ASRock.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Technical Support > AMD Motherboards
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - Upgrading RAM
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Upgrading RAM

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  123>
Author
Message Reverse Sort Order
ThreeDee View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie
Avatar

Joined: 24 Jul 2019
Location: Billings,MT
Status: Offline
Points: 332
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote ThreeDee Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Upgrading RAM
    Posted: 13 Nov 2019 at 7:21am
Cool Deal!
|Ryzen 3700x|ASRock X570 Steel Legend-BIOS 2.30|2x16GB HyperX Predator PC3200@PC3600(CAS16)|ASRock RX 5700XT|2x512GB NVMe|850 WTT EVGA GQ 80+ Gold PSU|Noctua NH-D15|
Back to Top
Blacksaturn77 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 15 Aug 2019
Location: Florida
Status: Offline
Points: 13
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Blacksaturn77 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 13 Nov 2019 at 6:59am
Three D... Not sure if people get updates on old parts but... Just an update:

You were right. Upgraded old computer... Everything was good so FINALLY upgraded my main rig.

All apps working and total of 32 GB of usable RAM.

thanks
Back to Top
ThreeDee View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie
Avatar

Joined: 24 Jul 2019
Location: Billings,MT
Status: Offline
Points: 332
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote ThreeDee Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 04 Sep 2019 at 12:47am
VM=Virtual Machine .. so you could run a different OS inside a VM or the like.

Glad it's working good for you now! ... I have a buddy here that is still running 8.1 that I told him I'd install 10 for him ..but he's still dragging his feet
|Ryzen 3700x|ASRock X570 Steel Legend-BIOS 2.30|2x16GB HyperX Predator PC3200@PC3600(CAS16)|ASRock RX 5700XT|2x512GB NVMe|850 WTT EVGA GQ 80+ Gold PSU|Noctua NH-D15|
Back to Top
Blacksaturn77 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 15 Aug 2019
Location: Florida
Status: Offline
Points: 13
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Blacksaturn77 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 03 Sep 2019 at 11:22pm
Three Dee...thanks.

Upgraded my old 8.1 (which WOULDN'T run my apps) to windows 10. Everything running as normal.

Gonna play on there for a month or so, to make sure nothing funny happens, then make the switch on my MAIN rig.



Ps
What's a VM (virtual mode?)
Back to Top
Ray62 View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie
Avatar

Joined: 01 Jul 2018
Location: Germany, Berlin
Status: Offline
Points: 706
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Ray62 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 26 Aug 2019 at 12:04am
I never used Win7 Home, always Professional/Enterprise/Ultimate, so i also was not aware of the limits:
Windows 7 Home Basic 8GB
Windows 7 Home Premium 16 GB
https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/windows/win32/memory/memory-limits-for-windows-releases#physical-memory-limits-windows-7
Asrock Fatal1ty X370 Professional Gaming Offline
Under test:
MSI X570_MEG_ACE | AMD Ryzen 9 3900X | Scythe Mugen5 | 2x16GB F4-3200C14D-32GTZ@3466 | ASUS GeForce GTX 1080 Ti FE
Back to Top
ThreeDee View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie
Avatar

Joined: 24 Jul 2019
Location: Billings,MT
Status: Offline
Points: 332
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote ThreeDee Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 19 Aug 2019 at 11:14am
Back up your stuff .. install Windows 10 and then install whatever software that you think might not work and see if does .. or if you have a buddy you could try an install on ... or you could run Windows 7 in a VM
|Ryzen 3700x|ASRock X570 Steel Legend-BIOS 2.30|2x16GB HyperX Predator PC3200@PC3600(CAS16)|ASRock RX 5700XT|2x512GB NVMe|850 WTT EVGA GQ 80+ Gold PSU|Noctua NH-D15|
Back to Top
Blacksaturn77 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 15 Aug 2019
Location: Florida
Status: Offline
Points: 13
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Blacksaturn77 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 19 Aug 2019 at 10:11am
Yeah, I would've done that but the primary reason i went ahead and built a windows7 machine is because my store bought windows 10 (or maybe it was 8.1) machine would not allow me to run some of my graphic design software on it... "for some reason".

I'm afraid of running into the same issue.
Back to Top
ThreeDee View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie
Avatar

Joined: 24 Jul 2019
Location: Billings,MT
Status: Offline
Points: 332
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote ThreeDee Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 19 Aug 2019 at 10:05am
glad to help, but I'm just a reader and pick up "stuff" here and there, lol.
|Ryzen 3700x|ASRock X570 Steel Legend-BIOS 2.30|2x16GB HyperX Predator PC3200@PC3600(CAS16)|ASRock RX 5700XT|2x512GB NVMe|850 WTT EVGA GQ 80+ Gold PSU|Noctua NH-D15|
Back to Top
ThreeDee View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie
Avatar

Joined: 24 Jul 2019
Location: Billings,MT
Status: Offline
Points: 332
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote ThreeDee Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 19 Aug 2019 at 10:05am
...for the record.. you really should use your valid Win7 key and install Windows 10 X64 v1903 (May update) to best utilize your Ryzen based setup.
|Ryzen 3700x|ASRock X570 Steel Legend-BIOS 2.30|2x16GB HyperX Predator PC3200@PC3600(CAS16)|ASRock RX 5700XT|2x512GB NVMe|850 WTT EVGA GQ 80+ Gold PSU|Noctua NH-D15|
Back to Top
Blacksaturn77 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 15 Aug 2019
Location: Florida
Status: Offline
Points: 13
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Blacksaturn77 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 19 Aug 2019 at 10:03am
Three Dee,

Good Call. Looking around and it looks like that may be the case. Was my first build and it never occurred to me that an OS would have any such limit.

SUX, but at least i know... THANKS
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  123>
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 11.06
Copyright ©2001-2018 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.063 seconds.