ASRock.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Technical Support > AMD Motherboards
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - Upgrade to Ryzen 3600 on Fatal1ty AB350 gone wrong
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Upgrade to Ryzen 3600 on Fatal1ty AB350 gone wrong

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <1 23456 8>
Author
Message
Eugeny44 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 14 Jul 2019
Location: NZ
Status: Offline
Points: 12
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Eugeny44 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 Jul 2019 at 8:33pm
Upgrade from 2700 to 3600x
X470 fata1ty itx AC
Boot cycle the time. manage to get to bios one time put correct settings for ram and never able to see system started again. Tried clear cmos no luck
Back to Top
cerror View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 13 Jul 2019
Status: Offline
Points: 42
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote cerror Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 Jul 2019 at 8:55pm
Exact same problem as me.
Kinda nice to hear it's not my fault or anything.
Back to Top
edlebert View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 10 Jul 2019
Status: Offline
Points: 41
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote edlebert Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 15 Jul 2019 at 5:46am
For those who can? POST, definitely go back to your old CPU and wait for a new BIOS. Make sure to clear CMOS before you do, otherwise even your old CPU won? post.

For me, I was able to obtain stability by dropping my 3200 RAM to 3000. Even the strange default of 2133 was unstable on account of the reduced voltage at that speed.
Back to Top
PeterCxy View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 13 Jul 2019
Status: Offline
Points: 21
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote PeterCxy Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 15 Jul 2019 at 7:10am
Originally posted by edlebert edlebert wrote:

For those who can?嚙緣 POST, definitely go back to your old CPU and wait for a new BIOS. Make sure to clear CMOS before you do, otherwise even your old CPU won?嚙緣 post.

For me, I was able to obtain stability by dropping my 3200 RAM to 3000. Even the strange default of 2133 was unstable on account of the reduced voltage at that speed.


In my case anything beyond 2133MHz causes instability. My memory runs at 2400MHz out-of-box without XMP and it causes a whole bunch of POST failures. Dropping it down to 2133MHz at least made it POST consistently. Maybe everyone that has POST issues should try dropping their DRAM frequency down to 2133 first.
Back to Top
edlebert View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 10 Jul 2019
Status: Offline
Points: 41
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote edlebert Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 15 Jul 2019 at 7:50am
Okay, but make sure you have proper voltage. Sometimes dropping the frequency also drops the voltage. I was unstable at 2133 because voltage was 1.2
Back to Top
najip View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 16 Jul 2019
Location: West Java
Status: Offline
Points: 1
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote najip Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 16 Jul 2019 at 5:45pm
Originally posted by dillon dillon wrote:

I decided to post here just to give ASRock some feedback. I've been working up a number of systems with the 3600X and I have several B350 Gaming-itx/ac mobos. I am having serious trouble just getting the BIOS to post with the 3600X.

I upgraded one to BIOS 5.70 and it booted fine with the 2400G that was in there before. However, when I plugged in the 3600X the system got really unhappy.

* It takes around 15-20 tries before the BIOS will POST, often requiring a hard power cycle with the power switch on the PSU. I will describe the difficulty down below.

* I have an old Radeon 6450 GPU plugged in (to get a display). I also tried plugging in a far more modern RX580, but the behavior is similar (it might successfully post a little more often, but it still fails most of the time).

* When the BIOS does post, however, the system appears to come up fine.

* I tried many configurations. I tried the stock configuration, I tried undervolting, I tried turning on overclocking but setting the frequency low (3.8 GHz). I tried running the memory at various speeds including 2133. I tried changing the memory out. I tried a different PSU. I tried a more modern GPU (an RX580)... none of this messing around changes the POST behavior by much. Possibly changing out the GPU helps it post a little more often but the behavior is basically the same.

The BIOS post behavior is as follows:

* Power button. System powers on, CPU fan starts at low speed, system fan does not. GPU fan does not. No display (obviously). System is burning around 35W. The system always starts this way and will then proceed to behave in three different ways:

(1) The BIOS will power cycle the machine itself every 10-15 seconds or so. I observe the CPU fan turning off, then on again. The watt meter shows that the system power cycled itself. This will repeat many times (several minutes sometimes) until either the system posts or the system locks up.

(2) When the system posts, the CPU fan will cycle to full power and the case and GPU fans will also turn on. The system posts a few seconds later and works normally.

