ASRock.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Technical Support > HTPC&Gaming Barebone&Others
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - deskmini a300 boot problem
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

deskmini a300 boot problem

 Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Message
michischo View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 25 Mar 2020
Status: Offline
Points: 5
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote michischo Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: deskmini a300 boot problem
    Posted: 25 Mar 2020 at 11:09pm
I have just set up my new a300 (outfitted with an athlon 200GE, 8 gb ram, sata-ssd) and installed windows 10 home. the system came up fine (at first) and i started the windows update process to install the latest updates. I had to do several reboots and after one of those, the system did not come back. All that appeared on the screen was a dotted circled, singalling an ongoing process going on, after a while even that disappeard and the screen went black. The system did not shut down, obviously it was hanging at some point before booting into windows.
I can restart and enter the uefi-setup, but i can't find anything useful to change there. I tried to reboot into my windows setup-stick and to reinstall the OS, but it won't boot from the stick as well.
I tried to find a solution in the forum. I found a hint at a possible problem with the used memory slot, so i flipped the ram to the other slot, but that did not change a thing.
Some people have reported problems with the video-configuration, some similar issues seemingly could be addressed by resetting the CMOS, but I am unsure as to what to try next.
current bios is ver. 3.5
thankful for any hint...
Back to Top
ASRock_TSD View Drop Down
ASRock_Official
ASRock_Official


Joined: 20 Mar 2015
Status: Offline
Points: 2329
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote ASRock_TSD Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 27 Mar 2020 at 10:22am
Dear Michischo,

Thank you for choosing ASRock.

Regarding your case, we provide some suggestion to try.
1. Clear CMOS to load BIOS default.
2. Update to the latest BIOS.
http://www.asrock.com/nettop/AMD/DeskMini%20A300%20Series/index.asp#BIOS
3. Re-install a clean OS and install the latest driver from ASRock site.

Thank you!
Yours truly,
ASRock TSD
Back to Top
michischo View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 25 Mar 2020
Status: Offline
Points: 5
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote michischo Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 27 Mar 2020 at 7:38pm
Following a hint from Asrock-Support, I detached the disks and was able to boot to bios (uefi). Turned out that one of the two sata disks i had installed was bad. After tearing that disk out (it was a preused one, installed in sata 2) the system came back.
Nevertheless i updated the Bios, everything continued to work fine.

However, after adding another spare (preused) disk to sata 2, that disk also failed after a short time. Again, the system is fine after removal of that disk. Like the disk before, the drive is no longer accessible on another system.

This makes me wonder whether maybe the A300 killed both disks. Has anybody had similar problems? Right now, i am using just one disk in sata 1.
Back to Top
ASRock_TSD View Drop Down
ASRock_Official
ASRock_Official


Joined: 20 Mar 2015
Status: Offline
Points: 2329
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote ASRock_TSD Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 hours 22 minutes ago at 7:44pm
Dear Michischo,

Regarding your case, please help to check if the problem relates to SATA port or SATA cable.
If possible, please change another SSD to try.

Thank you!
Yours truly,
ASRock TSD
Back to Top
michischo View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 25 Mar 2020
Status: Offline
Points: 5
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote michischo Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 16 hours 47 minutes ago at 8:19pm
The system is running fine with just one ssd being installed on sata 1 port. I have checked that ssd with both sata cables provided and had also hooked it up to the other port; it was functioning fine with either cable and port.
therefore i don't think that the cable is the problem. If the problem does not relate to the hdd-s having been used and worn-out before, it might be that the system is "overwhelmed" when 2 drives are connected. Perhaps the power needs of the additional are too much?
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 11.06
Copyright ©2001-2018 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.063 seconds.