ASRock.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Technical Support > AMD Motherboards
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - RAM Overclock fail
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

RAM Overclock fail

 Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Message
pulex View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 12 Sep 2019
Location: hungary
Status: Offline
Points: 4
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote pulex Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: RAM Overclock fail
    Posted: 12 Sep 2019 at 5:48am
Hello there!

First I would like to let you know, that aside from using MSI AB to crank up my GPU a bit, I have never done any kind of real overclocking, so I have no experience in OCing CPU or RAM. I just wanted to share this with you, so you know that I might will need a more detailed explanation as I won't understand some high level OC language :) .

Here's my issue:

I just built a new pc for myself with the following parts:

MoBo - Asrock B450M Steel Legend
CPU - AMD Ryzen 5 3600
RAM - Kingston HyperX Predator 3200MHz CL16 Single kit (HX432C16PB3/16)
GPU - Gigabyte Geforce RTX 2060 6GB Windforce OC
OS   - Windows 10 Home 64bit

Afaik the MoBo bay default supports 2400MHz RAM, but is capable of overclocking them, and if I checked the correct list, it supports the above mentioned RAM I have.

In the BIOS it even offers as the first XMP Profile to have it on 3200MHz with 16-18-18-18-36, with 1.35 voltage settings

I select the profile, save & exit from the BIOS. Windows loads up without any problem, but any kind of audio/video playback or stream starts to stutter (like Spotify, MP3 or videofile from local disk, Youtube or Twitch for example). I didn't even try to run any game for example as I assumed it would crash or have he same stutter issues.

So my questions are:
- Does the MoBo even capable to run my RAM on it's native frequency?
- If it does, what do I have to do to make it stable, and get rid of the audio/video stutter?

Thank you very much if you had the patience to read this over, and if willing to answer me.
asrock b450m steel legend
ryzen 5 3600
rtx 2060
Back to Top
cx5 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 15 Sep 2017
Location: HK
Status: Online
Points: 133
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote cx5 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 12 Sep 2019 at 3:48pm
Hello @pulex,

have you installed all the necessary drivers? Ryzen Power Plan "balanced" especially important to tell Windows 10 how to use those many cores and threads.

1700XtaichiX370HISvega64CX750MOptane900PwaterGPU-CPU420x140x76TTcoreV71
CMK32GX4M2B3000C15@2933,14151515325257321010444403272011410631661447@1.34v
uefi5.67 last pcie4
1.4vsoc1.05v3133
1.51vsoc1.1v3200
Back to Top
pulex View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 12 Sep 2019
Location: hungary
Status: Offline
Points: 4
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote pulex Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 12 Sep 2019 at 11:25pm
Yes, I installed all the drivers but that did not help. But I found the solution which was pretty simple: I just had to update my BIOS to the latest 2.70 version, and now the RAM runs perfectly on 3200MHz.

So, problem solved, next time I will start with the BIOS update before asking :)

Thx!
asrock b450m steel legend
ryzen 5 3600
rtx 2060
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 11.06
Copyright ©2001-2018 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.063 seconds.