ASRock.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Technical Support > AMD Motherboards
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - A300, 3200G, Crucial P1 NVMe, AX200 does not work
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

A300, 3200G, Crucial P1 NVMe, AX200 does not work

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  123>
Author
Message
roadi View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 24 Apr 2020
Location: Germany
Status: Offline
Points: 13
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote roadi Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: A300, 3200G, Crucial P1 NVMe, AX200 does not work
    Posted: 24 Apr 2020 at 8:44pm
Hi,


I have strange problems getting it all work together:
- A300, Ryzen 3 3200G
- Intel WLAN AX200 M.2 (AX200.NGWG.NV)
- Crucial P1 with latest Firmware (3D NAND, NVMe, PCIe, M.2)
- SanDisk SSD 1TB
- WIN10 64Bit (on P1)
- Bios V3.60

By powering up the system it hangs.
There's no way to get into the BIOS

But: when I change the connector the P1 is using e.g.
from upper side to bottom side, I can enter to the BIOS and boot my WIN10
And there are no errors inside Windows and the crucial Tool told me that everything is working fine and there are no P1 SMART issues recognized.

Putting it back to the initial upperside M.2 place nothing works.
Finally I noticed that it will also work when I remove the battery plug.

Is my configuration not supported
or is there a specific BIOS configuration required to use that crucial P1 ?

That P1 behavior is surprising. I would expect any BIOS POST error.
But nothing happens ... not even a bios 'beep' ... The systems hangs completely.

Any Ideas are really welcome


--
roadi
Back to Top
roadi View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 24 Apr 2020
Location: Germany
Status: Offline
Points: 13
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote roadi Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25 Apr 2020 at 3:41am
... several tests have figured out that also ...

- Every external plugable usb device swap results afterwards in a reboot issue.
- I had to wait with a longer power off/disconnect for a successful reboot
- It seems with a dosconnected battery i got less reboot issues

After removing that crucial P1 M.2 device everything seems to work fine again.

A look at the small Module Support List of "Ultra M.2_SSD (NGFF)" on
https://www.asrock.com/nettop/AMD/DeskMini%20A300%20Series/index.asp#Storage
makes clear that I can't use every common actual NVMe device on the market.

ASROCK Team: Please can you make an update here.
Could that "crucial P1" device be the boot issue to my Deskmini A300 ?
How can I prove that my A300 Device has no hardware issue ?

Any ideas to that behavior ?
Back to Top
roadi View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 24 Apr 2020
Location: Germany
Status: Offline
Points: 13
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote roadi Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25 Apr 2020 at 3:45am
a CMOS reset does also not help here
Back to Top
Reset View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 13 Jan 2020
Status: Offline
Points: 36
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Reset Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25 Apr 2020 at 7:44pm
This looks like a faulty SSD. Or the wrong M2 slot. Not every NVMe is suitable for every port on the motherboard. But you can find this in the manual.
Sometimes it is also so, that if a NVMe is installed, some SATA port can not be used anymore .

To find errors I would suggest to install only the absolutely necessary. And only if this runs perfectly, install the rest.
Back to Top
Reset View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 13 Jan 2020
Status: Offline
Points: 36
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Reset Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25 Apr 2020 at 7:45pm
Du kannst mich auch in Deutsch anschreiben! ;-)

Gru?
Back to Top
roadi View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 24 Apr 2020
Location: Germany
Status: Offline
Points: 13
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote roadi Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25 Apr 2020 at 8:52pm
Originally posted by Reset Reset wrote:

This looks like a faulty SSD. Or the wrong M2 slot. Not every NVMe is suitable for every port on the motherboard. But you can find this in the manual.
Sometimes it is also so, that if a NVMe is installed, some SATA port can not be used anymore .

To find errors I would suggest to install only the absolutely necessary. And only if this runs perfectly, install the rest.



HI,


thanks for your hints.

