ASRock.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Technical Support > Intel Motherboards
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - Ram not working with XMP profile info inside
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Ram not working with XMP profile info inside

 Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Message Reverse Sort Order
Xaltar View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 16 May 2015
Status: Offline
Points: 5749
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Xaltar Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Ram not working with XMP profile info inside
    Posted: 03 Jun 2020 at 3:30pm
You can try enabling XMP then manually setting the RAM frequency to, lets say
2666 then save and exit and see if that boots for you. If it boots and is stable,
run something like Cinebench R20 to get a quick gauge, then go back into the BIOS
and bump the frequency up one tier until you can't get it to POST anymore then go
back down to the last frequency that POSTed.

There are ways to try and manually tune the RAM and try to get the 3200 (and beyond)
to work but you will need some patience and a good guide. The process is rather
involved. My above suggestion is a quick fix that will get you better performance
than 2133 at the very least.

Edited by Xaltar - 03 Jun 2020 at 3:32pm
Back to Top
RLGL View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie
Avatar

Joined: 29 Jul 2018
Location: MN
Status: Offline
Points: 328
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote RLGL Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 03 Jun 2020 at 8:22am
the ram does not seem to appear on the QVL. You may have to manually set it and also a tweak or two. Or get ram that is on the list.
Asrock Z370 Gaming K6,Intel i7 8700K,
Asrock x570 Taichi

Back to Top
Entropyie View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 03 Jun 2020
Status: Offline
Points: 3
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Entropyie Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 03 Jun 2020 at 4:55am
I have a question about my ram.

I have G.Skill DDR4 Ripjaws-V 2x16GB 3200Mhz - [F4-3200C16D-32GVK] but whenever I i try to use the xmp profile my pc wont booth forcing me to keep it running at default speed (2100 something mhz)

Any idea how to fix this?



My spec:

CPU: i6700k (running at stock at the moment)

Ram: G.Skill DDR4 Ripjaws-V 2x16GB 3200Mhz - [F4-3200C16D-32GVK]

GPU: RTX2080 super

Mobo: AsRock z270 Killer SLI (latest bios v2.30)
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 11.06
Copyright ©2001-2018 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.063 seconds.