ASRock.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Technical Support > AMD Motherboards
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - ASROCK 450M Steel Legend Micro-ATX NVME Issue
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

ASROCK 450M Steel Legend Micro-ATX NVME Issue

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  123>
Author
Message Reverse Sort Order
Sjshshs View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 09 Aug 2019
Status: Offline
Points: 10
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Sjshshs Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: ASROCK 450M Steel Legend Micro-ATX NVME Issue
    Posted: 20 Aug 2019 at 2:05pm
It's a Samsung NVME compatibility issue. Asrock never replied to my support case. I grabbed a board from another manufacturer
Back to Top
joop1981 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 08 Oct 2017
Location: earth
Status: Offline
Points: 27
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote joop1981 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 Aug 2019 at 3:57pm
I installed a PATRIOT 512GB PCIe3 x4 2280 VPN100-512GM28H and it is working perfect with bios version 2.5

Other installed working hardware:
Ryzen 7 3700X 3,6 GHz 8 core processor (Zen 2 Matisse) at 3600MHz
Corsair CMK16GX4M2B3200C16 kit 2 x 8 GB DDR4 in slots A2 and B2 at 3200 MHz
graphics: Gigabyte RTX 2060 mini ITX OC 6GB

The only problem I met was with bios 2.1: I had to remove the second 8GB DDR4 memory module from slot B2 temporarely to be able to upgrade to bios v2.5
From there everything worked fine.
Back to Top
Security Code View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 15 Jul 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 3
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Security Code Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 Aug 2019 at 12:08pm
I just got this board and tried to use a 960 EVO (non-plus version with my existing OS install and all my user data on it) with it, cannot detect it in either M.2 socket.
Back to Top
Acmnin View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 09 Aug 2019
Status: Offline
Points: 14
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Acmnin Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 Aug 2019 at 7:08am
Upgraded to 2.6... just sent the drive back for the same one.. maybe it's the drive..
Back to Top
Acmnin View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 09 Aug 2019
Status: Offline
Points: 14
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Acmnin Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 Aug 2019 at 5:00am
I see for 2.6 ,

*ASRock does NOT recommend updating this BIOS if Pinnacle, Raven or Summit Ridge CPU is being used on your system.

I'm using a Pinnacle Ridge....
Back to Top
Acmnin View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 09 Aug 2019
Status: Offline
Points: 14
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Acmnin Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 15 Aug 2019 at 11:42am
Originally posted by DylPikl DylPikl wrote:

I'm using this board (bios 2.60) with a 970 Evo Plus as boot disk, works like a charm.


What's the secret?
Back to Top
Sjshshs View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 09 Aug 2019
Status: Offline
Points: 10
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Sjshshs Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 Aug 2019 at 8:25pm
Originally posted by DylPikl DylPikl wrote:

I'm using this board (bios 2.60) with a 970 Evo Plus as boot disk, works like a charm.


Hmm Evo Plus is a different model though, so that might be why. Unless the unlikely scenario that the NVME port is defective for us. But I don't think that's very likely.
Back to Top
DylPikl View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 31 Jul 2019
Status: Offline
Points: 4
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote DylPikl Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 Aug 2019 at 11:05am
I'm using this board (bios 2.60) with a 970 Evo Plus as boot disk, works like a charm.
Back to Top
Mech View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 14 Aug 2019
Status: Offline
Points: 4
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Mech Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 Aug 2019 at 5:43am
I have this board also, and have all the parts to finish it and these threads have honestly kept me from even trying to finish off the build. I have NVMe that will be my primary boot device. Not tried it yet.

This is my first build in years, replacing an Intel i7 2700k and this was to be when I finally jumped. After all that waiting I managed to jump into this lol.
Back to Top
cx5 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 15 Sep 2017
Location: Hong Kong
Status: Offline
Points: 149
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote cx5 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 13 Aug 2019 at 3:48pm
Originally posted by Sjshshs Sjshshs wrote:

That is incorrect. If I put in a previous gen it shows up in storage.


OIC, thanks. I thought in uefi mode CSM disable, can't be seen....

oh my, it's pci-e nvme that is can't be seen, I've mixed up wrongly.
1700XtaichiX370HISvega64CX750MOptane900P@M2ultraRISER 420x140x28>GPU>420x140x86>CPU coreV71
CMK32GX4M2B3000C15@2933,141515153252573231010444401410631661447@1.34v84ns
3266@1.55Vsoc1.12v74ns C1618193860
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  123>
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 11.06
Copyright ©2001-2018 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.047 seconds.