ASRock.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Technical Support > AMD Motherboards
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - BIOS Updates, Urgent note, Please read.
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

BIOS Updates, Urgent note, Please read.

 Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Message
Xaltar View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 16 May 2015
Status: Offline
Points: 5401
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (1) Thanks(1)   Quote Xaltar Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: BIOS Updates, Urgent note, Please read.
    Posted: 04 Aug 2019 at 1:31pm
As I am sure most of you know by now, Ryzen 3000 has launched and there are BIOS updates available to support it. As with second gen Ryzen launch I am seeing a lot of first and second gen Ryzen users updating to the latest BIOS and having issues with their systems.

Please guys, if you are not upgrading to Ryzen 3000 DO NOT UPDATE your BIOS at this early stage. In a few months all these teething issues should be resolved and you can try out the latest BIOS version if that is of interest to you. Generally speaking, if your system is working as intended and you do not have issues with the BIOS then don't update. Ryzen in particular is a fickle beast that is prone to issues from one BIOS version to the next.

Most of the changes in the new updates are explicitly to add Ryzen 3000 support and will have absolutely no benefit to first and second gen Ryzen systems.

This advice will likely apply for all future Ryzen launches and even to intel systems when a new CPU range is launched on an existing socket.
Back to Top
T1125P View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 08 Sep 2018
Location: New York
Status: Offline
Points: 54
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote T1125P Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 Aug 2019 at 12:20pm
I agree. I only updated to BIOS 3.40 with my 2700x and have no issues at all. I did this for when I'm ready to buy my 3700x (no more 3900x I don't need it). With 3.40 I can just put the 3700x in and upgrade again to a more stable BIOS. I'm in no rush to buy a 3700x I will most likely buy one toward the end of Sept early Oct when all issues should be ironed out.
ASRock x470 Taichi
2700x (Noctua NH-U12S SE)
G.SKILL Flare X Series 16GB
Samsung 970 Pro 512GB
EVGA RTX 2070 Super Black
Sound Blaster AE-7
EVGA 850W Platinuim
Blu-ray LG WH16NS40
LCD AOC G2460PG
Back to Top
Hexcate View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 21 Aug 2019
Location: USA
Status: Offline
Points: 3
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Hexcate Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 21 Aug 2019 at 11:38am
The Ryzen 3k bios(5.50) for the X370 Killer SLI/AC is missing the LLC settings. Because of this my overclock is no longer stable. Which is pretty annoying as I require every bit of performance as possible from my rig for work. The difference between 3.7GHz and 4.0GHz on my Ryzen 7 1700 is massive in my workloads.


Hopefully they'll add it back as that's kind of an important part of having a stable overclock on any CPU.

