ASRock.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Technical Support > Intel Motherboards
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - [half solved] HDMI 2.0 with Z170 Gaming-ITX/ac
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

[half solved] HDMI 2.0 with Z170 Gaming-ITX/ac

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  123>
Author
Message
henry View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 11 Nov 2015
Status: Offline
Points: 12
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote henry Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: [half solved] HDMI 2.0 with Z170 Gaming-ITX/ac
    Posted: 11 Nov 2015 at 6:43am
Hello,

I just built a computer around a Fatal1ty Z170 Gaming-ITX/ac in order to plug a Samsung UHD TV to its HDMI 2.0 output.
When used at full resolution (UHD @60 Hz with 4:4:4 chroma) I get some image flickering.

It happens every 30 seconds or so.
This doesn't happen at all with 4:2:0 chroma or lower refresh rates.

Things I have tried so far:
  • Updating Intel graphics drivers (on Windows 10)
  • Ubuntu
  • Updating the UEFI
  • Getting a new high speed HDMI cable

I still believe the cable is the main culprit but I'd like to be sure I'm not missing anything before buying yet another one.



Edited by henry - 14 Nov 2015 at 10:09pm
Back to Top
mrlanz View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 01 Nov 2015
Status: Offline
Points: 15
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote mrlanz Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 13 Nov 2015 at 4:45am
I also have issue with hdmi2 and lost the picture for 1 second every 2 minutes or so. I tried with a 21Gbs high speed cable of 2 meter and it did not work, So its something wrong withe the MC2800 chip or Intel driver. Did you update the HDMI chip firmware? I did and now I get zero picture when running 60Hz deep color. Just as a test I connected my gaming rig using GTX 970 to my UHD LG TV and everything works perfect. So ones again I'm sure that there are something with the driver/firmware.
Back to Top
jwsg View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 07 Nov 2015
Status: Offline
Points: 6
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote jwsg Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 13 Nov 2015 at 5:46am
Sadly I had an even worse experience with the HDMI F/W update.
The update appeared to run OK powering down. On restart I noticed images within webpages were corrupted (even though I was using external GPU). I rebooted but the board would not then post. I had CPU fan running but no output on any video - so the board has been RMA after just 5 hours of use. 
 
As this was to replace another that had arrived showing signs of being knocked about in its packaging (which I don't think adequate) I decided to switch (back) to another brand ITX.
 
No-one else is reporting this with the F/W update but I would still advise extreme caution before running it.
Back to Top
henry View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 11 Nov 2015
Status: Offline
Points: 12
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote henry Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 13 Nov 2015 at 8:50pm
No I haven't tried the firmware update, I didn't realize there was one!

Requirements
  • HDMIFirmwareUpdate tool
  • Dual channel memory
  • Intel VGA driver (ver:15.40.5.1.64.4274) or later version

I have a single PC2400 module. Confused



Edited by henry - 13 Nov 2015 at 8:51pm
Back to Top
mrlanz View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 01 Nov 2015
Status: Offline
Points: 15
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote mrlanz Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 Nov 2015 at 12:47am
I suggest that you buy one more memory so you will get better performance. I talk to Intel and they told me that this is important for performance. The flicker is probably bandwidth problem on the memory and your cable is ok. Do not update until you have tested the memory expansion.

I just received a firmware update for MC2800 - v1.36 from ASRock and now my system works. Finally after almost 4 weeks struggle! I do not know if this update was a fix for me only so I should not post it here. I will let ASRock now that it works so you will get a official update on the download page.
Back to Top
henry View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 11 Nov 2015
Status: Offline
Points: 12
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote henry Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 Nov 2015 at 4:40am
I went ahead and upgraded the firmware to v1.36.
I'm crossing fingers, it seems to do the trick...

I got a shorter cable too, no big deal, I'll return the other one.
Back to Top
wardog View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 15 Jul 2015
Status: Offline
Points: 6336
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote wardog Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 Nov 2015 at 9:06am
As simply "adjusting' the chroma, I'm venturing it was your cable. Not the length, but quality of.

2M is not a problem for a quality cable. Hardly. Connector quality itself or the soldering to most likely.

Do not listen to those that say HDMI is HDMI. Those same people also profess it either works or it doesn't. That saying does NOT take into account inferior and cheaply made cables.

..... Wait....... Yes it does. As you've most likely just experienced. :)
< id="kpm_plugin" ="application/x-KPMPlugin">
Back to Top
mrlanz View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 01 Nov 2015
Status: Offline
Points: 15
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote mrlanz Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 Nov 2015 at 7:16pm
So ASRock have released the firmware, Still the download page point to v1.24 but it's be changed to v1.36 now. Great that it works for you now. I still think that one more memory will help you with performance.

@wardog: Yes you are right about that the cable quality do have impact of the system performance. There are no standard yet that make sure that the cable will support 18gbs and this is the requirement for 4k60hz deep color. But cables marked with high speed should be okay. I have tested 3 high speed hdmi cables and all of them worked as it should. But there are no guarantees that it will work, Soon when 4k@60hz will be main stream there will be a standard for this and then we know what cables will have 18gbs guaranteed.


Edited by mrlanz - 14 Nov 2015 at 7:23pm
Back to Top
henry View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 11 Nov 2015
Status: Offline
Points: 12
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote henry Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 Nov 2015 at 10:13pm
So, I spoke too fast, it's still happening. But less often and even more inconsistently than before. Confused
Back to Top
mrlanz View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 01 Nov 2015
Status: Offline
Points: 15
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote mrlanz Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 Nov 2015 at 11:24pm
Which CPU do you use for your MB?
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  123>
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 11.06
Copyright ©2001-2018 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.078 seconds.