This issue appears also when I use the A300 board with the crucial P1 as single storage device and without the AX200 WLAN Module.

I would expect that I could never boot from my P1 if it would be faulty.

The problem exist only at boot time during bios post.
Coming over the bios post procedure means that the following boot process works like a charm.


In the manual I can't recognize any mix constraints for SATA SSD and PCIe SSD.
But that crucial P1 ist not listed in the support List. That makes me nervous

I can also not figure out that my P1 has restricted usage to M2_1 or M2_2
Back to Top
roadi View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 24 Apr 2020
Location: Germany
Status: Offline
Points: 13
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote roadi Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 26 Apr 2020 at 12:16am
just got an IcyBox IB-1817M-C31.

My crucial P1 works well on the external USB-C on my A300
that should speed up to 640 MB/s (got only 390MB/s read)

So I think I have no faulty device
Back to Top
roadi View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 24 Apr 2020
Location: Germany
Status: Offline
Points: 13
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote roadi Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 26 Apr 2020 at 2:43am
Hi,


I still want to clarify if
- my Deskmini A300 is faulty regarding M2_1/M2_2 slots
- my crucial P1 is not supported
- bios v3.60 has a bug

Any ideas especially from ASRock   
instead of buying an official supported PCIe device


--
greets
roadi
Back to Top
xecuter View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 23 May 2020
Status: Offline
Points: 9
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote xecuter Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 23 May 2020 at 10:47pm
Hi, habe das selbe Problem.
Als erstes dachte ich die NVME Crucial P1 sei defekt und habe diese per RMA eingeschickt. (Bei R羹ckgabe f羹r eine Gutschrift kam die NVME leider auch an mich zur羹ck gesendet;((( ) Die Ersatzkarte hatte den selben Effekt. Sogar das komplette A300 Board habe ich per RMA eingeschickt. Hilft alles nichts.

Ich habe beide M.2 Slots probiert. Auch einzelnd. (Alternativ habe ich eine intel 660p)
Laut Crucial sei diese NVME 100% kompatibel mit dem A300.
Asrock vermutete ein Problem mit dem PCIE Lanes. (Hardware-Problem am MainboarD)

Das ganze rumge瓣rgere habe ich leider nun bereits schon seit VOR Ostern...
Batterie raus, CMOS gel繹scht, RAM einzelnd probiert. Hab ich was vergessen? Habe ich auch gemacht!

Also entweder l羹gt Crucial, w瓣hrend deren Support meinte ich soll ein Tool auf Windows installieren. Allerdings habe ich kein Windows und mit eingesteckter Crucial NVME kommt beim Systemstart kein Bild (auf keinem der 3) und selbst Num-Lock funktioniert gar nicht. (Was ich bei meiner Problem-Mail auch erw瓣hnt habe):

Ich habe es bisher noch nie so sehr bereut eine Festplatte zu kaufen :(
Also entweder ist die CPU besch瓣digt, (Phoronix fand keine Fehler) Oder diese NVME ist inkompatibel. Ich kann mir auch nicht vorstellen, dass bei falscher BIOS Konfiguration ein System gar nicht erst startet, weil eine Festplatte nicht richtig funktioniert. {Was ich mir sehr wohl bei RAM/MB/CPU vorstellen kann.} Um mindestens ins BIOS zu kommen.

Ich wei? wirklich nicht weiter und ich habe ehrlich gesagt keine Lust mehr, weil ich mein ganzes Budget in das A300 gesteckt habe, um von einem fast 10 Jahre alten Notebook wegzukommen um wenigstens 羹bliche Desktop-Spielerein tun zu k繹nnen .... ;(((
Back to Top
roadi View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 24 Apr 2020
Location: Germany
Status: Offline
Points: 13
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote roadi Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 24 May 2020 at 4:39pm
good to know that I'm not the only one here with that problem ...
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  123>
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 11.06
Copyright ©2001-2018 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.066 seconds.