I updated even though I don't have a ryzen 3k processor because of the ability to OC the FSB Therefore allowing better OC especially with single core. My MoBo was perfect with the 5.40 BIOS. Now i'm stuck on 5.50 after RMAing my board for a power delivery issue.
Back to Top
Hexcate View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 21 Aug 2019
Location: USA
Status: Offline
Points: 3
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Hexcate Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 21 Aug 2019 at 12:39pm
Since I can't find an edit button for my previous post. My RGB application also refuses to start even on clean install. Didn't have that issue with 5.4.   RGB control works fine from within the BIOS though.
Back to Top
srdjan1995 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 11 Jan 2018
Status: Offline
Points: 27
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote srdjan1995 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 28 Aug 2019 at 7:52am
Having my R3 1200 @ 4GHz using latest bios (6.0) on AB350 Pro4, and it's all working great here. Only thing I couldn't OC is my RAM, but that's because RAM i have is not the one for overclocking, and I think it's always better to just get a faster RAM, instead of OC'ing it. I only tried to OC my RAM, never intended to keep it OC'ed. But anyways, it works great with R3 1200. I do plan on getting Ryzen 3000 series cpu as soon as I can.
Back to Top
dbHRGdb View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 28 Aug 2019
Status: Offline
Points: 3
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (1) Thanks(1)   Quote dbHRGdb Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 28 Aug 2019 at 7:42pm
Hi There all,
-posted this in an older forum page, but i hope it helps-
I'd like to report, if still relative to anyone, that I did get my new R5-3600x running nice and normal using bios 5.81 on my Asrock b350 Fata1ity itx/ac FINALLY after days of tinkering with Corsair and Ballistics kits and posted bioses up to 6.0. To no avail even though with 1st gen Ryzen 1600, 1700 and 2400G had no probs with any reasonable setting or over clocks. Then I got a 16G kit of G-Skills 3200C16D-16GSXKB-16-18-18-38 from a friend in exchange for my Ballisticts kit. Soon after I managed to get into the bios after days of tinkering between my R5-1600 and bios' 4.70, 5.30, 5.70, and 6.0 which none of let me enter the bios with my usual AMD fore mentioned 3000 Corsair and 3200 Ballistics. Then I tried the G-Skills and got into bios 5.70 more often during boot cycles which I had let run over and over till it stopped cycling w/ just fans were full throttle and try again changing bios setting until i got less and less cycles between successful bios screens. what I realized is, Gen 1 boards or Gen 3 Ryzen 5 or the combo needs 1.4v on memory, memory set to 3000mhz because max Infinity Fabric on Gen 1 boards is 1500 max and it defaulted here setting different mem and voltage though all my attempts at successful boots. Also I cant restart the board, must be fully shut down to enable a stable boot that is and has been stable through all my test. Sometimes, i still get a boot cycle but only 1-3 times max and retain all setting as default in bios 5.81 (the ONLY bios that works for me WITH THESE G-SKILLS) Also, it improved further when after enabling XMP and setting mem down to 3000 with 1.4v, I then tightened timings from the stock 16-18-18-38 down to 14-16-16-34 and now my system is pretty consistent in all my benches and games, peppier and higher scores. eg. Cinebench before tightening was 1075 score :( to 1635 :) So, I hope this is helpful for someone out there. My games no longer experience the stuttering they once were with my R5-1600 being bottle necked. Now a Happy Camper here and new life out of my 1080ti and work bench!
B350Fata1ity-itx/ac R5-3600X-4.247ghz 16G-G.SKILLS-SNIPER-3200@3000MHZ NV-1080ti SS-SFX-700wGold
Back to Top
Hexcate View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 21 Aug 2019
Location: USA
Status: Offline
Points: 3
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Hexcate Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 05 Sep 2019 at 9:08am
Without LLC there's severe vdroop on vcore.   Making any type of overclocking extremely difficult. My CPU is seeing a minimum 10% reduction in performance due to this.

Pictures of vdroop and performance drop included here [URL=https://imgur.com/a/MFVhkSt]https://imgur.com/a/MFVhkSt[/URL]

This wouldn't even be a problem if I could roll back, but taking away the ability to downgrade the BIOS then dropping performance by a large margin is nuts.
X370 Killer SLI/ac
16GB Corsair Vengeance 3k Mhz
Ryzen 7 1700 @ 4.05GHz
2x RX 580 8GB
EVGA 750GQ
3x 1920x1080 HP 22eb
Razer Timat 7.1 v2
Razer everything else
Back to Top
Go6s View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 25 Sep 2019
Status: Offline
Points: 4
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Go6s Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 26 Sep 2019 at 12:19am
Do you have troubles accessing the bios on chipset b450 with Ryzen 2xxx series ? I have the p2.30 bios (not UEFI becase of MBR partition) and I can't access the bios ! It freezes when I push any button at start.
Back to Top
rpmrg View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 14 Jul 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 6
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote rpmrg Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 01 Oct 2019 at 6:06am
You should always run Ryzen in UEFI mode and not old bios.
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 11.06
Copyright ©2001-2018 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.031 seconds.