ASRock.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Technical Support > AMD Motherboards
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - No Bios on First Boot
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

No Bios on First Boot

 Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Message
brentbenedict View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 13 Jul 2019
Location: Athens, GA
Status: Offline
Points: 3
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote brentbenedict Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: No Bios on First Boot
    Posted: 13 Jul 2019 at 11:08am
Hello,
Longtime Mac user here, building my first gaming PC. This is my first build in 15+ years, so I decided to get some of the newly released components this week. I went with a ASRock X570 Steel Legend Mother Board, AMD Ryzen 5 3600X, Sapphire Radeon RX 5700, 16 GB Corsair Vengeance DDR4-3600


My full component list is here: https://pcpartpicker.com/list/rNj36s


Everything arrived today, and I very excitedly put it all together in the case. I plug it into my monitor and it won't show BIOS when I boot up the computer. I've tried a few different monitors and TVs with different HDMI cables that work on other devices. I have also tried removing the RX 5700 and plugging HDMI direct into the onboard video output. That also did not work. I have tried the CPU cables (4+4) plugged into the 8pin slot, but there is another open 4 pin slot next to it. My understanding is that extra 4pin connector is not necessary to boot. All of the monitors in my house right now are technically TVs, would that effect it?



The lights on the motherboard start flashing as soon as the power supply is turned on, and all the fans turn on when I press the power button. There is a LED indicator that flashes when I press keys on the keyboard, but no video output.



Any suggestions?
Back to Top
OhhhSimba View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 13 Jul 2019
Location: Australia
Status: Offline
Points: 1
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote OhhhSimba Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 13 Jul 2019 at 3:32pm
I'm having the exact same issue only with the 3700x and the x570 asrock phantom 4, Ive tried everything and the problem is surely the motherboard, ive heard of people using an old processer to boot it but i dont have any lying around
Back to Top
JBG84 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 04 Jul 2018
Status: Offline
Points: 30
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote JBG84 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 Jul 2019 at 7:22am
Brent, you new rig sounds awesome! Great to see you going all out with Team Red too

Unfortunately cannot provide an answer to fix your problem. My money is it's a memory issue. Sadly the ASRock AM4 platform is still plagued by this. Am an X370 owner usnig a R5 3600 and can only boot at 2400MHz and I feel fortunate to be able to do that, quite a few people having boot problems - my money is on memory support (but I could be wrong for your case).

Worth trying some different memory, get something real cheap even a single stick DDR4. Just for troubleshooting purposes.
Back to Top
Sandymangina81 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 05 Aug 2019
Location: Virginia
Status: Offline
Points: 1
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Sandymangina81 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 05 Aug 2019 at 4:30am
I?e got a very similar setup with parts .. and have experienced this issue it is intact a memory problem . Which slots are you poppin those bad boys into make sure it? a2/b2
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 11.06
Copyright ©2001-2018 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.063 seconds.