ASRock.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Technical Support > AMD Motherboards
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - Asrock fatal1ty Raid Setup
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Asrock fatal1ty Raid Setup

 Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Message
devshal View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 05 Nov 2019
Location: Macedonia
Status: Offline
Points: 5
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote devshal Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Asrock fatal1ty Raid Setup
    Posted: 05 Nov 2019 at 10:21pm
Hi,

I've been trying to setup my disks with raid but run into a problem. I have 2 identical hitachi 500gb HDDs, and one Kingston 250gb SSD.
I've enabled raid into storage options, and created new raid array with the 2 hitachi, saved settings but in the boot options I cannot see my SSD disk which already has an operating system. I played with the SCM settings also but it did not do any good. Anyone has any idea how to setup this 3rd disk to boot.

Thanks.

I will include exact MB and firmware in my next post (need to restart).
Back to Top
devshal View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 05 Nov 2019
Location: Macedonia
Status: Offline
Points: 5
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote devshal Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 05 Nov 2019 at 10:33pm
MB is X470 Gaming K4 P3.50

Now I see when I enable the raid option that the ssd disk is listed as legacy, but when I select the scm option legacy only I cannot see the raid setup menu.

Probably I need to format the SSD from and it will appear in the boot list. I really didn't wanted to do this. Is this the only option?
Back to Top
Ray62 View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie
Avatar

Joined: 01 Jul 2018
Location: Germany, Berlin
Status: Offline
Points: 706
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Ray62 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 06 Nov 2019 at 6:02am
The best option is to forget this mainboard RAID feature (in my opinion).
Even if it will function, your RAID will only work with this mainboard and moving it to another system will be impossible (in the most cases).

If you want RAID, use pure SW for it, completetely mainboard independent. The onboard RAID anyway is nothing else as a SW RAID, but with a complete unnecessary mainboard/bios dependency.

Here is a discussion (also boot SSD, 2xHD as RAIDx) with the same problems:
https://linustechtips.com/main/topic/782604-raid-on-ryzen/
Asrock Fatal1ty X370 Professional Gaming Offline
Under test:
MSI X570_MEG_ACE | AMD Ryzen 9 3900X | Scythe Mugen5 | 2x16GB F4-3200C14D-32GTZ@3466 | ASUS GeForce GTX 1080 Ti FE
Back to Top
devshal View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 05 Nov 2019
Location: Macedonia
Status: Offline
Points: 5
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote devshal Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 06 Nov 2019 at 6:27am
Thanks for your response. I'll think about it, I don't like the overhead processing that will be used for the sw raid, but then again I don't store files that often on those disks.
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 11.06
Copyright ©2001-2018 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.078 seconds.