ASRock.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Technical Support > AMD Motherboards
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - Video card bandwidth in PCIE3 slot of X570 Taichi?
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Video card bandwidth in PCIE3 slot of X570 Taichi?

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <123
Author
Message
Ray62 View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie
Avatar

Joined: 01 Jul 2018
Location: Germany, Berlin
Status: Offline
Points: 706
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Ray62 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 Aug 2019 at 2:11pm
Pay attention! This is just an information for the capabilities of the card.
You should check the PCIE slots under Motherboard->SMBIOS DMI->System Slots where you can see the slot data bus width. The PCIE3 will show you the 8x mode, i guess.
Asrock Fatal1ty X370 Professional Gaming Offline
Under test:
MSI X570_MEG_ACE | AMD Ryzen 9 3900X | Scythe Mugen5 | 2x16GB F4-3200C14D-32GTZ@3466 | ASUS GeForce GTX 1080 Ti FE
Back to Top
shmerl View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 23 Oct 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 237
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote shmerl Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 19 Aug 2019 at 2:45am
Or on Linux, try lstopo.
Back to Top
foxx1337 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 19 Jul 2019
Location: Munich
Status: Offline
Points: 44
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote foxx1337 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 19 Aug 2019 at 4:08am
Hey Ray62, I didn't know about that. I don't think it does, instead:



Ryzen 3900X, Taichi X570
Back to Top
gizmic View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie
Avatar

Joined: 13 Jun 2018
Location: Hong Kong
Status: Offline
Points: 662
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote gizmic Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 19 Aug 2019 at 10:26am
Originally posted by foxx1337 foxx1337 wrote:

My Vega56 is plugged into PCI3. This is what hwinfo64 says:


and also 8 GT/s in the Sensor Monitoring window. Looks like PCIe 3 x16 to me.



pcie3 X16 = pcie4 X8 (8GB/s)
Back to Top
Ray62 View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie
Avatar

Joined: 01 Jul 2018
Location: Germany, Berlin
Status: Offline
Points: 706
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Ray62 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 19 Aug 2019 at 3:48pm
Originally posted by foxx1337 foxx1337 wrote:

Hey Ray62, I didn't know about that. I don't think it does, instead:





It looks as it should in the PCIE3 slot:
GPU is a PCIe 3.0 one
Max. link width is 16
Current link width is 8

If you would place the card in PCIE1, it should be:
GPU is a PCIe 3.0 one
Max. link width is 16
Current link width is 16
Asrock Fatal1ty X370 Professional Gaming Offline
Under test:
MSI X570_MEG_ACE | AMD Ryzen 9 3900X | Scythe Mugen5 | 2x16GB F4-3200C14D-32GTZ@3466 | ASUS GeForce GTX 1080 Ti FE
Back to Top
foxx1337 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 19 Jul 2019
Location: Munich
Status: Offline
Points: 44
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote foxx1337 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 20 Aug 2019 at 7:02am
You're wrong, Ray62; according to https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/PCI_Express#History_and_revisions, PCIe 3 works at 8 billion transactions per second.
Ryzen 3900X, Taichi X570
Back to Top
gizmic View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie
Avatar

Joined: 13 Jun 2018
Location: Hong Kong
Status: Offline
Points: 662
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote gizmic Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 20 Aug 2019 at 10:18am
thats the transfer rate / link rate it doesn't change in the whole pcie3 range x1-x16
Back to Top
shmerl View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 23 Oct 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 237
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote shmerl Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 06 Sep 2019 at 9:26am
OK, I run a test (The Witcher 3 in Wine+dxvk on Linux, 1920x1200, max settings, hairworks off). I don't see any difference in framerate, besides regular fluctuations:

slot 1:


slot 2:


So I'd assume the difference is slots not impacting it.
Back to Top
gizmic View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie
Avatar

Joined: 13 Jun 2018
Location: Hong Kong
Status: Offline
Points: 662
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote gizmic Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 06 Sep 2019 at 3:42pm
even if its a titan or a dual pcie3.0 8X is more than enough
Back to Top
Xaltar View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 16 May 2015
Location: Europe
Status: Offline
Points: 5999
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Xaltar Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 06 Sep 2019 at 4:03pm
Originally posted by gizmic gizmic wrote:

even if its a titan or a dual pcie3.0 8X is more than enough


Agreed, currently I don't believe even the 2080ti or RTX Titan can fully saturate
the bandwidth of PCIe 3.0 x8. As far as I am aware, they can barely saturate
PCIe 3.0 x4. Contrary to popular belief, GPUs do not fuel PCIe development, it is
mostly designed for storage and network throughput. GPUs are quite a bit behind
what a PCIe SSD or high bandwidth LAN adapter can demand.
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <123
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 12.04
Copyright ©2001-2021 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.047 seconds.