ASRock.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Technical Support > AMD Motherboards
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - Ryzen 3000 series support
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Ryzen 3000 series support

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  123 99>
Author
Message Reverse Sort Order
ShampooCA View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 13 Jun 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 70
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote ShampooCA Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Ryzen 3000 series support
    Posted: 10 Mar 2020 at 9:10pm
And that was at CL16 LOL
Back to Top
ShampooCA View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 13 Jun 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 70
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote ShampooCA Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 10 Mar 2020 at 9:09pm
I wasn't completely stable it seems after the drama calculator settings, BUT it was a starting point.
I raised the voltage on the RAM to 1.38. will monitor.
Did the same for my other HTPC with even sh*ttier RAM, Hynix M, on my Asrock x370 Killer SLI board running 5.8 @2800MHz CL14 1T, which is amazing anyways. Couldn't get it stable on this board at stock auto settings @2666MHz before. ??
Back to Top
gizmic View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie
Avatar

Joined: 13 Jun 2018
Location: Hong Kong
Status: Offline
Points: 640
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote gizmic Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 10 Mar 2020 at 6:18pm
on Jz's

09.03.20
X570M Pro4 - BIOS P2.50
1. Improve memory compatibility
Back to Top
ShampooCA View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 13 Jun 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 70
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote ShampooCA Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 06 Mar 2020 at 11:29pm
Originally posted by ShampooCA ShampooCA wrote:

They're crap Micron B according to Typhoon.
Some random crucial ballistix that were on sale like 2 years ago or is it 3 now? ?嚙踝蕭?嚙踝蕭?嚙踝蕭?嚙?
It almost seems like this platform isn't very newbie friendly, but it's still fun to tinker with like the old days.
Even if a system runs without entering manual settings I think everyone should to optimize what they have. Like seriously how is my ram running on CL 16 settings with a command rate of 1T???
Nerding out here. So cool ??


Supposed to say ...how is my ram running on CL14 1T settings.
Late night
Back to Top
Xaltar View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 16 May 2015
Status: Offline
Points: 5565
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Xaltar Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 06 Mar 2020 at 3:10pm
For those of us who tinkered with jumper settings, added cache to the motherboard
and other "old school" setup tweaks/tricks the Ryzen platform is a lot of fun.
My greatest annoyance with the platform with regards to causing confusion and frustration
for new/inexperienced builders is also one of the most fun aspects, there are so
many settings exposed in the UEFI. In fact, even for experienced builders/tinkerers
it can be a bit overwhelming. Manually tuning the RAM however is practically
essential to get the best out of an AM4 system, especially if you are a tinkerer.

Typically, we have 3 types of people on the forums:
1. The plug and play group that just want things to work as soon as it's assembled.
2. The auto config group that think XMP (etc) should just work regardless of compatibility.
3. Tinkerers that mess with everything and hunt down every bug, quirk and tweak.

All tech lovers just with different priorities
Back to Top
ShampooCA View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 13 Jun 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 70
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote ShampooCA Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 06 Mar 2020 at 2:11pm
Cool, I'll try that out another night, bed time.
Just glad to have my rig working again and in much better condition.
Back to Top
gizmic View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie
Avatar

Joined: 13 Jun 2018
Location: Hong Kong
Status: Offline
Points: 640
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote gizmic Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 06 Mar 2020 at 2:00pm
i've always optimize my stuff been this way for 25 years

5mhz below bsod at a voltage i'm comfortable with

i believe Micron B can do 3200@15/16 but no much fun on Micron B since they dont like voltages.
Back to Top
ShampooCA View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 13 Jun 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 70
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote ShampooCA Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 06 Mar 2020 at 1:42pm
They're crap Micron B according to Typhoon.
Some random crucial ballistix that were on sale like 2 years ago or is it 3 now? ?仄???儭?
It almost seems like this platform isn't very newbie friendly, but it's still fun to tinker with like the old days.
Even if a system runs without entering manual settings I think everyone should to optimize what they have. Like seriously how is my ram running on CL 16 settings with a command rate of 1T???
Nerding out here. So cool ??
Back to Top
gizmic View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie
Avatar

Joined: 13 Jun 2018
Location: Hong Kong
Status: Offline
Points: 640
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote gizmic Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 06 Mar 2020 at 1:37pm
amen finally someone willing to manually set ram timings good for you :D

what ICs are they? you should be able to go alot higher
Back to Top
ShampooCA View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 13 Jun 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 70
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote ShampooCA Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 06 Mar 2020 at 1:28pm
WOW just as I wrote the previous post I made a hail mary effort, and tried the latest Ryzen DRAM calculator by 1usmus download over at techpowerup, and holy smokes I guess for some platform and RAM combos it freaking works!
I guess it is all a matter of compatibility and proper settings.
I popped in my RAM type etc., hit the XMP R button to populate what's required then hit calculate safe and really REALLY questioned what I was seeing for the CAS TCL setting of 14 @3000MHz which is what I was aiming for. Previously 3000MHz was my absolute top setting which wasn't completely stable with a CAS of 16, RAM is rated for 16 @2666MHz (Crucial ballistix).
I set everything for sh*ts as giggles and omg, it's working it booted, no cold boot issue, and I'm able to save and get out of the BIOS!!!!
Previously I couldn't even leave it on defaults/auto for everything and boot.
1usmus whoever you are, you're a doll!
I did NOT set the XMP settings, I left that on auto, and then manually set all the timings for RAM.
Give yourself a minute to go lookup this tool, watch a video on how to use it, get the proper info on your ram, I used "Thaiphoon" to get that info, and voila, holy I'm shocked my RAM is working with 1T timings @14CAS.
This isn't expensive RAM, but it was expensive at the time before RAM prices dropped.
Anyways I'll shut up now.
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  123 99>
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 11.06
Copyright ©2001-2018 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.063 seconds.