ASRock.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Technical Support > HTPC&Gaming Barebone&Others
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - deskmini a300 boot problem
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

deskmini a300 boot problem

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  123>
Author
Message Reverse Sort Order
xesy View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 08 Aug 2019
Status: Offline
Points: 1
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote xesy Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: deskmini a300 boot problem
    Posted: 27 Oct 2020 at 12:19pm
Originally posted by djax djax wrote:


I saw that JZ offers newest beta BIOS, but as how he can have/compile newer BIOS than Asrock, I stayed on the safe side.



Bios is compiled by Asrock but they can not offer it officialy with renoir support - amd will be angry, so they released it via their eu distributor. That's how business in todays world works, buy more and more new sh*t every year and as manufacturer pay extra duty

Back to Top
djax View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 24 Oct 2020
Status: Offline
Points: 3
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote djax Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 26 Oct 2020 at 9:29pm
Hi Serj47,

I had issues with the BIOS v3.6 that came from the factory.

I upgrade it with the BIOS v3.6K that is in BETA on [URL=https://www.asrock.com/nettop/amd/deskmini%20a300%20series/index.asp#BIOS]Asrock A300 Bios web page[/URL].

I saw that JZ offers newest beta BIOS, but as how he can have/compile newer BIOS than Asrock, I stayed on the safe side.

Best regards,
djax
Back to Top
Serj47 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 03 Oct 2020
Status: Offline
Points: 12
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Serj47 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 26 Oct 2020 at 5:54pm
I have BIOS 3.60K and linux mint installed, and I have never experienced any problems with loading. Which BIOS version does the system fail to boot with?

The only problem that bothers me is errors when loading the kernel, "AMD-Vi: Unable to read / write to IOMMU perf counter"
I enabled iommu = on and amd_iommu = on in the kernel boot parameters, and virtualization in the BIOS, but that didn't help ..
1.Advanced - AMD CBS - nbio common options - nb configuration - IOMMU Enable
2.Advanced - North bridge configuration - SR IOV Enable
3.Advanced - CPU config - SRVmode Enable

cpu = Athlon 200GE
Back to Top
djax View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 24 Oct 2020
Status: Offline
Points: 3
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote djax Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25 Oct 2020 at 7:41am
Thank you.
I unplugged the cables,
cleared the CMOS,
removed the nvme drive,
put keyboard and power
updated the BIOS to the 3.60K,
unplugged the power,
put back the nvme drive,
plugged back the cables,
start, restart
and it WORKS!!!


Have a nice day
Back to Top
Digitalkaese View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 28 Jul 2020
Status: Offline
Points: 3
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (1) Thanks(1)   Quote Digitalkaese Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 24 Oct 2020 at 1:53pm
After certain Grub updates on Linux Mint 19 I also experienced the black screen you are describing. Rolling back this Grub update fixed the issue but of course this cannot be your solution. Since I have flashed Beta BIOS 3.60K the problem is gone for months, it has never occurred again. Also the Grub Update was possible without any issues.
I recommend to use the latest Asrock Beta BIOS 3.60K as it fixes several issues including yours.
My machine: A300, 2400G, 3.60K, 2*16GB Kingston, 2*NVME Samsung Drives
Back to Top
djax View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 24 Oct 2020
Status: Offline
Points: 3
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote djax Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 24 Oct 2020 at 7:43am
Hello,

I have the same problem. I have installed the last Ubuntu 20.10, but after the restart, the screen stays black. I clear the CMOS and a normal boot occurs, but the screen stays black again after the reboot.
My config:
MB: AS300W with the 3.6 BIOS
APU: AMD Ryzen 5 3400G
RAM: 2x16 GB Corsair Vengeance
Storage: 1x Crucial P1 (CT1000P1SSD8)

Does a beta version of the BIOS fix the issue?

Best regards,
djax

Back to Top
J Z View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: 09 Sep 2016
Location: Germany
Status: Offline
Points: 871
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote J Z Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 29 Jul 2020 at 5:37pm
New BIOS online with me :)
Kind Regards,
JZ

https://shop.JZelectronic.de - Der Shop mit ausgesuchter ASRock Profi Hardware

https://www.facebook.com/asrock.de
Back to Top
J Z View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: 09 Sep 2016
Location: Germany
Status: Offline
Points: 871
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote J Z Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 28 Jul 2020 at 4:59pm
No JZ recommendation for the 3.60L, too many BUGs I noticed.

A new BIOS with AGESA V2 1002 will come.
Kind Regards,
JZ

https://shop.JZelectronic.de - Der Shop mit ausgesuchter ASRock Profi Hardware

https://www.facebook.com/asrock.de
Back to Top
Digitalkaese View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 28 Jul 2020
Status: Offline
Points: 3
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Digitalkaese Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 28 Jul 2020 at 3:52pm
Hello J Z,
Have recognised that you have created a new BETA BIOS P3.60L thanks for that.
But I must say that I am not brave enough to flash it, I would prefer official downloads from Asrock. Do not want to brick my A300.
Has anyone else tested it?
Does this support 4700g already?
Thanks
Back to Top
J Z View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: 09 Sep 2016
Location: Germany
Status: Offline
Points: 871
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote J Z Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 23 Jul 2020 at 3:00pm
Hello,

have a new BIOS which solves the problems

https://shop.jzelectronic.de/news.php?sw=AM4&kat=Bios
Kind Regards,
JZ

https://shop.JZelectronic.de - Der Shop mit ausgesuchter ASRock Profi Hardware

https://www.facebook.com/asrock.de
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  123>
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 11.06
Copyright ©2001-2018 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.047 seconds.