ASRock.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Technical Support > AMD Motherboards
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - Ryzen 3000 series support
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Ryzen 3000 series support

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <1 105106107
Author
Message
johan View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 23 Oct 2020
Status: Offline
Points: 3
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote johan Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 23 Oct 2020 at 2:30pm
Originally posted by A Computer Guy A Computer Guy wrote:

I'm using it on the x470 Master SLI/ac (that's nearly identical) with 3950x and it seems fine but some memory options are missing so if you tweak your RAM some options might not be available. I'd stick to P3.70 with "Update AMD AGESA Combo-AM4 1.0.0.4 Patch B" if you need those memory OC options with the Zen2 CPU. With P4.20 you can flashback to P3.70 if needed. The UEFI/BIOS is much better in P3.70. If you do up your BIOS version install the updated chipset drivers from AMD first before you flash and make sure your running at least Windows 10 ver1909.

I had a lengthy newegg review with instructions how I updated hassle free but it is not listed anymore. I copied my instructions below and updated them from when I was running a 3800x. The 3800x did just fine with air cooling so 3700x should be no problem but for 3950x you really should get the EK monoblock or heat can be a problem with the VRM's.

Upgrading to AMD Ryzen 7 3800X 8-Core (16 thread) 3.9 GHz (4.5 GHz Max Boost)
- Before swapping CPU:
- Reset to BIOS defaults, save, reboot
- If you have a BIOS/UEFI older than P1.90 update to P1.90 first!
- Be sure to update to BIOS/UEFI version P3.70 (minimum).
- Install new AMD chipset drivers and update Ryzen Master
- Swap CPU
- After swapping CPU:
- It is normal to have to wait some time for the motherboard to detect the new processor and readjust before posting. (potentially multiple reboots)
- Reset to BIOS to defaults again, save, reboot
- Do not use any pre-saved BIOS/UEFI profiles with your older processor. Save over top any existing profiles you had to avoid loading any incompatible settings you had with your prior processor.
- Do not panic when you see the voltages after your new 3000 series CPU is installed. Google "the_final_word_on_idle_voltages_for_3rd_gen_ryzen" and read the article there to understand what is happening. It is normal and related to core boosting behavior.

Hope this helps. I think the master is EOL now, I'd start grabbing a copy of the BIOS from the site in case the page is taken down. The Master SLI/ac page is no longer available.


Thanks bro
Back to Top
DeeDeeRanged View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 27 Oct 2020
Location: NL
Status: Offline
Points: 1
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote DeeDeeRanged Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 27 Oct 2020 at 1:39am
Originally posted by A Computer Guy A Computer Guy wrote:

Looking for X470 Master SLI/ac BIOS updates and noticed the page is removed. Is this board not supported anymore?


Found it here https://asrock.com/MB/AMD/X470%20Master%20SLIac/index.asp#BIOS and it looks like the BIOS is the same as the x470 Master SLI.

Cheers
Retired IT Specialist
Back to Top
BrettC View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 22 Nov 2020
Status: Offline
Points: 1
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote BrettC Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 22 Nov 2020 at 7:10am
I bought a 3800x today and I get boot looping and no activity on my monitors.
any help would be awesome.

CPU: Ryzen 3800X
MB: ASrock AB350 PRO 4
MEM: Corsair Vengeance PRO. The New memory Will run with my old CPU (1600X)
GPU: Gtx 1070ti SC
PS: evga 650 watt gold + Power supply
Back to Top
Dizo View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 28 Dec 2020
Status: Offline
Points: 2
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Dizo Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 28 Dec 2020 at 10:31pm
Board model: X570 Extreme 4
BIOS version: 3.50 (Combo-AM4 V2 1.1.0.0 patch D.) & 3.31 (ComboAM4v2 1.1.0.0 Patch C)
CPU: Ryzen 5 3600
RAM: 2x16GB (BLS16G4D32AESB.M16FE)

