ASRock.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Technical Support > AMD Motherboards
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - downgrade bios version
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

downgrade bios version

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>
Author
Message
lazosv9 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 15 Oct 2019
Location: greece
Status: Offline
Points: 9
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote lazosv9 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: downgrade bios version
    Posted: 15 Oct 2019 at 3:54am
hello.When I bought the motherboard(asrock fatality b450 gaming k4) i had problems with the memory at 3200mhz.so i update bios version directly to p3.50. I think my problem is that i didn't upgrade to p1.80 first and the to p3.50.So now im on p3.50 bios version.峇here is some way to downgrade in p1.80???
Back to Top
Ray62 View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie
Avatar

Joined: 01 Jul 2018
Location: Germany, Berlin
Status: Offline
Points: 706
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Ray62 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 15 Oct 2019 at 6:03am
Which bios version did the board use before?
What CPU and RAM are you using?
Which problems do you have now?
For a Zen or Zen+ CPU Version 1.80 (AMD AGESA AM_Pi_1.0.0.6.) should be the finest.

Downgrade is possible, but not with the standard way...
Asrock Fatal1ty X370 Professional Gaming Offline
Under test:
MSI X570_MEG_ACE | AMD Ryzen 9 3900X | Scythe Mugen5 | 2x16GB F4-3200C14D-32GTZ@3466 | ASUS GeForce GTX 1080 Ti FE
Back to Top
Ray62 View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie
Avatar

Joined: 01 Jul 2018
Location: Germany, Berlin
Status: Offline
Points: 706
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Ray62 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 15 Oct 2019 at 6:10am
There is a way for a downgrade of the bios with the Asrock windows flash tool.
Watch this video (it is for another AM4 board, but just for understanding the procedure it doesn't matter):
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ybj3XkteX9k&feature=youtu.be

Without guarantee:
The flash tool can update/downgrade several boards and must be configured
- with changes in the ini file for your board and current bios version
- and with the bios image you want to downgrade

Folder structure:

\AfuWin
\ROM
\ROM\ASRock.ROM <- must be replaced with the destination bios image
ASROM.exe
ASROM.ini

Ini File:

[ROM]
Path=ROM
File=ASRock.ROM

[B450 Gaming K4]
BiosVersion=P3.50

The tool, here for X470_Gaming K4:
http://asrock.pc.cdn.bitgravity.com/BIOS/AM4/X470%20Gaming%20K4(1.90)WIN.zip

Do you dare to proceed this way?

If not, contact Asrock support or the user JZ (or _JZ) or here https://www.jzelectronic.de/jz2/index.php
Asrock Fatal1ty X370 Professional Gaming Offline
Under test:
MSI X570_MEG_ACE | AMD Ryzen 9 3900X | Scythe Mugen5 | 2x16GB F4-3200C14D-32GTZ@3466 | ASUS GeForce GTX 1080 Ti FE
Back to Top
lazosv9 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 15 Oct 2019
Location: greece
Status: Offline
Points: 9
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote lazosv9 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 15 Oct 2019 at 1:39pm
I think the board it had the p1.30 or p1.50 at the very first.i have issues when i set my memory to 3200mhz.its working but after some time i have bsod
Back to Top
lazosv9 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 15 Oct 2019
Location: greece
Status: Offline
Points: 9
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote lazosv9 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 15 Oct 2019 at 1:49pm
Ray62 i think the file in description on video dont have for b450 boards.where i can find this flash tool?
Back to Top
Ray62 View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie
Avatar

Joined: 01 Jul 2018
Location: Germany, Berlin
Status: Offline
Points: 706
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Ray62 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 15 Oct 2019 at 1:53pm
So again, what CPU and RAM are you using?

Setting the memory clock by just using the XMP profile isn't working properly in the most cases. And it depends on which CPU generation and which RAM you are using.

Easy try:
Increasing the DRAM voltage with 3200MHz from 1.35V to 1.36..1.38V may help to get stability (for example, for the RAM in my signature i must use 1.37V).

More complex try:
Use the Ryzen DRAM Calculator and it's documentation and howto's and get more knowledge for DRAM configuration.
Asrock Fatal1ty X370 Professional Gaming Offline
Under test:
MSI X570_MEG_ACE | AMD Ryzen 9 3900X | Scythe Mugen5 | 2x16GB F4-3200C14D-32GTZ@3466 | ASUS GeForce GTX 1080 Ti FE
Back to Top
Ray62 View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie
Avatar

Joined: 01 Jul 2018
Location: Germany, Berlin
Status: Offline
Points: 706
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Ray62 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 15 Oct 2019 at 2:06pm
Originally posted by lazosv9 lazosv9 wrote:

Ray62 i think the file in description on video dont have for b450 boards.where i can find this flash tool?

As i already posted: The video just shows the procedure which you have to understand! It's the same for all boards.

I already posted the link to one flash tool.
I don't know a link for your specific board and bios.
The tool itself is always the same for each board, but you have to modify the ini file and the ROM image according to your board and bios version.

Anyway, if this is to complicated for you, don't do it this way.

Ask the Asrock support for a downgrade tool for your board.
Asrock Fatal1ty X370 Professional Gaming Offline
Under test:
MSI X570_MEG_ACE | AMD Ryzen 9 3900X | Scythe Mugen5 | 2x16GB F4-3200C14D-32GTZ@3466 | ASUS GeForce GTX 1080 Ti FE
Back to Top
lazosv9 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 15 Oct 2019
Location: greece
Status: Offline
Points: 9
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote lazosv9 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 15 Oct 2019 at 2:19pm
Ray62 ohh sorry.i have ryzen 5 2600x and corsair vengeance lpx 16gb 3200mhz.i have already try to increase voltages(soc voltage and dram voltage)but is still the same.the dram calculator is not for me.too difficult
Back to Top
Ray62 View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie
Avatar

Joined: 01 Jul 2018
Location: Germany, Berlin
Status: Offline
Points: 706
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Ray62 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 15 Oct 2019 at 2:46pm
You also can lower the DRAM frequency. Just try it one frequency step lower.

Keep the SOC voltage on default, just increase the DRAM voltage a bit.

If the DRAM calculator is too difficult, you anyway should use the Thaiphoon burner to read out the config data of your ram and post it here.



Asrock Fatal1ty X370 Professional Gaming Offline
Under test:
MSI X570_MEG_ACE | AMD Ryzen 9 3900X | Scythe Mugen5 | 2x16GB F4-3200C14D-32GTZ@3466 | ASUS GeForce GTX 1080 Ti FE
Back to Top
lazosv9 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 15 Oct 2019
Location: greece
Status: Offline
Points: 9
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote lazosv9 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 15 Oct 2019 at 2:52pm
Now im using 2933mhz stable.ok ill post it later the data but i think the problem is on the bios version.i really miss to upgrade first to 1.80 version and then to 3.50
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 11.06
Copyright ©2001-2018 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.047 seconds.