ASRock.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Technical Support > AMD Motherboards
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - Ryzen 3000 series support
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Ryzen 3000 series support

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <1 9394959697 104>
Author
Message
Xaltar View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 16 May 2015
Status: Online
Points: 5735
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Xaltar Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 15 Feb 2020 at 4:19pm
If a system is loading and functioning with XMP settings loaded then the board is
working as intended. It isn't a problem with the BIOS unless it won't do something
it is advertised to do. Technically speaking, even XMP is an overclock from the platform's
default RAM frequency and motherboard manufacturers are not actually required to
support XMP, they do this in order to compete with each other and offer value to the
end user. XMP support is advertised on most if not all boards today (especially AM4)
however so at the very least one would expect the board to handle the XMP profile
of any RAM kit/module listed on the board's QVL. If the board is doing that then
the manufacturer has done it's job.

As enthusiasts it's up to us to try different BIOS versions and determine which
BIOS version yields the best possible performance with out particular hardware
configuration. So while ViCe may have weaker RAM overclocking on the latest BIOS
with his particular RAM and board, someone else with a different RAM kit may
have better overclocking with it. RAM is a pain in the rear on all platforms anyway
particularly DDR4 given how many new architectures have been launched in it's life span.

Also don't forget, a motherboard manufacturer isn't responsible for RAM compatibility
That is inherited from a combination of the AGESA (AM4/Zen) and specs from RAM
manufacturers. Most board manufacturers will "improve" support by adding workarounds
and fixes to new BIOS releases like slightly higher voltages when XMP is loaded
on a particular RAM model, in essence doing what the end user could do themselves
with custom timings and voltages. That is all they can really do however.

Edited by Xaltar - 15 Feb 2020 at 4:20pm
Back to Top
ViCe View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 08 Oct 2019
Location: Russia
Status: Offline
Points: 34
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote ViCe Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 15 Feb 2020 at 7:28pm
Originally posted by Xaltar Xaltar wrote:

If a system is loading and functioning with XMP settings loaded then the board is
working as intended. It isn't a problem with the BIOS unless it won't do something
it is advertised to do. Technically speaking, even XMP is an overclock from the platform's
default RAM frequency and motherboard manufacturers are not actually required to
support XMP, they do this in order to compete with each other and offer value to the
end user. XMP support is advertised on most if not all boards today (especially AM4)
however so at the very least one would expect the board to handle the XMP profile
of any RAM kit/module listed on the board's QVL. If the board is doing that then
the manufacturer has done it's job.

As enthusiasts it's up to us to try different BIOS versions and determine which
BIOS version yields the best possible performance with out particular hardware
configuration. So while ViCe may have weaker RAM overclocking on the latest BIOS
with his particular RAM and board, someone else with a different RAM kit may
have better overclocking with it. RAM is a pain in the rear on all platforms anyway
particularly DDR4 given how many new architectures have been launched in it's life span.

Also don't forget, a motherboard manufacturer isn't responsible for RAM compatibility
That is inherited from a combination of the AGESA (AM4/Zen) and specs from RAM
manufacturers. Most board manufacturers will "improve" support by adding workarounds
and fixes to new BIOS releases like slightly higher voltages when XMP is loaded
on a particular RAM model, in essence doing what the end user could do themselves
with custom timings and voltages. That is all they can really do however.

i agree with some of your thuoghts, but:
1) asrock says that x470 taichi can support ram overclocking (xmp) - https://www.asrock.com/MB/AMD/X470%20Taichi/index.ru.asp#Specification
2) my ram have QVL - https://www.gskill.com/qvl/165/167/1536718509/F4-3200C16D-16GTZRX-Qvl
3) 3.60 bios can work with 3733 ram overclock with custom timings (but it's not so stable)
and in the end of this list we have one more trouble - technical support does't reply at all. it's look like they don't give a about customer problems, you bought our prodoct, we really needed it to sell, but after, you on your own, it's not our problem, some issue which can have while using our product is only your problem
Back to Top
gizmic View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie
Avatar

