ASRock.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Technical Support > Intel Motherboards
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - Z97 Extreme6 Post Error 64
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Z97 Extreme6 Post Error 64

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>
Author
Message Reverse Sort Order
travers View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 01 Jan 2019
Status: Offline
Points: 6
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote travers Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Z97 Extreme6 Post Error 64
    Posted: 19 Mar 2019 at 8:13am
Originally posted by rustybh1 rustybh1 wrote:

OMFG!!!!! I'm such a dumbass!!! It must have been B4 all along and not 64!. THank you so much guys, and sorry for the newbie error. Now just have to work out which USB device is bad.

Cheers


Holy hell
Thanks for this

Back to Top
rustybh1 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 10 Nov 2015
Status: Offline
Points: 8
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote rustybh1 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11 Nov 2015 at 3:30am
Thanks again. Just returned my PC to the EXACT same configuration it was in before and it boots no problem. Now that I know a '6' is actually a 'B' I should be good from now on. Thanks again
Back to Top
Xaltar View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 16 May 2015
Status: Offline
Points: 5346
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Xaltar Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11 Nov 2015 at 3:06am
Hope it sorts your issue Thumbs Up

I once spent days trying to figure out a problem with my system not posting, I replaced RAM, PSU, CPU and tried a different GPU and finally replaced the mobo only to discover it was a bad SATA cable which caused the new mobo to not post either LOL Always check the simple things first.
Back to Top
rustybh1 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 10 Nov 2015
Status: Offline
Points: 8
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote rustybh1 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11 Nov 2015 at 3:02am
OMFG!!!!! I'm such a dumbass!!! It must have been B4 all along and not 64!. THank you so much guys, and sorry for the newbie error. Now just have to work out which USB device is bad.

Cheers
Back to Top
Xaltar View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 16 May 2015
Status: Offline
Points: 5346
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (1) Thanks(1)   Quote Xaltar Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11 Nov 2015 at 2:55am
The error code on the Dr. Debug LED is probably b4 too and according to your manual that is a problem with a USB device. Try disconnecting all USB devices other than keyboard and see if that sorts you out ;)
Back to Top
rustybh1 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 10 Nov 2015
Status: Offline
Points: 8
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote rustybh1 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11 Nov 2015 at 2:48am
Thanks, done all that. Now when I boot I get the ASRock post screen as I did before, but pressing F2 turns the screen blank and then 5 seconds later "B4" appears in the bottom right corner of the screen, with nothing else displayed. Also still have the 64 post error on the MoBo.
Back to Top
parsec View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 04 May 2015
Location: USA
Status: Offline
Points: 5001
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (1) Thanks(1)   Quote parsec Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11 Nov 2015 at 1:54am
Since you don't have the manual anymore (I'm guessing, although you can download it), this is the instructions for using and recovering the primary BIOS from the backup BIOS:


Back to Top
Xaltar View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 16 May 2015
Status: Offline
Points: 5346
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (1) Thanks(1)   Quote Xaltar Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11 Nov 2015 at 1:34am
At the bottom corner of your board near the reset and power buttons there is a little switch. Make sure you power down the system, remove the power cord then press the power button to discharge any residual power then once all the lights on the board are off and there is no power to the system at all flip the switch to its alternate position then power up the system again.
Back to Top
rustybh1 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 10 Nov 2015
Status: Offline
Points: 8
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote rustybh1 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 10 Nov 2015 at 11:25pm
No, how do I do that?
Back to Top
Xaltar View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 16 May 2015
Status: Offline
Points: 5346
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Xaltar Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 10 Nov 2015 at 3:58pm
A bad SATA cable can cause the system to fail to post so I would disconnect your HDDs too and see if you can get into the UEFI. Have you tried the second BIOS yet?
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 11.06
Copyright ©2001-2018 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.063 seconds.