ASRock.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Technical Support > Intel Motherboards
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - Won't PowerUp ??
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Won't PowerUp ??

 Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Message
tcichowicz View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 11 May 2015
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Points: 5
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote tcichowicz Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Won't PowerUp ??
    Posted: 11 May 2015 at 7:23pm
Just purchased a Q1900B-ITX motherboard --

   also the following :

Sabrent AD-LCD12LCD AC adapter ITX 20pin power supply adapter

4Gig Kit (2-2GB DDR3 - 1066 SODIMM MAC) Crucial CT2KG3S1067M  

120GB SSD 2.5 HHD Kingston SSDNOW

   (tried with both RGB & HDMI video   ... same result)

   Plugged everything in, push the power button the blue LED  'blinks' 3 times then stays on blue solid.

  and nothing appears on the screen?   what am I missing?
~TomC.
Back to Top
Xaltar View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 16 May 2015
Status: Offline
Points: 5427
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Xaltar Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 May 2015 at 2:50pm
First up, try hook it up to a proper PSU, using adapters and LCD monitor power supplies is where I would immediately throw my suspicion as to the booting problem. If it boots with a proper PSU you can then try and reconnect your AC adapter and make sure all the connections on it are sound, if it still won't boot then it is most likely that the power adapter does not supply sufficient power for your system. This seems likely to me, after a quick look the AC power adapter you listed does not have a good reputation. It is stated as a 74w unit which should be enough for your system if it operates at its rated output but most cheaper units do not.

Good luck Wink  


Edited by Xaltar - 17 May 2015 at 2:59pm
Back to Top
tcichowicz View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 11 May 2015
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Points: 5
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote tcichowicz Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 18 May 2015 at 6:12pm
Thanks;

    I did try that but no change; I've got another PSu that I've give a shot too;

  however I'm curious about the blinking power LED -- these kind of things usually indicate - problems ie; memory issues, etc ... is there a troublingshooting error code source of info arount for these little guys? 
~TomC.
Back to Top
tcichowicz View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 11 May 2015
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Points: 5
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote tcichowicz Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 18 May 2015 at 9:39pm
Found the problem ..

   it was the "TYPE" of memory I had installed --

      changed them and it booted right up!
~TomC.
Back to Top
Xaltar View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 16 May 2015
Status: Offline
Points: 5427
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Xaltar Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 19 May 2015 at 12:29am
You mean the brand wasn't supported? Either way great to hear Thumbs Up
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 11.06
Copyright ©2001-2018 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.063 seconds.