ASRock.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Technical Support > Intel Motherboards
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - No video for C226M WS motherboard
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

No video for C226M WS motherboard

 Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Message
jcriswell View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 22 Nov 2015
Location: Dallas, TX
Status: Offline
Points: 14
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote jcriswell Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: No video for C226M WS motherboard
    Posted: 22 Nov 2015 at 5:18am
I purchased a C226M WS motherboard recently and I cannot get the video to come on.  Here is my configuration:

Motherboard:  ASRock C226M WS Micro ATX Server Motherboard LGA 1150 DDR3 1600/1333
CPU:  Intel Xeon E3-1220V3 Haswell 3.1GHz 8MB L3 Cache LGA 1150 80W Server Processor BX80646E31220V3
Memory:  Crucial 16GB (2 x 8GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM ECC Unbuffered DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800) Server Memory Model CT2KIT102472BD160B

BIOS:  1.2

Any suggestions will be greatly appreciated.
Back to Top
Xaltar View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 16 May 2015
Status: Offline
Points: 5784
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Xaltar Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 22 Nov 2015 at 5:28am
If you are trying to use the "onboard" display outputs then there is your problem. The onboard ports only work if the CPU has integrated graphics which the Xeon E3 1220v3 does not. You will need a discrete GPU with that configuration or alternatively a Xeon E3 1226v3 which does have integrated graphics. Any E3 Xeon ending with a "0" does not have integrated graphics where E3s ending in 5 or 6 do.

Sorry to be the bearer of bad news. On the upside, no display in this instance does not mean anything is broken ;) 
Back to Top
jcriswell View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 22 Nov 2015
Location: Dallas, TX
Status: Offline
Points: 14
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote jcriswell Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 22 Nov 2015 at 5:34am
Wow.  Thanks for the rapid reply.  I failed to mention I am trying to connect the VGA port to a VGA monitor only to see the POST screens etc..  Is a discrete GPU necessary for that?
Back to Top
Xaltar View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 16 May 2015
Status: Offline
Points: 5784
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Xaltar Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 22 Nov 2015 at 5:36am
Yes, you need a GPU to display anything on the monitor be it integrated into the cpu or mothebord or a discrete GPU. The ports on the board are not connected to anything in the case of a CPU without integrated graphics. In essence your current system has no graphics card installed.

I moved your original post to the correct section and deleted the duplicate.


Edited by Xaltar - 22 Nov 2015 at 5:39am
Back to Top
jcriswell View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 22 Nov 2015
Location: Dallas, TX
Status: Offline
Points: 14
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote jcriswell Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 22 Nov 2015 at 5:51am
Thank you for the wonderful response.  I went to the Intel website to confirm your information.  You are 100% correct.  The Xeon E3-1220V3 has no graphics.


Back to Top
jcriswell View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 22 Nov 2015
Location: Dallas, TX
Status: Offline
Points: 14
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote jcriswell Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 22 Nov 2015 at 11:08am
Went out and purchased a low end video card.  Now I have video!  I feel a little foolish.  I knew some Intel processors do not have integrated graphics.  I didn't know how to determine which ones don't without reading the fine print.  Now I know.  Great support!  Thanks a lot.
Back to Top
Xaltar View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 16 May 2015
Status: Offline
Points: 5784
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Xaltar Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 22 Nov 2015 at 2:38pm
You're welcome. The Xeons can be a little confusing with their naming conventions.
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 11.06
Copyright ©2001-2018 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.078 seconds.