ASRock.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Technical Support > AMD Motherboards
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - Ryzen 3000 series support
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Ryzen 3000 series support

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <1 2324252627 38>
Author
Message
M1th05 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 23 Aug 2019
Status: Offline
Points: 3
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote M1th05 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25 Aug 2019 at 4:14am
Originally posted by topaimz topaimz wrote:

Just an update on my situation

CPU: Ryzen 3900X
MB: Fatalty X370 ITX (Bios 5.90)
RAM: Gskill DDR4-3200 2x8GB
GPU: GTX 1080
PSU: Seasonic Platinum 600W

So, as alluded to by Xaltar, seems as though my 600W PSU was inadequate to power the 3900x

I'm currently running tests with my 800W PSU and for the last 20 minutes or so, the system has been stable
There were some initial boot/post issues, but after clearing the cmos and rebooting a couple times, things seem to have settled

Fingers crossed


Can you try another 600w PSU?

I think the problem is not the power but compatibility of PSU on the x370...
Back to Top
Xaltar View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 16 May 2015
Status: Online
Points: 5353
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Xaltar Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25 Aug 2019 at 4:38am
Originally posted by topaimz topaimz wrote:

Just an update on my situation

CPU: Ryzen 3900X
MB: Fatalty X370 ITX (Bios 5.90)
RAM: Gskill DDR4-3200 2x8GB
GPU: GTX 1080
PSU: Seasonic Platinum 600W

So, as alluded to by Xaltar, seems as though my 600W PSU was inadequate to power the 3900x

I'm currently running tests with my 800W PSU and for the last 20 minutes or so, the system has been stable
There were some initial boot/post issues, but after clearing the cmos and rebooting a couple times, things seem to have settled

Fingers crossed


That is great to hear topaimz

This is one of the major issues with AMD's Ryzen launches, there tend to be a
lot of issues with BIOS support out the gate and then when someone encounters
any kind of issue at all the first thought is always the BIOS and motherboard.
It can often cause issues if we dismiss the possibility it could be something
else. I remember when first gen launched a lot of people swarmed the forums
complaining about a collection of issues and it turned out Microsoft had broken
something with their most recent update that negatively impacted Ryzen.

There is nothing wrong with suspecting the BIOS is the issue, but don't rule
out other possible causes

Edited by Xaltar - 25 Aug 2019 at 4:38am
Back to Top
topaimz View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 23 Aug 2019
Status: Offline
Points: 7
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote topaimz Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25 Aug 2019 at 5:36am
As mentioned previously, the 600W PSU was working perfectly with a 1800x and a 3800x.
Couldn't post when I used my 3900x.
I've spent over an hour testing the 3900x with the 800W PSU and haven't run into any issues as of yet.
Back to Top
M1th05 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 23 Aug 2019
Status: Offline
Points: 3
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote M1th05 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25 Aug 2019 at 6:02am
Originally posted by topaimz topaimz wrote:

As mentioned previously, the 600W PSU was working perfectly with a 1800x and a 3800x.
Couldn't post when I used my 3900x.
I've spent over an hour testing the 3900x with the 800W PSU and haven't run into any issues as of yet.


Im sorry if i keep insisting, but makes no sense, before posting, 600w are not enought on your setup. I asked you to try a 600w PSU, from another brand, if its possible, as i keep thinking its a BIos issue.... just trying all variables...
Back to Top
tdizzle702 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 25 Aug 2019
Location: N/A
Status: Offline
Points: 2
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote tdizzle702 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25 Aug 2019 at 6:37am
Asrock x370 Gaming Profession P5.8 bios unstable starts out good for about a day then the crashes become more and more frequent till it barely boots. 3900x Processor. Downgraded to P5.3 with my 2700x completely stable.
Back to Top
antonioli View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 21 Aug 2019
Status: Offline
Points: 6
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote antonioli Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25 Aug 2019 at 6:46pm
Does anyone has a solution to high idle voltage with Ryzen 7 3700X or any Ryzen third generation?

I've installed the latest AMD drivers and in idle I get 1.47V with some programs showing as all the cores was in full use except the Ryzen Master that shows them sleeping.

