causing the behaviour.

BTW: Using suspend/resume on a OCed system is always a bit dangerous.
Did you make 24h stress tests to verify stability?



All 8 RAM slots used (128GB): G.Skill F4-3200C14-16GTZR @2933MHz

OC - 4.0GHz CPU means the processor is overclocked to 4.0GHz from stock 3.4GHz

I've tried running with UEFI defaults (stock cpu and ram speeds), but still same problem.

I've turned off my USB hard drives, and still have the problem.

I have not done a 24hour stress test because i'm afraid of damaging my system.

I welcome any advice.

Thanks
X399 Pro Gaming,1950x Threadripper,128GB G.Skill RGB 3200,EVGA 1200 P2,EVGA GTX 1080 Ti,Enermax Liqtech 360mm,Samsung 960 Pro/850 EVOs,Toshiba x300 HDDs,Ultra Quad/4 nvme,Thermaltake Chaser MK-1
Back to Top
Ray62 View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie
Avatar

Joined: 01 Jul 2018
Location: Germany, Berlin
Status: Offline
Points: 569
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Ray62 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 10 Jul 2019 at 2:03pm
Try it with default settings and the half amount of RAM, just for test.
>> I have not done a 24hour stress test because i'm afraid of damaging my system.
Even if no overclocking is used i would be more afraid to have an unstable system without a stress test bringing the machine to it's limits.
Asrock Fatal1ty X370 Professional Gaming Offline
Under test:
MSI X570_MEG_ACE | AMD Ryzen 9 3900X | Scythe Mugen5 | 2x16GB F4-3200C14D-32GTZ@3466 | ASUS GeForce GTX 1080 Ti FE
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 11.06
Copyright ©2001-2018 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.063 seconds.