UEFI update from 2.80 to 3.50 resulted in system continual random power downs within minutes of each other. Troubleshooting: I cut power to the mainboard and placed a jumper on the clear cmos jumper then loaded bios defaults. Set my XMP profile to what it was on 2.80 (which ran fine for many months without issue) however system continued to randomly power off / restart. Next, I downgraded to 3.31, performed all the same steps, however system was still not stable and same results. I reverted back to 2.80, set all settings consistent with 3.50 and 3.31 and no longer experience issues with random power downs and reboots. I would like to upgrade this board to utilize Ryzen 5000 processors while I have a 3600 installed (as believe this is the only way you can do it). Why are the UEFI updates causing such instability with my board when the settings / hardware are not changing between UEFI updates?
Back to Top
abralex View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 31 Dec 2020
Status: Offline
Points: 2
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote abralex Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 31 Dec 2020 at 5:14pm
Hi there.
do anybody know about supporting "rysen 3350g pro" chip and PRO functionality on "X570 Phantom Gaming 4"?
Back to Top
abralex View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 31 Dec 2020
Status: Offline
Points: 2
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote abralex Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 31 Dec 2020 at 6:31pm
or may be 4S...
Back to Top
IsacVries View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 16 Feb 2021
Status: Offline
Points: 1
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote IsacVries Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 16 Feb 2021 at 11:44pm
Hi....all core boost doesn't give off an impression of being broken. I can control the all center lift with voltage and temperature. Essentially bringing down the central processor temperature can build all-center lift. Once more, we are not discussing all-center lift. This string is talking about the Ryzen 3000 Boost Issue which doesn't include all-center lift. Frankly, it is baffling to have a discussion about single center lift in accordance with the subject when you keep raise all center lift. It isn't on subject and not pertinent to the current issue.
Back to Top
apocalypseCow View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 18 Feb 2021
Status: Offline
Points: 13
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote apocalypseCow Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 18 Feb 2021 at 10:47am
I have an x570 Taichi and am attempting to use some external risers to power some extra GPUs. The PCI-E GEN 4.0 speeds are not supported by the risers, so I need to lower all of the PCI-E socket speeds to 3.0 or less.

I have tested on BIOS 3.8 and 4.0, and am UNABLE to change the speed of the BOTTOM PCI-E slot (PCIE5) which I know is controlled by the x570 Chipset.

The BIOS has several options under the ADVANCED -> AMD PBS Menu related to this:

PCIe x16 Bus Interface
PCIe x8 Bus Interface
Chipset Bus Interface

I tested by plugging an NVIDIA 3090/3080 into ALL of the slots simultaneously.

The TOP GPU slot was changed by the BIOS option x16 bus interface. Makes sense, (GEN1-4) all reported correctly in GPU-Z after the change.

The MIDDLE GPU slot was changed by the BIOS option 'x8 bus interface'. Also makes sense. Worked as expected.

The BOTTOM GPU slot (PCIE5 on the mobo) NEVER CHANGED despite every setting attempt I tried. I assumed the "Chipset Bus Interface" would control this slot, but switching it between GEN1-GEN4 had no affect. The slot always reported as PCI-E GEN 4.0 in GPU-Z after testing. The other settings mentioned above also had NO AFFECT on the BOTTOM GPU slot.

At the moment this is limiting my ability to connect additional GPU's to my x570 board as the the bottom GPU SLOT (AND all x1 slots) seem STUCK on GEN 4.0 PCIE.

Is the BIOS broken? I assumed "Chipset Bus Interface" would be the right setting I needed to change, but it did not work.

Did this ever work in older versions? I've only tried BIOS 3.8 and 4.0.

Is there a control that can be added for this? Can anyone from ASRock please help here?

Thanks very much for your time.

BIOS Settings Page when selection a Bus Interface:


Setting them all to GEN1 shows the problem clearly:


WHILE running a program on all cards to ensure full load, checking PCIE gen speeds via GPU-Z shows that the 3080 (in BOTTOM GPU SLOT, PCIE5) is locked at PCIE gen 4.0. No combination of settings could change this, I tried them all.

Back to Top
StefaanC View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 13 Feb 2021
Location: Belgium
Status: Offline
Points: 33
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote StefaanC Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 19 Feb 2021 at 11:37pm
If a bios falls back to default, keep an eye on the battery.
Boards stay sometimes long at the dealer and I always swap the battery whith a new board.
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <1 105106107
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 11.06
Copyright ©2001-2018 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.078 seconds.