ASRock.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Technical Support > AMD Motherboards
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - Enabling Thunderbolt Support For AIC v1.0
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Enabling Thunderbolt Support For AIC v1.0

 Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Message
Ryzentosh View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 10 Aug 2019
Status: Offline
Points: 15
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Ryzentosh Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Enabling Thunderbolt Support For AIC v1.0
    Posted: 10 Aug 2019 at 3:02pm
Hi Guys,
New Asrock fan here. Really enjoying my Asrock experience so far.

I just bought two new X570 Pro4 motherboards and Ryzen 3900x CPU. (I'll build the second rig once this one works).

I was able to build everything just fine and boot into MacOS Mojave 10.14.6 without a single issue using stock bios settings. Wonderful.

I also bought and installed the Asrock Thunderbolt AIC Rev 1.0 card and installed it as directed in the correct slot.

When I enable "Thunderbolt support" in the bios, I immediately lose sight of my Inland Premium 1TB nvme drive.
When I turn off TB support again it comes back.

I can only guess this has to do with the compatibility support that is allowing the drive to be seen?

Can anyone shed light on this and a workaround?

Thank you.

I wonder if another brand of drive would allow both to be working simultaneously? Like a Samsung Evo 970 (not plus)? Or if it's just a bios setting you can share with me?


Ryzentosh
Back to Top
Ryzentosh View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 10 Aug 2019
Status: Offline
Points: 15
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (1) Thanks(1)   Quote Ryzentosh Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 10 Aug 2019 at 6:51pm
Okay. An update.

Spent the last 3 hours tinkering. I've got some good news.

I got it working. Yes. In MacOS Mojave 10.14.6 and Win 10 1903.

The Apollo works flawlessly in Win 10 nowadays it seems with their latest firmware update and driver pack as of today (v9.10).

Some key tips:
1. Get it working in Windows first. Win 10 1903 specifically.

I installed my Universal Audio Apollo Twin Thunderbolt audio interface first and got it working on an Asus z270 Prime-P board with the Asus Thunderbolt ex3 card first. I had to plug in my Apollo Twin into my actual macbook first though and installed the latest Uaudio 9.1 drivers pack. That updates the firmware for the Apollo and seems to help a ton. This will teach you to be on the lookout for the "Connecting to "Apollo Twin" pop up notification which signifies it sees it and is connecting to it.

I also found the latest Thunderbolt Software Drivers (Intel) over at the Lenovo site. version 17.4.78.500 and installed their little .exe pak. That seemed to give me the latest TB driver version as I couldn't find it anywhere else. Not even from Asrock. (Asrock, can you please post these?)

Once updated you have to make sure you give the drivers time to autodetect and load after windows boots up. Like a few (2-5) minutes. It needs to show up in Device Manager under the top "Audio DSP Accelerator" section as "Universal Audio Apollo Twin Thunderbolt". Which is just below "UAD-2 System Driver".

Once I had my Apollo working in Win 10, I took that nvme drive (Adata Xps 8200 Pro 1TB) over to my Ryzen 9 3900x Asrock x570 Pro4 motherboard that had v1.30 bios on it. This drive doesn't disappear on this board when I turn on Thunderbolt Support in the bios like the Inland Premium 1TB does. So maybe this is a better choice of nvme for Hackintosh? More testing to determine.

In the bios I enabled Thunderbolt(TM) Support and Thunderbolt Usb Support.
Disabled Thunderbolt Boot Support.
Disabled Titan Ridge Workaround for OSUP.
AIC Support = Enabled
AR AIC Supprt = Enabled
Wake From Thunderbolt(TM) Devices = On
Skip PCI OptionRom = Disabled
Skip PCI Interrupt Assignment =Disabled
Security Level = User Authorization
GPIO Filter = Enabled
AIC Location Group = CPU0 NB PCIE Slot (***This one is important. The other option didn't work!)
AIC Location = PCIEx16_2 (This is because I put it in the second full PCIE slot as my R9 270 was in the first).
*Note: Last PCIE slot would not work. The one at the bottom of the board. FYI. Don't bother.
Alpine Ridge Workaround Select = WA Rev 2-New WA (***This one also seemed to do the trick!)
AR XHCI Host Pre-Wake = Enabled
AR XHCI Host Actibve LTR = 20
AR XHCI Host High LTR = 80
AR XHCI Host Medium LTR = 40
AR XHCI Host Low LTR = 30

Be on the lookout for "New Thunderbolt TM device has been connected. Click here to approve the device. It will show up in the lower right corner down by the clock. This appeared after I connected my Focusrite Clarett 8Pre for the first time and then booted up.

It will then ask "Do you want to allow this app to make changes to your device?" And lists Thunderbolt(TM) Software and Verified publisher: Intel(R) Client Connectivity Division SW" as the publisher. Click Yes.

Approve it.

Approve Thunderbolt Devices popup will appear next. Listing Focusrite, Clarett8Pre. Choose "Always Connect" and OK.

Look on the front of the Clarett8pre for the Thunderbolt lock light to turn green. This is good!

