ASRock.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Technical Support > Intel Motherboards
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - x299 Taichi - using PCIE-4 causes crash
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

x299 Taichi - using PCIE-4 causes crash

 Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Message
horse View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 22 Aug 2019
Status: Offline
Points: 7
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote horse Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: x299 Taichi - using PCIE-4 causes crash
    Posted: 22 Aug 2019 at 10:06am
Whenever I plug anything into PCIE-4, the computer will crash a few seconds after logging in. So far this has included a 1394a card and a Slate Digital VRS8 audio interface card.

Are there any known reasons this might be happening? Happy to lay out my spec if more information is needed.
Back to Top
horse View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 22 Aug 2019
Status: Offline
Points: 7
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote horse Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 23 Aug 2019 at 1:09am
Here is my current spec: https://pcpartpicker.com/user/audiosprite/saved/#view=Gzhx6h
Back to Top
CHnuschti View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 18 Jun 2019
Status: Offline
Points: 40
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (1) Thanks(1)   Quote CHnuschti Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 23 Aug 2019 at 3:17am
There are settings in the BIOS for the PCIE Slots, set on "auto" by default, where you can choose Gen 1, 2, 3. Since PCIE 4 is a gen2 1x slot (contrary to all other which are gen3), there might be need to adjust that setting.

Back to Top
horse View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 22 Aug 2019
Status: Offline
Points: 7
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote horse Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 23 Aug 2019 at 3:18am
Thank you CHnuschti I will try adjusting this!
Back to Top
horse View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 22 Aug 2019
Status: Offline
Points: 7
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote horse Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 23 Aug 2019 at 10:49pm
Hi CHnuschti, just tried this, no luck I'm afraid. FWIW the only options were "1" and "2" for PCIE4 so I believe it is registering properly.
Back to Top
CHnuschti View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 18 Jun 2019
Status: Offline
Points: 40
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote CHnuschti Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 24 Aug 2019 at 3:27pm
I have no additional idea what the cause might be. But AFAIK a PCIE 1x card should work in any PCIE slot, regardless if it is 4x, 8x or 16x.
Did you try this in order to narrow down the reason of the problem. If those cards work there except in PCIE4 it would clarify things.
Back to Top
horse View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 22 Aug 2019
Status: Offline
Points: 7
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote horse Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 24 Aug 2019 at 10:10pm
I have tried in PCIE ports 2 thru 5, same results. My CPU has 44 lanes so they should all be functioning
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 11.06
Copyright ©2001-2018 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.063 seconds.