ASRock.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Technical Support > AMD Motherboards
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - Ryzen 3000 series support
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Ryzen 3000 series support

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <1 2122232425 107>
Author
Message
Xaltar View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 16 May 2015
Location: Europe
Status: Offline
Points: 5949
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Xaltar Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 21 Aug 2019 at 11:26pm
An interesting video about boost frequencies:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=o2SzF3IiMaE
Back to Top
Xaltar View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 16 May 2015
Location: Europe
Status: Offline
Points: 5949
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Xaltar Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 22 Aug 2019 at 11:51pm
I have my Ryzen 5 1600x up on my testbench on an X370 Fatal1ty Gaming K4 with
the latest 5.50 release BIOS and it has been running benchmarks and stress
tests all day without issue. Fan curves are working better than they were on
the 4.60 BIOS I was using on the board before and I have not uncovered any
issues elsewhere as yet. XMP profile loaded up fine and RAM is working at it's
rated speed of 2800 without issue.

Specs are as follows:

CPU: Ryzen 5 1600x
RAM: 8gb (2x4gb) Corsair LPX Vengeance DDR4 2800 (CMK8GX4M2A2800C16R)
Motherboard: X370 Fatal1ty Gaming K4
BIOS: 5.50

If anyone has any suggestions for issues to check for please comment and let me
know. I have set this system up exclusively to try and help you all work out
issues. I will be getting a Ryzen 5 3600 in the next few weeks to test with
too. So far, the 1600x is working exactly as it should even though the BIOS
version is not recommended for use with first gen CPUs. I updated the board to
be ready for 3600 I have ordered.
Back to Top
wenerikk View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 18 Jul 2019
Status: Offline
Points: 41
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote wenerikk Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 23 Aug 2019 at 2:15am
Xaltar,

It would be really nice to see your observations after testing of 3600. For me 2 issues are still actual:
- boot loop. If I switch on PC after long pause like once in a day - it boots ok, if I need to reboot hot system 100% it's gonna dive in this loops
- CPU hot temps. It changes between 38-50 without loading and up to 75-85 if I run something like a game or test. I even replaced stock cooler to bigger one dedicated for 140W, no difference. I suspect that measured temps do not belong to 7nm CPU cores, but this only my guess..
Back to Top
dezotti View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 23 Aug 2019
Location: Mexico City
Status: Offline
Points: 1
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote dezotti Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 23 Aug 2019 at 7:57am
Motherboard: X470 taichi
CPU: Ryzen 9 3900x
BIOS: 3.1
Memory: 2x8GB HyperX Predator HX432C16P83K2/16
Back to Top
topaimz View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 23 Aug 2019
Status: Offline
Points: 7
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote topaimz Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 23 Aug 2019 at 8:02am
Hi.
I currently have the Fatal1ty X370 Gaming-ITX/ac.
I was using a 1600x on it, but recently got myself the 3900x.
I've updated to the latest bios (5.90 AMD AGESA Combo-AM4 1.0.0.3 ABB) but it won't post.
When I put in a friend's 3800x, it'll post, boot and perform normally (but have to disable XMP). When I put in my old 1600x, it'll post, boot and perform normally (even with XMP enabled)
Why isn't the 3900x posting when it's clearly stated as compatible on the support section...
Is there anything I can do to get the 3900x to work?
Back to Top
Xaltar View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 16 May 2015
Location: Europe
Status: Offline
Points: 5949
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Xaltar Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 23 Aug 2019 at 3:27pm
Originally posted by topaimz topaimz wrote:

Hi.
I currently have the Fatal1ty X370 Gaming-ITX/ac.
I was using a 1600x on it, but recently got myself the 3900x.
I've updated to the latest bios (5.90 AMD AGESA Combo-AM4 1.0.0.3 ABB) but it won't post.
When I put in a friend's 3800x, it'll post, boot and perform normally (but have to disable XMP). When I put in my old 1600x, it'll post, boot and perform normally (even with XMP enabled)
Why isn't the 3900x posting when it's clearly stated as compatible on the support section...
Is there anything I can do to get the 3900x to work?