You will also see it in Device Manager under "Thunderbolt(TM) Controller - 1502 under System Devices.

It will also show up under "Attached Thunderbolt TM Devices" popup info window.

As "Attached Devices Chains" and Thunderbolt TM Controller 2
Port 1
Focusrite, Clarett8Pre
Port 2
Nothing. (Depending on which port you plugged it into.

Then grab the latest beta drivers from Focusrite. I think it was 3.4.0? I'll confirm again. Install those and open up the beta control panel. It will give you a pop up showing you the bit rate of 44000 and 128 samples. You can change it to 512 or 1024 samples but it won't update until you change the bitrate. (Buggy). Then when playing back audio it will have a ton of glitches.

BUT... I then booted back into my MacOS Mojave which I also had installed on a normal SATA 240GB SSD (Not nvme) and it finally showed up in my Sound Options area! :)

Played straight away and without any glitches. Been listening to my Focusrite Clarett 8Pre on Mojave while typing this for the past 30 min. Wonderful.

And this is with the Rev1.0 Asrock Thunderbolt AIC card. So it does work.

I'll test my Apollo next on this and confirm for you next.

Also, I used a brand new Apple TB3 to TB2 adapter. My old one was actually burned out and not working it seems. Which was causing me to believe nothing was working. So I stopped hotplugging them when setting all this up just to be sure I didn't kill another adapter.

I also have the Startech adapter and it also works today too. I tested them both.

Hope that helps!

Nothing like having the very latest Ryzen 9 3900x with 12 cores/24 threads running the latest MacOS and having TB3 audio interfaces working. This is the deluxe ride right now.

It seems the X570 Pro4 board is great after all! :)





Ryzentosh
Back to Top
Ryzentosh View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 10 Aug 2019
Status: Offline
Points: 15
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Ryzentosh Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 12 Aug 2019 at 8:32am
* One caveat though. I still didn't get the nvme Inland Premium 1TB drive to show up in the boot menu when having Thunderbolt Support turned on.

That is still needing to be figured out. Accepting all tips on that I can get.

But it is working to a traditional SATA SSD. So the above post still stands.

I will next try cloning my 240GB SSD with working TB3 to my Adata 8200 Pro nvme to see if I can somehow get that to work.

It could be that it will work in the lower m.2 nvme slot or if I put it into a pcie adapter card perahps. I'll try both and report.

In the meantime, anyone know how to get my Inland Premium 1TB nvme ssd to show up and be bootable with Thunderbolt support enabled in the bios?
Ryzentosh
Back to Top
wilshing View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 09 Aug 2019
Location: Hong Kong
Status: Offline
Points: 4
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote wilshing Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 13 Aug 2019 at 10:01am
Do you enable fast boot?
Or you disable CSM (Compatibility Support Module)?

Depending on how you install windows, if you install windows in BIOS mode (not UEFI mode), then you enabled fast boot, nvme will not appear in boot menu.
Back to Top
Ryzentosh View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 10 Aug 2019
Status: Offline
Points: 15
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Ryzentosh Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 15 Aug 2019 at 7:24am
Good tip. Thank you. I didn't realize AHCI vs IDE mode choice affected the visibility of the nvme. Interesting point.

I don't recall how I originally installed Win 10 on that Adata XPS 8200 1tb nvme drive, but pretty sure it was AHCI.

The Inland Premium 1tb nvme only has MacOS Mojave on it, so is that the problem?

Is there a drive that will be visible to CSM with TB enabled with only MacOS on it?
Ryzentosh
Back to Top
DicusBarbavici View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 01 Apr 2020
Status: Offline
Points: 5
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote DicusBarbavici Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 01 Apr 2020 at 2:31am
Thanks Ryzentosh for your posts! Your posts on this forum do excite me since I've been trying to get my Focusrite Clarett Thunderbolt 3 connection working on my x570 Creator.

Your post suggests that Mojave probably will help me along. But I was just switching away from Macintosh on my new device.

Have you been able to get the Clarett working on W10? And if so any advice?

I am open to sending my Creator back and in stead buy a Pro4 with the AIC card, would save me a lot of money too.

Any help would be amazing!
Back to Top
Ryzentosh View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 10 Aug 2019
Status: Offline
Points: 15
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Ryzentosh Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 02 Apr 2020 at 10:46am
Hi. Not sure you need to swap out the Creator for the Pro4. Might behave the same.

Also the Titan Ridge is a better/newer card to get over the Alpine Ridge cards. So get that instead.

I never got W10 working well if I remember correctly. Don't actually remember though. I gave up on it. I use USB interfaces now to bypass all this hassle and having to boot up win10 each time first then into Macos. Not worth it.

Also, the newer version of the BIOS (latest) breaks the ethernet support in macos for some reason for me on the Pro4. But both my nvme cards work fine in the lastest bios versions so that is a plus.

I also now use opencore and not clover anymore. There's two great guides online for doing macos vanilla with opencore. Check youtube technolli and one other guy for all the details. Totally stable so far other than the ethernet. But I've not tried TB3 again yet. I should though.

Ryzentosh
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 11.06
Copyright ©2001-2018 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.063 seconds.