ASRock.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Technical Support > AMD Motherboards
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - X470D4U
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

X470D4U

 Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Message
Mino View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 24 Aug 2019
Location: France
Status: Offline
Points: 6
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Mino Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: X470D4U
    Posted: 24 Aug 2019 at 8:23pm
Hello there,

I Wanted to say I'm very disappointed with the X470D4U motherboard.
I own 3 of these, and go from problems to problems since I purchased them.

I use them with Ryzen 5 2600 processors and 2x16 GB RAM.

First i had BMC and BIOS version 1.50.
The RAM wasn't recognized well, the web GUI was unstable., there was keyboard problems when not in Qwerty mode, and clearing CMOS didn't work.

Also, one of the motherboard didn't boot at all after 2 weeks of use and had to be changed by reseller by another new one.

So I upgraded BMC to 1.60 and BIOS to 3.10 to see if things could get better.

Now this is worst.

The motherboards get stuck on "Update FRU System device" if I don't unplug my Ethernet cards (Mellanox ConnectX-3 Pro). These cards were working flawlessly before the update.
Also now when you reset the computer, this also reset the IPMI half of the time.

So all BIOS and BMC are buggy and i never saw this before on professional hardware. I already lost dozens of hours trying to make these motherboards work with pluging/unpluging components and starting/restarting and now i'm just thinking of throwing them away and buy another brand hardware.
Back to Top
Mino View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 24 Aug 2019
Location: France
Status: Offline
Points: 6
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Mino Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25 Aug 2019 at 9:39pm
Two things :

1) Each time you reboot the server, the BMC is also rebooted, so if you want for example to access the BIOS settings, you can't because the remote session is reinitialized and thus you can't press the DEL button.

This way the onyl way to access the BIOS settings is going on the server with your screen and keyboard and plug them in.

Can you tell me what is the purpose of IPMI/Remote session ?

2) I found that unchecking the "Enable inventory support" option in the BIOS let the server boot without problem. So inventory option must be disabled and is useless now.
Back to Top
Mino View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 24 Aug 2019
Location: France
Status: Offline
Points: 6
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Mino Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 26 Aug 2019 at 12:22am
As you can't edit the posts, i'll just post after these : 2 other things

1) The screens keeps blinking very fast while during POST, like at least 50 times, until the OS is really loading.

2) The hardware watchdog is disabled :
[ 478.225346] sp5100_tco: SP5100/SB800 TCO WatchDog Timer Driver
[ 478.225437] sp5100-tco sp5100-tco: Using 0xfed80b00 for watchdog MMIO address
[ 478.225462] sp5100-tco sp5100-tco: Watchdog hardware is disabled

And there is no documentation about how you enable it, and I didn't find anything parsing BIOS and IPMI menu.
Back to Top
mgittelman View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 27 Aug 2019
Status: Offline
Points: 1
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote mgittelman Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 27 Aug 2019 at 1:19pm
I'm having the exact same problem. Updated to BIOS 3.1 and BMC 1.6.

I am however able to remote in and choose my boot device manually. If I do not, I get stuck on "Update FRU System device"

Doesn't always happen though. Sometimes I reboot and everything works fine. Flakey.
Back to Top
Mino View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 24 Aug 2019
Location: France
Status: Offline
Points: 6
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Mino Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 27 Aug 2019 at 1:33pm
This motherboard is very unstable. Try disabling device inventory in BIOS, for me it works better after doing that.

And for the watchdog, i found that Linux kernel try to load sp5100_tco module but it has to load ipmi_watchdog module.
With the good module, watchdog works fine.

Also something I don't understand is on one of my card i have the choice for network interface between eth0 and eth1 with a new "bonding" menu for bond0. And I don't have these settings on the 2 other cards.
Back to Top
greentower View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 18 Nov 2019
Location: Russia
Status: Offline
Points: 1
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote greentower Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 18 Nov 2019 at 1:51pm
Originally posted by Mino Mino wrote:

Two things :

1) Each time you reboot the server, the BMC is also rebooted, so if you want for example to access the BIOS settings, you can't because the remote session is reinitialized and thus you can't press the DEL button.