It's impossible to help you without more information:

What are your full system specs?

At a guess, I would suspect the PSU isn't adequate for the 12 core CPU. The
3800x may have the same 105w TDP but with 4 fewer cores it will require less
power to initialize.



Edited by Xaltar - 23 Aug 2019 at 3:28pm
Back to Top
wenerikk View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 18 Jul 2019
Status: Offline
Points: 41
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote wenerikk Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 23 Aug 2019 at 7:34pm
Originally posted by topaimz topaimz wrote:

Hi.
I currently have the Fatal1ty X370 Gaming-ITX/ac.
I was using a 1600x on it, but recently got myself the 3900x.
I've updated to the latest bios (5.90 AMD AGESA Combo-AM4 1.0.0.3 ABB) but it won't post.
When I put in a friend's 3800x, it'll post, boot and perform normally (but have to disable XMP). When I put in my old 1600x, it'll post, boot and perform normally (even with XMP enabled)
Why isn't the 3900x posting when it's clearly stated as compatible on the support section...
Is there anything I can do to get the 3900x to work?


Look at this table (row 146), it has some info for 3900x CPU marked *
https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1d9_E3h8bLp-TXr-0zTJFqqVxdCR9daIVNyMatydkpFA/htmlview?sle=true#gid=639584818
Back to Top
cerror View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 13 Jul 2019
Status: Offline
Points: 42
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote cerror Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 23 Aug 2019 at 8:44pm
Any update on a new bios for the B450 Fatal1ty gaming itx/ac?
Back to Top
nbates66 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 20 Aug 2019
Location: Australia
Status: Offline
Points: 5
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote nbates66 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 23 Aug 2019 at 10:07pm
Originally posted by Xaltar Xaltar wrote:

At a guess, I would suspect the PSU isn't adequate for the 12 core CPU. The
3800x may have the same 105w TDP but with 4 fewer cores it will require less
power to initialize.


Unfortunately it's seeming doubtful of it being that simple with the bootloop issue I'm seeing reported but here goes.

I've got the following bootloop issue:
shutdown the PC.
usually noticed the next day when I attempt to power the system up the motherboard will continuously loop powering on then off whilst showing nothing on the display, no Asrock logo or anything, until eventually it boots with reset UEFI settings, including a useless set of case and CPU fan profiles.

My system is as follows:

AMD Ryzen 5 3600
Asrock B450 ITX Fatal1ty motherboard on UEFI version 3.50
2x8GB Ballistix Sport DDR4 RAM
Samsung 860 EVO 1TB SSD
Corsair SF600 PSU

The system booted perfectly for a few tests when I installed a loaned Ryzen 7 2700X CPU (which has a FAR higher core count and TDP) for the purpose of updating the UEFI to support my R5 3600 CPU.

There appear to be others reporting similar issues here:
https://www.reddit.com/r/ASRock/comments/cofm1g/asrock_b450_itx_3700x_my_post_boot_loops_and_wake/?sort=new

https://www.reddit.com/r/ASRock/comments/ctqc15/fatal1ty_b450_gamingitxac_boot_loops/

There have been suggestions that specifically the Corsair SF600 doesn't gel well with this particular motherboard and CPU together but there are others who have said changing PSU made no difference at all.

Hopefully Asrock can come up with something soon, the refund deadline for my motherboard is early next month but having to wait for the system to do it's stupid cycle and then reset the curves for my fans every single day is rapidly getting tiresome.
Back to Top
corsairabit View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 23 Aug 2019
Status: Offline
Points: 1
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote corsairabit Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 23 Aug 2019 at 10:18pm
Today I installed Ryzen 3600 into X370 ITX Fatal1ty motherboard on UEFI version 5.90
3600 has been stable to boot.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yNyN1sbbVQM
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <1 2122232425 107>
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 11.06
Copyright ©2001-2018 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.078 seconds.