ASRock.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Technical Support > AMD Motherboards
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - Bricked X470 Taichi?
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Bricked X470 Taichi?

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>
Author
Message
AsRx470Tc View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 09 Jul 2019
Location: Finland
Status: Offline
Points: 31
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote AsRx470Tc Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Bricked X470 Taichi?
    Posted: 09 Jul 2019 at 8:35am
So...

Bought two X470 Taichi boards. Gonna put some 3000 series Ryzen chips in them when ever they arrive.

Paid for a bios update for them in the store cause i don't have any past AMD stuff. But when tey arrived they were only on version 2.00... And i need to be on 3.40 for 3000 series chips.

So i bought an A6-9500 APU for the bios update. Only problem being that all bios versions over 2.00 gave me the "no image file detected" error.. 1.60 and 2.00 showed just fine once i added them.

So, i decided to try backing up to 1.60. Worked fine. Once there, i noticed that all bios versions up to 3.40 showed on the list. BUT, there is a requirement to update to 2.00 first before updating to any 3.XX series bios. So i updated back to 2.00 one more time, just to see that all versions over 2.00 were gone again.

Then i went to 1.60 again and took the risk of trying to update to 3.10.. it didn't complain about it and went through the update. But, when it tried to reboot it got stuck on 00 debug code forever.

So:

1. Did i brick the whole board? :D
2. Was the problem that APU for not being able to go forward from 2.00?
3. If so, what CPU/APU should i use for the other board for the same process?

Other ideas?

Link to bios list https://www.asrock.com/MB/AMD/X470%20Taichi/index.asp#BIOS
Back to Top
RonnieG View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 08 Jul 2019
Location: California
Status: Offline
Points: 6
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote RonnieG Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09 Jul 2019 at 11:20am
Please keep me updated on your progress. I am looking to purchase this board for a 3900x, but your story is very troublesome.
Back to Top
gizmic View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie
Avatar

Joined: 13 Jun 2018
Location: Hong Kong
Status: Offline
Points: 318
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote gizmic Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09 Jul 2019 at 11:29am
you can only update to 3.XX using the bridge bios 2.00
AMD 2700X
8GBX2 Trident Z RGB 4000@3466 CL14
Inno3D 1070Ti X2
X470 Taichi Ult
Custom Water Cooling Kit by Bitspower
Samsung 970 EVO M.2
Samsung 860 EVO 500GB RAID0
WD GOLD 2TB RAID0
Corsair AX860i
Back to Top
AsRx470Tc View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 09 Jul 2019
Location: Finland
Status: Offline
Points: 31
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote AsRx470Tc Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09 Jul 2019 at 7:22pm
Originally posted by RonnieG RonnieG wrote:

Please keep me updated on your progress. I am looking to purchase this board for a 3900x, but your story is very troublesome.


I have a Ryzen 3 1200 CPU on the way now (cheapest ZEN architecture chip there was available asap), will test with that on the 2nd board.
Will post my results here in 1-2 days if there is no delays with the shipment.

For the 1st board... not looking good :D
Back to Top
AsRx470Tc View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 09 Jul 2019
Location: Finland
Status: Offline
Points: 31
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote AsRx470Tc Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09 Jul 2019 at 7:24pm
Originally posted by gizmic gizmic wrote:

you can only update to 3.XX using the bridge bios 2.00


Yeah, that was already known. There were "slight" problems doing so, as stated in the op.
Back to Top
gizmic View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie
Avatar

Joined: 13 Jun 2018
Location: Hong Kong
Status: Offline
Points: 318
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote gizmic Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09 Jul 2019 at 9:09pm
make sure its a .bin file
AMD 2700X
8GBX2 Trident Z RGB 4000@3466 CL14
Inno3D 1070Ti X2
X470 Taichi Ult
Custom Water Cooling Kit by Bitspower
Samsung 970 EVO M.2
Samsung 860 EVO 500GB RAID0
WD GOLD 2TB RAID0
Corsair AX860i
Back to Top
kschendel View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 21 Aug 2018
Status: Offline
Points: 65
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote kschendel Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 10 Jul 2019 at 1:16am
I think pre-Ryzen support had to be dropped to fit the 3000 series support in, which might be why you aren't getting anywhere with post-2.0 BIOS. With any sort of luck, the 1200 will do the trick.
Back to Top
AsRx470Tc View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 09 Jul 2019
Location: Finland
Status: Offline
Points: 31
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote AsRx470Tc Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 10 Jul 2019 at 1:24am
Originally posted by kschendel kschendel wrote:

I think pre-Ryzen support had to be dropped to fit the 3000 series support in, which might be why you aren't getting anywhere with post-2.0 BIOS. With any sort of luck, the 1200 will do the trick.


Yeah, there are propably some limitations on that. Memory space on a tiny bios chip is quite limited.

Thankfully the store accepted the first board for an RMA, told them the same story as i told here. Just dropped it off in the post office.

Now just waiting for that Ryzen 3. It has been shipped out from the other place today.
Back to Top
AsRx470Tc View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 09 Jul 2019
Location: Finland
Status: Offline
Points: 31
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote AsRx470Tc Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11 Jul 2019 at 11:57pm
Finally that R3-1200 arrived, and so did my first 3000 series chip, an R5-3600X.
Still waiting for a R7-3800X.

Bios updated without a problem with that R3-1200. Now running that R5-3600X without problems (about 15mins so far). My 16GB(2x8GB) 3200MHz kit of HyperX Predators running at max XMP no problem. Still have a 32GB(2x16GB) kit of the same memory, not tested it yet.
Back to Top
AsRx470Tc View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 09 Jul 2019
Location: Finland
Status: Offline
Points: 31
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote AsRx470Tc Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 12 Jul 2019 at 3:06am
32GB memory kit XMP also OK. All four dimms (48GB) at 3200MHz XMP also OK.

Funny enough, when i was updating my bios with that Ryzen3, all bios versions up to the re-released 3.43 version showed up. I went with 3.40. But now with my 3600X version 3.43 doesn't show up, only up to 3.40.

Thankfully i didn't go straight to that version, might have another 00 debug code issue on my hands now...
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 11.06
Copyright ©2001-2018 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.031 seconds.