Joined: 13 Jun 2018
Location: Hong Kong
Status: Offline
Points: 656
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote gizmic Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 15 Feb 2020 at 7:39pm
your arguement is invalid

you'll not find the word XMP in a product page
and success on overclocks is a risk and asrock is in no position to tell you if it works

and even at that im using a x470 taichi ultimate gskill 8X2 and a ryzen 3000 and doing 3733 cl 16 so whatever reason you cant do those speeds are your ability to overclock
Back to Top
ViCe View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 08 Oct 2019
Location: Russia
Status: Offline
Points: 34
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote ViCe Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 15 Feb 2020 at 7:53pm
Originally posted by gizmic gizmic wrote:

your arguement is invalid

you'll not find the word XMP in a product page
and success on overclocks is a risk and asrock is in no position to tell you if it works

and even at that im using a x470 taichi ultimate gskill 8X2 and a ryzen 3000 and doing 3733 cl 16 so whatever reason you cant do those speeds are your ability to overclock

AMD Ryzen series CPUs (Matisse) support DDR4 3200/2933/2667/2400/2133 ECC & non-ECC, un-buffered memory - https://www.asrock.com/mb/AMD/X470%20Taichi/index.asp#Specification
3200 is not xmp? jedec is 2133
Back to Top
gizmic View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie
Avatar

Joined: 13 Jun 2018
Location: Hong Kong
Status: Offline
Points: 656
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote gizmic Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 15 Feb 2020 at 11:09pm
xmp belongs to the ram it got nothing to do with the board. like my ram xmp is 4000 and it surely doesn't work
Back to Top
nebidaan View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 07 Feb 2020
Location: Hungary
Status: Offline
Points: 5
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote nebidaan Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 15 Feb 2020 at 11:16pm
Based on your reply, I tend to suspect that the cold boot issue with 3.90 and all the other weird anomalies you described are related to the fact that you OC your ram by turning XMP profile on and start wiggling with timings, frequency, etc. I myself never bothered with this, never even touched the XMP settings in the bios - my ram has always been running at stock (2133). The only thing I did (currently running 3.60 on my non-ultimate Taichi x470) is to disable PBO for my Ryzen 5 3600, but that's all.

Based on these, would you recommend updating to 3.90?
Can anyone confirm here that using stock ram settings without XMP would eliminate the mentioned issues with the new bios?
Back to Top
gizmic View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie
Avatar

Joined: 13 Jun 2018
Location: Hong Kong
Status: Offline
Points: 656
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote gizmic Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 15 Feb 2020 at 11:20pm
@nebidaan you could always roll back to 3.60 if you find 1004B not good for you
Back to Top
ViCe View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 08 Oct 2019
Location: Russia
Status: Offline
Points: 34
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote ViCe Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 15 Feb 2020 at 11:29pm
Originally posted by gizmic gizmic wrote:

xmp belongs to the ram it got nothing to do with the board. like my ram xmp is 4000 and it surely doesn't work

can you sent me a screenshot with your mobo bios version and timings to compare what i have with?
Back to Top
nebidaan View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 07 Feb 2020
Location: Hungary
Status: Offline
Points: 5
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote nebidaan Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 15 Feb 2020 at 11:46pm
You've got a point there, I might give it a try later on. For now, nut sure what I could gain by updating, but the fact that several things have been fine-tuned under the hood is kind of temptating, even if I don't really care about memory overcolcking.
Back to Top
gizmic View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie
Avatar

Joined: 13 Jun 2018
Location: Hong Kong
Status: Offline
Points: 656
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote gizmic Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 16 Feb 2020 at 12:02am
well 1004b promises 100 fixes and faster booting times :)
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <1 9394959697 104>
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 11.06
Copyright ©2001-2018 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 13.105 seconds.