(3) Sometimes the CPU fan will cycle to full power and the case and GPU fans will turn on, but the system will fail to post (no display, no beep codes, nothing).   In this situation the power button no longer works... neither hitting the power button OR holding it down will power the machine down. I wind up having to switch the PSU off, wait a few seconds, then switch it on again.

(4) Sometimes the CPU fan remains at low speed and stops power cycling. Again the system has locked up. The power button does not work either momentary or held-down, requiring the PSU to be switched off and then on again.

Note that when the system does post, it seems to operate perfectly.

Note that this behavior is definitely BIOS / POST related. It occurs whether I have any storage connected up or not. That is, it has nothing to do with the operating system.

Note also that when this BIOS does post, it doesn't seem to recognize its own ethernet adapter so I can't (for example) pxeboot the box. USB recognition seems to be spotty too. SATA recognition appears to be reliable.

Finally, note that similar configurations on the B450 mobo with the latest BIOS for that mobo work perfectly. Its the B350 mobo that is having all the issues.

Hopefully this helps!

-Matt


I facing all of these problems as well. My mobo is B450 Fatal1ty Gaming ITX/ac with Ryzen 5 3600X I just bought today.

My M2 SSD aren't detected as well.
Back to Top
Wick0 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 18 Jul 2019
Location: slovakia
Status: Offline
Points: 4
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Wick0 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 18 Jul 2019 at 3:36am
I have the same problem with AB350 ITX Fatality AC and 3600x, but i was sold today my 2600. Please asrock fix this problem.
Back to Top
Wick0 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 18 Jul 2019
Location: slovakia
Status: Offline
Points: 4
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Wick0 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 18 Jul 2019 at 5:19am
i Have tihis ram HyperX 16 GB KIT DDR4 2933 MHz CL17 Fury Black Series AMD Optimized they run default at 1,2V 2933 Mhz

- when the pc post and boot works well, but ryzen master not work, cpu is unsupported, then I give the system restart and go black screeen. Than the procedure power on power off, PSU OFF and tadaa it works. When shut down the pc , and turn it ON will not post.

My VGA is GTX1070Ti EVGA FTW2 and my disks 2,5 SATA Crucial MX500 500GB and MX300 1050GB and Corsair H60 2018 hydro cooling,

I thnik to sold AB350 itx ac for 80 euro and go to buy a ASUS ROG STRIX X470-I GAMING for 200 euro.

it was never problem with asrock when using intel CPU, my first AB350 itx AC Fatality has one faulty RAM slot. RMA after 30day they got my new mobo and I wass happy. But now im really unhappy and angry

Back to Top
Diizzel View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 18 Jul 2019
Status: Offline
Points: 2
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Diizzel Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 18 Jul 2019 at 5:26am
I also have this exact problem! Most of the time pc just won? post at all but when it does it takes something like 5-10 power cycles and when it gets to windows it works flawlessly although memory has to be only 2933 instead of its rated 3200.

I even tried different memory settings to fix posting problem but nothing helped. Now I don? know what to do anymore. Should I return the processor and keep using 1600 or could I wait when I don? even know if there are going to be any fix? This really sucks and it? just amazing how ASRock can just release something like this for consumer markets.
Back to Top
P-Nut View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 21 Jul 2019
Location: Netherlands
Status: Offline
Points: 3
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote P-Nut Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 21 Jul 2019 at 7:25am
Originally posted by edlebert edlebert wrote:

I was finally able to boot the old 2200G by clearing the CMOS before boot. Thanks! Also, my NVMe SSD was also visible again with the old CPU. So then I tried again with the new 3600, clearing the CMOS again, and it's still not visible. I physically inspected the CPU pins again and they're all present and straight.

So, ultimately, my ASRock B350 motherboard with a Ryzen 3600 is not able to see/use my NVMe SSD. My guess is that this is firmware related, and possibly related to the new PCIe 4.0 on the new CPUs. I should probably return the CPU and hope that ASRock releases a new bios, but I'm not too hopeful.


Het dude, thanks for all the work you've put in so far, I just went through the same hell.. asrock b350 upgraded from 1600 to 3600.

Now I'm stuck in a bios' 'loop' as my motherboard doesn't recognise the m.2 drive. thinking I broke it .

Just made an account to let you aren't the only one. I'm so pissed and annoyed. I wonder if the beta drivers 4.51D run new gen ryzens and also recognise the m.2 drive.
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <1 23456 8>
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 11.06
Copyright ©2001-2018 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.031 seconds.