ASRock.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Technical Support > AMD Motherboards
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - Ryzen 3000 series support
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Ryzen 3000 series support

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <1 5051525354 57>
Author
Message
Xaltar View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 16 May 2015
Status: Offline
Points: 5400
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Xaltar Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 10 Oct 2019 at 2:46pm
Thanks for the info CorNut. I am glad to see ASRock seems to have found a solution to the problem.
Back to Top
sebastianer View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 27 Jul 2019
Status: Offline
Points: 29
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote sebastianer Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 10 Oct 2019 at 3:58pm
Me too I hope this is fixed finally for the people still facing the issue. But let's wait a little more feedback.

I faced the issue in the past. But with my old PSU only. The easy way to replicate the issue was to attempt 100% cold boots turning off the PSU and everything.
I can't know if the new BIOS fixed this with my old PSU, because I don't have it anymore, (is in another Intel gaming PC now) and the new PSU always boots or sleeps without issues in my B450 ITX 3700X build with any BIOS.

I'll try the new beta 3.54 BIOS tonight anyway.
MB: ASRock B450 ITX (P3.50)
CPU: Ryzen 7 3700X
RAM: Ballistix BLS2K8G4D32AESTK
SSD: Crucial P1 500 NVME
GPU: Gigabyte G1 GTX1080
PSU: Enermax ERX530AWT --> Corsair RM650x (CP-9020178)
Back to Top
FireSoul View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 10 Oct 2019
Status: Offline
Points: 3
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote FireSoul Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 10 Oct 2019 at 4:01pm
Anyone had troubles with b450m steel legend and ryzen 5 3600? I have the latest bios(2.70) and if i let the cpu on stock settings (everything on auto in bios) i get random bsods (i.e vlc crashes my pc once every 30minutes, bsods during windows installation, etc). Forcing the cpu to run on 1.2v and 3600mhz seems to fix it. If i try to manually oc to 4000 i can't get it stable at all. Maybe i got a bad cpu or is it a motherboard problem? I've tried different rams (all passed memtest for 8 hours), a different psu/gpu/ssd and nothing seems to fix it. Any ideas what causes it?
Back to Top
19hba66 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 17 Sep 2019
Status: Offline
Points: 16
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote 19hba66 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 10 Oct 2019 at 4:56pm
Originally posted by sebastianer sebastianer wrote:

Originally posted by 19hba66 19hba66 wrote:

Originally posted by Xaltar Xaltar wrote:

19hba66 it sounds like you just need to reinstall windows or hit reset after it
starts loading over and over until it pulls up the repair dialogue. Select safe
mode and it should fix any boot issues.


I've tried triggering a repair mode, but it never comes up.

I just tried booting from install media and choose repair PC. It run diagnosing, but reported it could not repair Win. I then just choose to restart Win and what do you know: Windows started! Now I'm gonna test if i can restart without boot-fail and setting the UEFI back to my preferred settings


I'd download latest Windows 10 from Microsoft.com from the USB media creation tool, then create a new USB Flash drive with the latest version and then quickly install a Windows in a new partition or drive. If this works, then at least you will know that the problem is related to the old windows partition and could be some driver.

I'll try that. Thanks
Back to Top
efegue View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 31 Jul 2019
Status: Offline
Points: 15
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote efegue Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 10 Oct 2019 at 5:21pm
Originally posted by FireSoul FireSoul wrote:

Anyone had troubles with b450m steel legend and ryzen 5 3600? I have the latest bios(2.70) and if i let the cpu on stock settings (everything on auto in bios) i get random bsods (i.e vlc crashes my pc once every 30minutes, bsods during windows installation, etc). Forcing the cpu to run on 1.2v and 3600mhz seems to fix it. If i try to manually oc to 4000 i can't get it stable at all. Maybe i got a bad cpu or is it a motherboard problem? I've tried different rams (all passed memtest for 8 hours), a different psu/gpu/ssd and nothing seems to fix it. Any ideas what causes it?


I've only had random BSOD's if I tried to use RAM XMP profiles, if I set everything manually it works just fine and stable :)

Good luck!
Back to Top
FireSoul View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 10 Oct 2019
Status: Offline
Points: 3
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote FireSoul Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 10 Oct 2019 at 5:32pm
And what should i enter manually? The timings that are also present in the xmp profile?
Back to Top
CorNut View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 25 Aug 2019
Location: Eugene, OR
Status: Offline
Points: 13
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote CorNut Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 10 Oct 2019 at 9:36pm
Originally posted by sebastianer sebastianer wrote:

Me too I hope this is fixed finally for the people still facing the issue. But let's wait a little more feedback.


