ASRock.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Technical Support > AMD Motherboards
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - QC5000-ITX/PH - no post beep, no video
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

QC5000-ITX/PH - no post beep, no video

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>
Author
Message
thafiz View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 12 Nov 2015
Status: Offline
Points: 9
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote thafiz Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: QC5000-ITX/PH - no post beep, no video
    Posted: 15 Nov 2015 at 4:29am
Dear community,

when I power up my QC5000-ITX/PH, it does not beep neither does it show any Video.
What I have tried so far:
- When no RAM is inserted it beeps -> so the speaker is okay
- Different PSUs, all the same.
- Different RAMs from different Vendors (can enumerate if required).
- Tried VGA and HDMI - both send no signal.
- Reset CMOS - several times.
- Disconnected everything except PSU 
- Found similar postings, like: http://www.tomshardware.co.uk/forum/324100-31-video-beep-boot however none solved my problem.

I'd appreciate any suggestions, pretty desperate at this point since I invested quite some hours.

Thanks!
Back to Top
wardog View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 15 Jul 2015
Status: Offline
Points: 6334
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote wardog Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 15 Nov 2015 at 8:09am
Please tell us all the hardware your system now has installed.

Also, is this a new build, or one that's been running fine previously?

Meh, I was going to ask what BIOS it is flashed to but as of now there is only 1.00.
< id="kpm_plugin" ="application/x-KPMPlugin">
X370 SLI/ac(r1.03, BIOS 5.10), 1500X, H115i, F4-4133C19D-16GTZA, 970 EVO M.2 250GB + 500GB, Tt Core X9 Black

16,441 - https://www.3dmark.com/fs/13030306
Back to Top
thafiz View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 12 Nov 2015
Status: Offline
Points: 9
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote thafiz Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 15 Nov 2015 at 8:59am
Hi wardog, thanks for your reply!

Hardware:
I stripped everything, so just the RAM and the PSU.
Currently the Mainboard is installed in a box with a "LC Power" LC200SFX PSU, But I also tried a "Silver Stone" SST-ST50S-ES.
For memory I tried a mushkin 1x8GB 992074, when this did not work, I tried corsair 2x4GB CMX4GX3M1A1333C9.

This is a new build.

My guess for the BOIS version would also be 1.00, as there is a Chip with a "P1.00" sticker on it.
Back to Top
wardog View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 15 Jul 2015
Status: Offline
Points: 6334
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote wardog Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 15 Nov 2015 at 9:37am
So ...... a new build then I take it?

Or was it previously running with either stick of memory in it?

This is important to know.
< id="kpm_plugin" ="application/x-KPMPlugin">
Back to Top
thafiz View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 12 Nov 2015
Status: Offline
Points: 9
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote thafiz Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 15 Nov 2015 at 5:51pm
Yes it is a new build, and it did not run with either stick of memory.
Back to Top
Xaltar View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 16 May 2015
Status: Offline
Points: 5440
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Xaltar Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 15 Nov 2015 at 6:00pm
Neither of the RAM models you tried are listed in the supported ram list. These SoC systems tend to be a little more picky than regular systems with regards to RAM compatibility. It may well not be the problem but given it is an SoC board and the only thing you need to install to get the system to post is a PSU and a stick of RAM it is quite likely where the problem lies. If you can get your hands on some RAM off the supported RAM list then you can at least rule out memory as the issue if it does not work. At which point I would RMA the board. 
Back to Top
thafiz View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 12 Nov 2015
Status: Offline
Points: 9
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote thafiz Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 16 Nov 2015 at 7:01am

@Xaltar thanks for the hint, I was afraid I have to go for that list as a last resort. Hard to find exact matches, but in the end I ordered a KVR1333D3N9H/8G at a local online shop. 

I will let you know how it turned out.

Back to Top
thafiz View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 12 Nov 2015
Status: Offline
Points: 9
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote thafiz Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 19 Nov 2015 at 9:49pm
Thanks for waiting!

Alright, got the RAM today but the mainboard remains a mystery:
It did not post on the first try, but after some power cycles and switching memory banks, it suddenly went into post and told me "No devices found", which is what one expects when there are none attached. The strange thing is though, that it did not beep at all. So everybody who tries to get this board working: do not rely on the post beep, attach a screen!

So far so good, but that was the only time I saw the post screen :( I'm afraid when i RMA the board, the technician will turn it on, see the mystical one time post and declare the board working.

I'd appreciate any suggestions!
- What is the preferred Display? VGA, DVI or HDMI?
- Are there any other things I can try to get the board working or prove it is broken?
Back to Top
squadjot View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 04 Jan 2016
Status: Offline
Points: 5
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote squadjot Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 02 Feb 2016 at 4:51am
I'm having same issues.. no screen , no beep. Cry
I'd also like to know what the default Video out is
Back to Top
wardog View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 15 Jul 2015
Status: Offline
Points: 6334
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote wardog Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 02 Feb 2016 at 6:36am
Originally posted by squadjot squadjot wrote:

I'm having same issues.. no screen , no beep. Cry
I'd also like to know what the default Video out is


Is whatever memory you've installed considered compatible either on the ASRock QVL for this board or by the memory manufacturers 'memory finder' ?
X370 SLI/ac(r1.03, BIOS 5.10), 1500X, H115i, F4-4133C19D-16GTZA, 970 EVO M.2 250GB + 500GB, Tt Core X9 Black

16,441 - https://www.3dmark.com/fs/13030306
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 11.06
Copyright ©2001-2018 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.063 seconds.