ASRock.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Technical Support > AMD Motherboards
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - Rebooting problem with Asrock X570 Taichi
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Rebooting problem with Asrock X570 Taichi

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  123>
Author
Message
shmerl View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 23 Oct 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 216
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote shmerl Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Rebooting problem with Asrock X570 Taichi
    Posted: 05 Sep 2019 at 1:07am
I have a problem that happens during heavy load with Asrock X570 Taichi / Ryzen 9 3900X. I just updated to firmware 2.0 (microcode version is reported as 0x8701013) but I haven't tested this before, so not sure if the issue is specific to 2.0 or not.

I was trying to build Linux kernel (in Debian testing VM on Debian testing host) using 22 threads, the temperature jumped above 70簞C and it caused a reboot. I consistently reproduced it a few times.

According to AMD, max temperature for Ryzen 9 3900X is 95C. In my case it was for sure below that (somewhere between 70C and 80C). Other people also reported reboots at around 78簞C threshold or so.

Is it expected and I need a more aggressive fan profile to prevent such reboots, or something is wrong with UEFI or AGESA? Or may be something is defective (like RAM and etc.?). I'm running RAM using XMP (3600MHz/CL16). These four sticks:
http://www.gskill.com/specification/165/168/1536288991/F4-3600C16Q-32GTZKK-Specification

For the reference, I have a good cooler (Noctua NH D15 with 2 fans attached).

Some suggested, that recent AGESA updates could lower critical temperature threshold. Is that correct, or may be it's something Asrock specific? Because others said, they had no problem hitting even above 80C.
Back to Top
shmerl View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 23 Oct 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 216
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote shmerl Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 05 Sep 2019 at 2:08am
One report here suggests it could a bug in AGESA: https://github.com/groeck/k10temp/issues/12#issuecomment-528016506

Quote The recent AGESA 1.0.0.3 ABB dropped the fan temp trip to 75簞 C. At that point all fans go to 100% speed.

I have custom cooling loop on my 3900X. But if the fans don't run there is no heat exchange taking place and the cpu overtemps. There is a bug in the BIOS that disables the fan headers sporadically. That is what caused by overtemp conditions. I have since removed all fans from the motherboard headers and plugged them into a standalone fan controller. Problem solved. Still waiting on the Beta 0002 BIOS with the fixed fan header issue to make it to an official BIOS.
Back to Top
shmerl View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 23 Oct 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 216
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote shmerl Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 05 Sep 2019 at 2:14am
Correction - a bug in BIOS. But it also says, that AGESA lowered max fan speed activation to 75C.
Back to Top
shmerl View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 23 Oct 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 216
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote shmerl Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 05 Sep 2019 at 7:17am
Some suggested, UEFI could messing up thermal trip points. Just checked my setup, and I see this:


ls -1 /sys/devices/virtual/thermal/thermal_zone0/trip_point_*_temp
/sys/devices/virtual/thermal/thermal_zone0/trip_point_0_temp
/sys/devices/virtual/thermal/thermal_zone0/trip_point_1_temp
/sys/devices/virtual/thermal/thermal_zone0/trip_point_2_temp
/sys/devices/virtual/thermal/thermal_zone0/trip_point_3_temp
/sys/devices/virtual/thermal/thermal_zone0/trip_point_4_temp
/sys/devices/virtual/thermal/thermal_zone0/trip_point_5_temp
/sys/devices/virtual/thermal/thermal_zone0/trip_point_6_temp
/sys/devices/virtual/thermal/thermal_zone0/trip_point_7_temp

cat /sys/devices/virtual/thermal/thermal_zone0/trip_point_*_temp
-32768000
-32768000
-32768000
-32768000
-32768000
-32768000
-32768000
-32768000


What exactly are those values? -32768000 looks weird.

My kernel config has these:

[code]
CONFIG_ACPI_THERMAL=y
CONFIG_ACPI_THERMAL_REL=m
[code]
Back to Top
shmerl View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 23 Oct 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 216
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote shmerl Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 05 Sep 2019 at 7:42am
I just run one test. Lowered RAM frequency to auto (1866 MHz). It's not rebooting, and temperature doesn't go above 71簞C.

When I set XMP profile to 3600 MHz/CL16 - it rebooted like before, at around 72.5簞C. I'll run separate RAM tests, could be this is just some defective RAM causing it.
Back to Top
shmerl View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 23 Oct 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 216
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote shmerl Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 05 Sep 2019 at 11:39pm
Just for a test, I tried setting frequency to 3200 MHz (keeping other settings from 3600 MHz profile). It doesn't reboot.
Back to Top
shmerl View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 23 Oct 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 216
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote shmerl Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 05 Sep 2019 at 11:40pm
What the problem can be exactly, the CPU, RAM or motherboard / firmware? I.e. should I may be RMA something?
Back to Top
PC_Arcade View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 21 Aug 2019
Status: Offline
Points: 22
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote PC_Arcade Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 06 Sep 2019 at 4:08pm
How many sticks of ram do you have?
Back to Top
shmerl View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 23 Oct 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 216
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote shmerl Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 06 Sep 2019 at 10:37pm
4 sticks.
Back to Top
shmerl View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 23 Oct 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 216
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote shmerl Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 06 Sep 2019 at 10:37pm
I lowered the frequency to 3200 MHz, and it's not rebooting like I said.
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  123>
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 11.06
Copyright ©2001-2018 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.063 seconds.