This way the onyl way to access the BIOS settings is going on the server with your screen and keyboard and plug them in.

Can you tell me what is the purpose of IPMI/Remote session ?

2) I found that unchecking the "Enable inventory support" option in the BIOS let the server boot without problem. So inventory option must be disabled and is useless now.

1. I have same problems with dual reboots system and bmc (when use ACPI Shutdown or reboot, But I get postcode 33 after this or when I use shutdown or power off button, system not starts next time and next powercycling solve the problem)
2. I get from support BIOS L1.25 and BMC 1.90 but this not helps(but this solves esxi 6.7 hungs on storage initialization). After updates I clear the CMOS by remove battery and closing by it(battery) clear cmos pins.
3. I use BIOS option to Disable "Inventory support" and this solve my problems.
At now I try to return this option to Enable and I have no problem with dual (bios and bmc) reboots. Now I can't reproduce the problem.
4. My system is: Asrock X470D4u mobo, Ryzen 7 3700x, 16Gbx2 DDR4 2666 Mhz 1.2V, 2xpci-e M.2 ssd ADATA SX8200
Back to Top
zrock-vic-dum View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 10 Nov 2019
Location: New Zealand
Status: Offline
Points: 3
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote zrock-vic-dum Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 01 Dec 2019 at 9:49am
WORKAROUND!!!! X470D4U !!! UNPLUG THE MONITOR FROM THE BOARD!!!

I have had two of these mainboards and both behave in exactly the same way with regard to system hanging/freezing, loss of IPMI functionality. But I found a work-around that makes the IPMI/KVM functional.

!!!UNPLUG THE MONITOR FROM THE BOARD!!! then use the IPMI/KVM to view the console session it will function properly.

* i tried two different monitors, two different mainboards and same result. During the boot process ie before the bios screen if you are attached to the IPMI/KVM session the system will have all kinds of issues which i mention above.


BMC firmware 1.60
BIOS ver. P3.20

Back to Top
zrock-vic-dum View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 10 Nov 2019
Location: New Zealand
Status: Offline
Points: 3
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote zrock-vic-dum Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 05 Dec 2019 at 6:20am
Originally posted by zrock-vic-dum zrock-vic-dum wrote:

WORKAROUND!!!! X470D4U !!! UNPLUG THE MONITOR FROM THE BOARD!!!

I have had two of these mainboards and both behave in exactly the same way with regard to system hanging/freezing, loss of IPMI functionality. But I found a work-around that makes the IPMI/KVM functional.

!!!UNPLUG THE MONITOR FROM THE BOARD!!! then use the IPMI/KVM to view the console session it will function properly.

* i tried two different monitors, two different mainboards and same result. During the boot process ie before the bios screen if you are attached to the IPMI/KVM session the system will have all kinds of issues which i mention above.


BMC firmware 1.60
BIOS ver. P3.20



** UPDATE!

After working with asrock and providing them all the details to reproduce the fault which we discovered there was more ( their test monitor was low resolution so it did not bring out the issue).

After confirming that the resolution of the attached monitor is a factor ( higher res monitors bring out the BUG ). Asrock quickly produced and supplied me with a new BMC FW 1.94.00. This appears to have solved the problem.

So my thoughts on this mainboard and Asrock are positive. I can now say that I recommend this serverboard.
Back to Top
cx5 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 15 Sep 2017
Location: Hong Kong
Status: Offline
Points: 149
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote cx5 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 05 Dec 2019 at 3:09pm
[/QUOTE]

** UPDATE!

[/QUOTE]

WoW, great of you to reply here, hope he sees this good news.
1700XtaichiX370HISvega64CX750MOptane900P@M2ultraRISER 420x140x28>GPU>420x140x86>CPU coreV71
CMK32GX4M2B3000C15@2933,141515153252573231010444401410631661447@1.34v84ns
3266@1.55Vsoc1.12v74ns C1618193860
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 11.06
Copyright ©2001-2018 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.063 seconds.