ASRock.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Technical Support > AMD Motherboards
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - Error code E6 with X370 Taichi and R5 1600
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Error code E6 with X370 Taichi and R5 1600

 Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Message
Polopretress View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 17 Mar 2020
Location: France
Status: Offline
Points: 4
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Polopretress Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Error code E6 with X370 Taichi and R5 1600
    Posted: 17 Mar 2020 at 10:11pm
Hello.
I have bought a motherboard X370 Taichi and a R7 2700 CPU.
At the power on, i have a permanent error code E6.

Then i think it is because the BIOS revision is not compatible and need to be updated to at least revision 4.60 or 4.80
i have revision 2.40 sticked on the board.

OK fine... but was aware on this possible issue.

The i have ordered a new CPU box R5 1600 to be able to update de BIOS.(and take great care to avoid to order R5 1600 AF)

Result : same error code.(E6)

After checking the part number on the box itself, i see :
"AMD Ryzen 5 1600"
"Part #: YD1600BBAFBOX

Then by referering to the AMD website, i see that this part is really a R5 1600 AF.

Do you confirm that even the R5 1600 AF is not suitable with BIOS revision 2.40 and this is the root cause of my code error E6 ?

Thank you.
Back to Top
Xaltar View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 16 May 2015
Status: Offline
Points: 5658
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Xaltar Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 Mar 2020 at 10:18pm
That is correct, the 1600AF is actually a 2600 rebranded and clocked slightly
lower. That is one of the annoying aspects of the 1600AF, it's no good for the purpose
of updating your BIOS in situations like yours

Edited by Xaltar - 17 Mar 2020 at 10:18pm
Back to Top
Polopretress View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 17 Mar 2020
Location: France
Status: Offline
Points: 4
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Polopretress Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 Mar 2020 at 10:34pm
ok, thank you for your quick answer.

This makes me crazy !
I have baught a 1600 to unlock and i return with the same issue.
I must send back the CPu and ask for an Ryzen 3 1200 to be on safe side...

Do you have other cheaper solution ?
Back to Top
Xaltar View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 16 May 2015
Status: Offline
Points: 5658
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Xaltar Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 18 Mar 2020 at 3:32pm
Unfortunately no, looking at CPUs supported on 2.40 and earlier the options are
rather limited. I don't see any of the old AM4 A6 - A12 APUs/Athlons listed anymore
so I wouldn't recommend one of those, you may end up in the same situation again
needing another CPU.

If it were not for current quarantine/health concerns I would suggest taking the
board to a store that offers repairs and asking them to update the BIOS for you.
In many cases they charge a lot less than the cost of a CPU.
Back to Top
gizmic View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie
Avatar

Joined: 13 Jun 2018
Location: Hong Kong
Status: Offline
Points: 646
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote gizmic Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 18 Mar 2020 at 4:22pm
dont know how the bios reads it as we know the cores are zen+ while the i/o die is a zen1
Back to Top
Xaltar View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 16 May 2015
Status: Offline
Points: 5658
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Xaltar Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 18 Mar 2020 at 8:04pm
The BIOS sees it as Zen+ unfortunately, the 1600AF that is.
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 11.06
Copyright ©2001-2018 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.047 seconds.