I'm still not convinced and I'm one of those who this has (so far) worked for. I just now turned off my PC again. I flipped the switch on the PSU and I'm going to work for the day. Depending on work, it should get a 12 hour rest so tonight will be its biggest test.

My PSU is about 7 years old, it's the original Silverstone 450w STX. That PC has a 3600x and RX 5700 but so far so good. I have a second PC with the same issue, also ASRock. That one is an ITX x470, 3800X & RTX 2070 being powered by an even smaller HD Plex 400 (AC-DC), essentially a large laptop charger. I'm patiently waiting for a bios that'll help that one but this one.

I know I'm not using optimum PSU's but they worked on the systems before without issue. It wasn't until I upgraded CPU's to more efficient 3000 series when problems started. Maybe there's something with the starting wattage but that still doesn't make sense. The systems could run stress tests without issue which tax it more than a cold boot should.

Today will be a big test for the B450 PC, I'll be sure to update.
Back to Top
19hba66 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 17 Sep 2019
Status: Offline
Points: 16
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote 19hba66 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 10 Oct 2019 at 9:41pm
Originally posted by 19hba66 19hba66 wrote:

Originally posted by sebastianer sebastianer wrote:

Originally posted by 19hba66 19hba66 wrote:

Originally posted by Xaltar Xaltar wrote:

19hba66 it sounds like you just need to reinstall windows or hit reset after it
starts loading over and over until it pulls up the repair dialogue. Select safe
mode and it should fix any boot issues.


I've tried triggering a repair mode, but it never comes up.

I just tried booting from install media and choose repair PC. It run diagnosing, but reported it could not repair Win. I then just choose to restart Win and what do you know: Windows started! Now I'm gonna test if i can restart without boot-fail and setting the UEFI back to my preferred settings


I'd download latest Windows 10 from Microsoft.com from the USB media creation tool, then create a new USB Flash drive with the latest version and then quickly install a Windows in a new partition or drive. If this works, then at least you will know that the problem is related to the old windows partition and could be some driver.

I'll try that. Thanks

I choose to set Windows restart in Safe Mode and then boot to UEFI and install 3.54. Then Windows started in Safe Mode.
Now, after running safe mode several times, Windows at last starts on vers. L3.54 in normal mode, but as soon I change the UEFI from default settings, Windows stalls. That means that I can't load the XMP-profile to take a advantage of the full speed of the RAM. Any thoughts?
Back to Top
Xaltar View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 16 May 2015
Status: Offline
Points: 5400
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Xaltar Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 10 Oct 2019 at 10:01pm
When windows fails to boot like that after a change in the UEFI (update or even
just a setting change) it's typically because of a setting change that effects
windows boot loader. Setting windows to boot into safe mode before restarting
and changing the BIOS setting will usually fix any boot loader issues.

So, before you enable XMP or make any changes in the BIOS, set windows to boot
into safe mode again, make your changes then allow the system to boot into safe
mode, once is enough, and then restart back to normal mode. If this works then
your issue has been to do with how you installed windows not the change in the
BIOS version. If it doesn't work then something else is going on, likely
because of the update. Let us know if this helps.
Back to Top
19hba66 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 17 Sep 2019
Status: Offline
Points: 16
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote 19hba66 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 10 Oct 2019 at 10:31pm
Originally posted by Xaltar Xaltar wrote:

When windows fails to boot like that after a change in the UEFI (update or even
just a setting change) it's typically because of a setting change that effects
windows boot loader. Setting windows to boot into safe mode before restarting
and changing the BIOS setting will usually fix any boot loader issues.

So, before you enable XMP or make any changes in the BIOS, set windows to boot
into safe mode again, make your changes then allow the system to boot into safe
mode, once is enough, and then restart back to normal mode. If this works then
your issue has been to do with how you installed windows not the change in the
BIOS version. If it doesn't work then something else is going on, likely
because of the update. Let us know if this helps.

WOW! That seemed to have worked. Thanks
Now on to test start from sleep and shutdown
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <1 5051525354 57>
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 11.06
Copyright ©2001-2018 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.047 seconds.