ASRock.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Technical Support > AMD Motherboards
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - Ryzen 3000 series support
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Ryzen 3000 series support

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <1 9192939495 99>
Author
Message
nebidaan View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 07 Feb 2020
Location: Hungary
Status: Offline
Points: 5
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote nebidaan Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 07 Feb 2020 at 5:27pm
Hey Everyone!

I would need some help/clarification with regards to updating the BIOS to 3.90 on my Taichi x470. So here are my hardware/software/driver specs:

MB: Taichi X470, current BIOS: 3.60
CPU: Ryzen 5 3600
Memory: Corsair Dominator Platinum 32GB (2x16) CMD32GX4M2C3600C16
VGA: ASUS Radeon R9 270x TOP DirectCU (latest 20.2.1 driver installed)
OS: Win10 Pro fully activated, up-to-date (1909, OS build: 18363.628)
Installed x470 Chipset driver: 2.01.15.2138 (latest), downloaded directly from AMD's website

So my question is: do I really need to install that outdated all-in-one driver (that is mentioned in the bios installation instructions section) prior to starting the actual BIOS update process with instant flash?

I am a bit confused here, as my PC is absolutely up-to-date with the latest drivers/updates fully installed. (Also, in my device manager there are no yellow marks/errors/problems, everything is fine and up and running.)

Thank you for your suggestions/help in advance!
Back to Top
DragonQ View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 23 Nov 2019
Status: Offline
Points: 12
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote DragonQ Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 08 Feb 2020 at 12:11am
Originally posted by nebidaan nebidaan wrote:

Hey Everyone!

I would need some help/clarification with regards to updating the BIOS to 3.90 on my Taichi x470. So here are my hardware/software/driver specs:

MB: Taichi X470, current BIOS: 3.60
CPU: Ryzen 5 3600
Memory: Corsair Dominator Platinum 32GB (2x16) CMD32GX4M2C3600C16
VGA: ASUS Radeon R9 270x TOP DirectCU (latest 20.2.1 driver installed)
OS: Win10 Pro fully activated, up-to-date (1909, OS build: 18363.628)
Installed x470 Chipset driver: 2.01.15.2138 (latest), downloaded directly from AMD's website

So my question is: do I really need to install that outdated all-in-one driver (that is mentioned in the bios installation instructions section) prior to starting the actual BIOS update process with instant flash?

I am a bit confused here, as my PC is absolutely up-to-date with the latest drivers/updates fully installed. (Also, in my device manager there are no yellow marks/errors/problems, everything is fine and up and running.)

Thank you for your suggestions/help in advance!

If you have the latest chipset drivers just flash it.
Back to Top
ViCe View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 08 Oct 2019
Location: Russia
Status: Offline
Points: 21
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote ViCe Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 08 Feb 2020 at 1:17am
Don't do that. Yesterday I installed update and what's now:
1) Motherboard can't load with xmp profile, even though my ram supports xmp
2) sometimes clocks are lower then them were before (it's no throttling, I use ekwb liquid cooling solution)
3) something wrong with pbo and p-state - my 3700x can't work on low clocks
Back to Top
John29 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 31 May 2019
Location: uk
Status: Offline
Points: 25
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote John29 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 10 Feb 2020 at 4:33pm

X470 Taichi 3.90 is now available on the ASRock website
Just install Bios 390 AGESA 1004B ,sofar all good


ASROCK X470 Taichi bios 3.90 Ryzen 3700X
AMD Ryzen 7 3700X All core at 4200
Noctua NH-U12A
Nvidia 1060 6gb
Samsung 970 Pro M.2
Samsung 860 EVO M.2
TeamGroup Dark Pro "8Pack Edition" 4x8 32GB PC4-25600C14 3200 running at 3600 at 1.380
Seasonic 750 Platinuim
Back to Top
gizmic View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie
Avatar

Joined: 13 Jun 2018
Location: Hong Kong
Status: Offline
Points: 640
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote gizmic Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 10 Feb 2020 at 7:31pm
it works fine till you power down the system
Back to Top
John29 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 31 May 2019
Location: uk
Status: Offline
Points: 25
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote John29 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 10 Feb 2020 at 8:18pm
I have no problems, everything is fine and running well
Bios L3.77 was good,Bios L3.78 was good until i restart and lost all setting.
Back to Top
ViCe View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 08 Oct 2019
Location: Russia
Status: Offline
Points: 21
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote ViCe Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11 Feb 2020 at 2:08am
Originally posted by John29 John29 wrote:

I have no problems, everything is fine and running well
Bios L3.77 was good,Bios L3.78 was good until i restart and lost all setting.

Turn off your system and try to boot. Result will be so disappointing.
Back to Top
ViCe View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 08 Oct 2019
Location: Russia
Status: Offline
Points: 21
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote ViCe Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11 Feb 2020 at 2:16am
Originally posted by gizmic gizmic wrote:

it works fine till you power down the system

Same sh*t. I think there's some problem with keeping changes in BIOS, same issue was on z97 Mobo, I had extreme 4 once, and I tried to boot after update, it turned off (kinda specific way to flash rom), and went to boot loop, to restore BIOS it was only one way - clear CMOS and went down to privious BIOS
Back to Top
gizmic View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie
Avatar

Joined: 13 Jun 2018
Location: Hong Kong
Status: Offline
Points: 640
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote gizmic Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11 Feb 2020 at 3:05am
as mentioned before all systems running 1004B will have this bug
Back to Top
nebidaan View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 07 Feb 2020
Location: Hungary
Status: Offline
Points: 5
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote nebidaan Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11 Feb 2020 at 3:28am
Having read your replies, I think I'll just stick to 3.60 for now. Currently my system is rock stable, no stability/boot/temperature/BSoD issues (never had in fact since I put together this build).

That power on problem sounds quite annoying, especially considering I tend to turn off my PC completely at the end of the day then cold boot every morning.
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <1 9192939495 99>
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 11.06
Copyright ©2001-2018 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.078 seconds.