ASRock.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Technical Support > AMD Motherboards
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - Fatal1ty 990FX - Registered ECC!! Help
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Fatal1ty 990FX - Registered ECC!! Help

 Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Message
xdrone View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 20 Nov 2015
Status: Offline
Points: 4
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote xdrone Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Fatal1ty 990FX - Registered ECC!! Help
    Posted: 20 Nov 2015 at 11:22pm
Have 32GB of Registered ECC - M393B1K70DH0 CK0 Samsung 8GB DDR3 1600MHz, instead of wasting it I would like to make use of it. I have seen a post it says as follows:

32GB 4X8GB RAM Memory for ASRock Motherboards 990FX Extreme4, Fatal1ty 990FX Professional, 990FX Extreme9 DDR3 ECC Registered RDIMM 240pin PC3-12800 1600MHz Black Diamond Memory Module Upgrade.

The Product Post

Could you please tell me if its compatible, as the specification on ASRock gives no clue as to the compatibility. Here the specs:

990FX Extreme4

Fatal1ty 990FX Professional

990FX Extreme9

Oh, in addition to those this one article struck me from 08/07/2012 the article can be found here:

The Article

Can I use the memory M393B1K70DH0 with DDR3 motherboards, are the AMD processor compatible???



Edited by xdrone - 21 Nov 2015 at 12:12am
Back to Top
ASRock Expert View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 04 Oct 2015
Location: Croatia
Status: Offline
Points: 220
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote ASRock Expert Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 21 Nov 2015 at 6:45pm
I don't know if it would work, but if it works, no ECC would be functional.

Or maybe ASRock TSD thinks different, but IMO, for ECC You need an Opteron.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_AMD_Opteron_microprocessors#3200-.2C_4200-_.26_6200-series_Opterons
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_AMD_Opteron_microprocessors#3300-.2C_4300-_.26_6300-series_Opterons
990FX Extreme 9 MOD P1.70
AMD FX 8120 4GHz 1.25V
Thermalright HR-02
Patriot Viper 2x4GB 2133MHz
Samsung 850 EVO 250GB
MSI R7970 TFIII 3GB
CORSAIR VX550W
LanCool K62 Dragonlord
ASUS Xonar D2X
Back to Top
wardog View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 15 Jul 2015
Status: Offline
Points: 6333
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote wardog Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 21 Nov 2015 at 7:39pm
Originally posted by ASRock Expert ASRock Expert wrote:

Or maybe ASRock TSD thinks different, but IMO, for ECC You need an Opteron.

I'm with ASRock Expert here. I'm thinking you'd need a server class Opteron.

I don't believe an FX-xxxx series will even boot if it sees ECC mem slotted in.
Back to Top
xdrone View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 20 Nov 2015
Status: Offline
Points: 4
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote xdrone Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 26 Nov 2015 at 3:18am
ASRock Staff should be able to answer this question for persons seem to have this config. I have seen it on couple blogs. Can anyone say for sure if it works through testing?


Edited by xdrone - 26 Nov 2015 at 4:38am
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 11.06
Copyright ©2001-2018 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.078 seconds.