ASRock.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Technical Support > AMD Motherboards
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - RAM clocks and voltages with B450M Pro4
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

RAM clocks and voltages with B450M Pro4

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>
Author
Message
8EN317 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 21 Apr 2019
Status: Offline
Points: 13
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote 8EN317 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: RAM clocks and voltages with B450M Pro4
    Posted: 17 Jul 2019 at 6:48pm
Hello Everyone.

I'm having issues with my RAM speeds&timings&voltages on my B450M Pro4 motherboard. The RAMs are 3400Mhz 2x8GB Patriot Viper4 dual channel kit (PV416G340C6K), the CPU is 2200G Ryzen3 and the board is the B450M Pro4.

I cannot get it boot on stock XMP profile, which is set to 3400Mhz. I had to step down to 3200Mhz, and even fine-tuned the timings according to Ryzen Calculator suggestions. It gained some performance over stock xmp timings with 3200mhz. This clock speed is stable at 1.29V.

Yet, whenever I try to boot on 3400Mhz, even with relaxed timings, the PC just refuses to boot. It goes through a few "fail" cycles, restarts itself, then, stock bios settings are restored.

What would be the best way to make this work? New Asrock B450M Pro4 BIOS limits RAM voltages to 1.4Volts. Also, CPU SOC voltage is 1.1V at maximum, though I'd rather set 1.07 or some such.

Even with relaxed timings, it refuses to work. Or, is it the limitation of my 2200G cpu? As I know, this unit still uses regular Zen-1st gen architecture and not very famous for the internal memory controller.

Do I assume correctly, that probably with a better CPU, those RAMS should work? I tried them with 3000Mhz CL14.. and 2666Mhz CL12... timings, those went great. But I'd rather much run them at their advertised speed..

Any hints-advice or something? I appreciate any assistance. Thank you for reading through.

Regards
Back to Top
kschendel View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 21 Aug 2018
Status: Offline
Points: 82
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (1) Thanks(1)   Quote kschendel Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 Jul 2019 at 11:36pm
You are almost certainly running into a limitation from the CPU. I think you are doing very well to get good results at 3200 MT/s. The 2200G (and 2400G) are fundamentally Ryzen 1 parts, although I don't know what tweaks might have been borrowed from Zen+. The 3200G and 3400G are Ryzen 2 parts so they might be slightly better at higher memory speeds - not going to match the true Zen 2 units though.

Back to Top
8EN317 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 21 Apr 2019
Status: Offline
Points: 13
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote 8EN317 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 18 Jul 2019 at 1:59pm
Thanks. Those were my suspicions. But I don't mind now, I'll probably upgrade my whole rig @end of this summer, and will pick another mobo as well (steel legend b450 would be nice)
Back to Top
Vulpie05 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 26 Dec 2018
Status: Offline
Points: 40
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Vulpie05 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 24 Jul 2019 at 2:46am
Before you give up on this, what is your procedure for increasing the speed to 3400? You should be able to just go into Bios, change load XMP setting to "XMP 2.0 Profile" (default is auto), and then select DDR4-3400. I have a similar setup (B450 Pro 4, Ryzen 2200G, G. Skill Flare X 3200). You should not have to adjust any timings with the calculator.

However, there are two things that stick out that you may have to check. First, the B450M board says it supports 3200+ RAM. Forgive my ignorance, but you may only be able to get up to 3200 with this memory. Secondly, this ram is not on the QVL list, but that doesn't always mean the RAM is NOT compatible.

If you are just trying to overclock your ram, good luck, I have started to dive into this and it isn't easy.
Back to Top
8EN317 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 21 Apr 2019
Status: Offline
Points: 13
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote 8EN317 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 24 Jul 2019 at 4:54am
hello.
I've tried it with XMP settings, and it did not boot. Nor when I tried to tweak the settings a little with raising timings. Anything above 3200Mhz is impossible so far.

3200 works, and I use it right now. But no matter how I try, I cannot get them work at their factory 3400Mhz.

QVL as far as I know, is just a very brief list of those kits, the MoBo-s manufacturer tested the board. So 99.9999% of the time, completely irrelevant.
Back to Top
Vulpie05 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 26 Dec 2018
Status: Offline
Points: 40
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Vulpie05 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25 Jul 2019 at 1:37am
I am by no means an expert, but I suspect that if the mobo is rated for 3200 memory speed, you can't run anything faster with a "stock" XMP profile. Perhaps someone with more experience can comment on this.

Now, my mobo is different (ATX instead of your mATX), and my memory is different, but I have been able to boot into Windows with overclocked memory. I've tried it at 3266 and 3333 MHz. Now, I haven't been able to get the timing and settings right to prevent any memory errors, but that is a topic for a different place. The point is, I would think you should be able to at least post with faster memory speeds.

Have you used 1usmus' overclocking guide? He's the one who developed the calculator.

https://www.techpowerup.com/review/amd-ryzen-memory-tweaking-overclocking-guide/

In case you aren't aware, there are things to tweak besides just the timings. Additionally, there is a "V2" profile in case your memory isn't the best (I'm not sure if yours is or not).

Beyond that, I'm not sure I can be of any additional help. Good luck!
Back to Top
8EN317 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 21 Apr 2019
Status: Offline
Points: 13
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote 8EN317 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25 Jul 2019 at 3:19am
thanks. I've read that through before. I'm very certain, that my 2200G is the limiting factor. It's just don't have memory controller capable of OC-ing rams.

The kit should be decent enough. Patriot Viper4 PV416G340C6K
Back to Top
Vulpie05 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 26 Dec 2018
Status: Offline
Points: 40
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Vulpie05 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 27 Jul 2019 at 2:05am
Do you have somewhere to reference that the memory controller can't handle the faster ram? I've been able to successfully OC my ram to 3266, but I'm having trouble with 3333.
Back to Top
SKYPREDA7OR View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 09 Apr 2019
Status: Offline
Points: 11
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (1) Thanks(1)   Quote SKYPREDA7OR Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 29 Jul 2019 at 9:09am
Well on same MB ASRock B450m Pro 4 but with Ryzen 5 1600x and with memory 2x 8GB
HyperX Predator XMP 3000 MHz CL 15-15-15-36 1.35, I could OC my memory to 3600MHz
with 1.4v SOC to 1.2v if you wish to know SOC can go to 1.5500v but that's another story this was on Bios 2.00 but with XMP enabled and overclocked max I can go was 3300MHz but disabling XMP and adding it manually the timing and the speed and voltage it worked with 3600MHz. But I turn it down to 3200MHz
with 16-17-17-17-36 - 1.35v and 1.15 SOC but on 3600MHz I went with 18-20-20-20-41 - 1.4v and 1.2v SOC. So on first get Ryzen it went above 3200MHz although the ram sticks were not with XMP out of the box on 3400MHz speed they were as I said 3000MHz. My point is that you can add higher frequency memory on B450M-Pro4 Mobo.
But I presume CPUs have their limitations.
Back to Top
gizmic View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie
Avatar

Joined: 13 Jun 2018
Location: Hong Kong
Status: Offline
Points: 615
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (1) Thanks(1)   Quote gizmic Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 29 Jul 2019 at 11:09pm
amd is all about manual tweaks always have been
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 11.06
Copyright ©2001-2018 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.047 seconds.