When I run a benchmark or everything else the cores become active in Ryzen Master and the voltage reduces to 1.37V. No matter if I uses Ryzen High Performance or Windows High Performance profile, that's what happens.

I read that a possible solution is changes the profile to Ryzen Balanced but when I do it all the cores only get close to 3.6GHz no matter if I run multi or single core threads. The voltage in idle decreases to something as 0.93V (with it's good) but when in load only get 1V and it's weird. I tested changing the percentage of minimum processor usage to 90, 85, 5% but what I noticed that the lower the value, the lower will be the maximum clock of all the cores. With 5% it decreases to 2GHz. The maximum percentage is always set to 100%. The same thing happens to Windows Balanced power plan but it gives me only something more than 2GHz per core. Very weird.
Back to Top
CorNut View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 25 Aug 2019
Location: Eugene, OR
Status: Offline
Points: 5
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote CorNut Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25 Aug 2019 at 11:20pm
I have the bootloop issue on 2 systems

the first is a 3800X on the X470 Fatal1ty ITX

the second is 3600X on the B450 Fatal1ty ITX

Both are upgraded to their latest bios' and neither had problems before upgrading from 1st gen Ryzen CPU's.

I'll remove RAM, reset bios, swap to different RAM, just random things until it boots and everything will work fine. I can run memtest with no errors, I can run benchmarks, even reboot the PC to swap in different RAM and it runs great. After that, the problem's when the PC's are shut down for a period of time or they go to sleep due to inactivity. Once that happens, the PC's will bootloop/go through the process yet again, no logo/post, nothing.. They'll turn on then off after 20 seconds or so, then repeat that indefinitely. Sometimes the fans spool up full speed but when that happens it stays that way and won't shut off, but still no post/display. I thought the most recent bios' were my answer.

I have better luck with the 3800X on the X470 board, it uses an HDPLEX 400W PSU and it has an RTX 2070. That doesn't bode well for it being a PSU issue since the 3600X has a larger PSU with less power hungry parts.
Back to Top
EricM80 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 25 Aug 2019
Status: Offline
Points: 8
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote EricM80 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25 Aug 2019 at 11:49pm
Does ASRock even monitor those forums? Anyway here's my contribution to the B450 bootloop issue:
B450 Gatal1ty ITX, R1700 (always works fine) and R3900X (lots of issues)
Using an old GeForce GT730 for display, making PSU wattage a non issue.
RAM 2x Crucial Ballistix Sport LT 3200 16GB .
MoBo came with BIOS 3.20, used the R1700 to update to 3.50 .
R3900 has been bootlooping with the following PSUs
-Dell 350W
-Seasonic SS500HT (pre-80+)
-Antec EarthWatts 380 80+
-Seasonic SS-300FTX 80+ Bronze (got the BIOS screen ONE time out of 20 with this one)
System appears almost stable with
-FSP Aurum AS-400 80+ Gold

Back to Top
Ray62 View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie
Avatar

Joined: 01 Jul 2018
Location: Gemany, Berlin
Status: Offline
Points: 304
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Ray62 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25 Aug 2019 at 11:51pm
If Windows 10, disable fast startup on shutdown.
And i think the sleeping/power save modes are buggy this time.
Disable Suspend To RAM and deep sleep in the bios.

Newer bios versions after AGESA Combo-AM4 1.0.0.3 ABB are outstanding.
R7 1800X@Stock
Scythe Mugen5
Fatal1ty X370 Pro Gaming Bios 5.10
G-Skill 2xF4-3200C14-16GTZ@3200
GeForce GTX 1080 Ti
NVME 960 PRO 512GB, 960 EVO 1TB
PS/2 Kb, USB Mouse
bequit!DarkPowerProP9 750W
Back to Top
EricM80 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 25 Aug 2019
Status: Offline
Points: 8
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote EricM80 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25 Aug 2019 at 11:54pm
Forgot to mention, needless to say, all the above PSUs work fine in my X570 Taichi with the same R3900. I can even replace the GT730 with a Radeon 7700 and add an Aquantia 10GB NIC.
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <1 2324252627 38>
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 11.06
Copyright ©2001-2018 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.063 seconds.