ASRock.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Technical Support > AMD Motherboards
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - Slow Boot on New Build
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Slow Boot on New Build

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>
Author
Message
Brucex64 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 23 Apr 2020
Location: Mississippi, US
Status: Offline
Points: 20
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Brucex64 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Slow Boot on New Build
    Posted: 23 Apr 2020 at 1:31pm
I'm new here as my first time with an ASRock board. I just completed my new build which is a Ryzen 5 2600 on a B450M Pro4 motherboard with 8gb of ram.

One issue that I notice is different than my last Intel board is that it takes a long time to boot up. It did this when I first booted with nothing but a BIOS - I had a clean unformatted NVME drive to start. Once I installed windows 10, nothing changed. I timed it. It takes around 39 seconds from power on to the windows log in screen. Its about 18 seconds to get to the ASRock screen, and then it sits there for 10 I think, and then goes to the windows logo.

This seems quite long. Selecting "ultra fast boot" in the UEFI does not make a difference. I've updated the B450 chipset drivers. I could not find a newer BIOS so I think I have the latest. How can I speed it up?
Back to Top
Xaltar View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 16 May 2015
Location: Europe
Status: Offline
Points: 5885
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Xaltar Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 23 Apr 2020 at 3:54pm
Please share your full specs, including RAM model and what you are running it at.
Back to Top
Brucex64 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 23 Apr 2020
Location: Mississippi, US
Status: Offline
Points: 20
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Brucex64 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 23 Apr 2020 at 4:09pm
CPU: Ryzen 5 2600
Board: ASRock B450M Pro 4; Bios version P3.90 running at stock settings, no overclocking
Ram: G.Skill Aegis 8gb kit (2x4gb) DDR4 2400 in slots A2 & B2
Video: GeForce GT640 (an old one, this carried over from my prior system)
System drive: Samsung 970 EVO Plus, NVME; Windows 10 Build 1909
Date drive: Seagate Firecuda 2TB
Back to Top
Xaltar View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 16 May 2015
Location: Europe
Status: Offline
Points: 5885
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Xaltar Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 23 Apr 2020 at 9:44pm
It sounds like the system isn't liking your RAM, long post times (time before the
ASRock logo shows up) tend to be because of memory training. Your RAM is Aegis, intel
specced RAM. The AMD equivalent (from GSkill) is Fortis. If it's working and not
giving you issues you are lucky, a lot of people had no luck trying to get Aegis
to work on AM4 at all. You can try using Ryzen Calcualator and manually setting
your timings for your RAM, that may help speed up boot times.

That said, it won't hurt anything, the system is just taking a bit longer to puzzle
out working timings and settings for your RAM on each cold boot. We had a lot of
complaints on the forums about POST failures to do with Aegis RAM a while back as
it was the cheapest RAM you could get when RAM prices were high. First gen Ryzen
didn't like it at all.
Back to Top
datonyb View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 11 Apr 2017
Location: London U.K.
Status: Offline
Points: 2062
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote datonyb Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 23 Apr 2020 at 10:56pm
id have to agree with xaltar

it really does sound like the memory training for boot is struggling

my wife is using this board with a 1600 AF (so technically a 2600)

*when* she boots it (as she usually leaves it on 24/7) it whips thru boot in a swift manner
bios version 3.9
ram = crucial ballistix 2x8gb 3200 cl16 (set at simple bios selected xmp timings

one thing im wondering though

the gpu .........
gt640 is that a uefi bios card ?
i thought it was still on legacy ?
[url=https://valid.x86.fr/jpg250][/url]

3800X, powercolor reddevil vega64, gskill tridentz3866, taichix370, evga750watt gold
Back to Top
Brucex64 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 23 Apr 2020
Location: Mississippi, US
Status: Offline
Points: 20
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Brucex64 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 24 Apr 2020 at 1:31am
Originally posted by Xaltar Xaltar wrote:

It sounds like the system isn't liking your RAM, long post times (time before the
ASRock logo shows up) tend to be because of memory training. Your RAM is Aegis, intel
specced RAM. The AMD equivalent (from GSkill) is Fortis. If it's working and not
giving you issues you are lucky, a lot of people had no luck trying to get Aegis
to work on AM4 at all. You can try using Ryzen Calcualator and manually setting
your timings for your RAM, that may help speed up boot times.

That said, it won't hurt anything, the system is just taking a bit longer to puzzle
out working timings and settings for your RAM on each cold boot. We had a lot of
complaints on the forums about POST failures to do with Aegis RAM a while back as
it was the cheapest RAM you could get when RAM prices were high. First gen Ryzen
didn't like it at all.


I looked at the Ryzen Calculator. It has a box for frequency, but the drop down list starts at 2666. Mine is 2400. So how would I use the calculator? Would I select 2666?

If this ram is not the best for AMD, would I be able to exchange it? I bought it from Newegg.
Back to Top
datonyb View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 11 Apr 2017
Location: London U.K.
Status: Offline
Points: 2062
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote datonyb Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 24 Apr 2020 at 1:36am
does it not display when you click R-xmp

then select safe and enter the 2400 mhz but timings from SAFE 2666 (into your bios)

that should be ok

Edited by datonyb - 24 Apr 2020 at 1:36am
[url=https://valid.x86.fr/jpg250][/url]

3800X, powercolor reddevil vega64, gskill tridentz3866, taichix370, evga750watt gold
Back to Top
Brucex64 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 23 Apr 2020
Location: Mississippi, US
Status: Offline
Points: 20
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Brucex64 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 24 Apr 2020 at 2:30am
Nope, when I click XMP its the same. Actually there is no XMP profile that I can load in the bios.

So I chose the lowest freq from the list - 2666 - and calculated safe. After entering those #s in the bios, its still the same.

Does it matter that the ram is in the 2nd slot (A2/B2) and not the first?
Back to Top
Brucex64 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 23 Apr 2020
Location: Mississippi, US
Status: Offline
Points: 20
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Brucex64 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 24 Apr 2020 at 2:33am
Originally posted by datonyb datonyb wrote:



one thing im wondering though

the gpu .........
gt640 is that a uefi bios card ?
i thought it was still on legacy ?


Not sure what you mean. Its a PCI-E graphics card.
Back to Top
datonyb View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 11 Apr 2017
Location: London U.K.
Status: Offline
Points: 2062
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote datonyb Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 24 Apr 2020 at 2:58am
THE BIOS FOR THE GRAPHICS CARD LATER IS UEFI EARLY IS LEGACY BIOS
[url=https://valid.x86.fr/jpg250][/url]

3800X, powercolor reddevil vega64, gskill tridentz3866, taichix370, evga750watt gold
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 11.06
Copyright ©2001-2018 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.125 seconds.