ASRock.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Technical Support > AMD Motherboards
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - No bios post at 75Hz
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

No bios post at 75Hz

 Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Message
Squiggley View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 03 Jun 2020
Location: Edinburgh
Status: Offline
Points: 4
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Squiggley Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: No bios post at 75Hz
    Posted: 03 Jun 2020 at 6:18pm
Hi All,

   It has been at over 7 years since I last built a machine and a lot has changed since then! I have just built a machine with these specs:

CPU - AMD Ryzen 5 3400G Processor (4C/8T, 6 MB cache, 4.2 GHz Max Boost) with Radeon RX Vega 11 Graphics
Gfx - Gigabyte Radeon RX 5600 XT Gaming OC 6GB GDDR6 Graphics Card
Motherboard - Asrock X470 Master SLI
PSU - Thermaltake TPG-0750F-R 750W Toughpower Grand RGB 750W 80Plus Gold PC- power adapter
Memory - G.Skill DIMM 16GB DDR4-3200 Kit, RAM
Case - SaharaGaming C500B ATX Black Tempered Glasses gaming case
Monitors - 3 x dell se2717h

My monitors are all connected with a display port to hdmi adapter and work just fine. However I cannot access the bios on these monitors. I believe this is because they only run at 75hz and the bios can only handle 60hz.

I have flashed the bios with the latest version. I have been able to get into the bios by connecting a very very old monitor to it. This does not work as a final solution for me as I am dual booting windows 10 and ubuntu but as I cannot access anything until the graphic drivers kickin I cannot see the boot menu.

Does anyone know if there is a solution to this? Or do I need to return the motherboard and get a different make or model?

Thanks
Back to Top
cx5 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 15 Sep 2017
Location: Hong Kong
Status: Offline
Points: 211
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote cx5 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 05 Jun 2020 at 10:46am
Hello Squiggley,

I think the priority has gone to build-in GPU from the 3400G APU.

So if you want to display from your powerful 5600XT, then must set bios graphics priority to PCIE-1 I think, or something like that.

In fact I could not help myself but to recommend you sell the 3400G APU away and buy a pure CPU only without build in GPU, for around same price I think the new Ryzen 3300x or up $20 for Ryzen 3600,

because you have such a nice 5600XT dedicated GPU

To match the 5600XT it to 3400G is a waste of either build in GPU or the 5600XT.
3800x Taichi_X370 CX750M Sapphire 5700 pulse PoseidonAbsoluteZero3 Barrow PWM-17w>CPU>420x140x28 TT_core_V71
ram = 4x8gb HOF4CXLBS3600K17LD162C
Back to Top
Squiggley View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 03 Jun 2020
Location: Edinburgh
Status: Offline
Points: 4
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Squiggley Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 05 Jun 2020 at 3:29pm
Hey cx5 thanks for the response

Originally posted by cx5 cx5 wrote:



I think the priority has gone to build-in GPU from the 3400G APU.

So if you want to display from your powerful 5600XT, then must set bios graphics priority to PCIE-1 I think, or something like that.

In fact I could not help myself but to recommend you sell the 3400G APU away and buy a pure CPU only without build in GPU, for around same price I think the new Ryzen 3300x or up $20 for Ryzen 3600,

because you have such a nice 5600XT dedicated GPU

To match the 5600XT it to 3400G is a waste of either build in GPU or the 5600XT.


Just checked the bios and the onboard gfx card is disabled so surely it cannot be that? Also on the 5600XT if I connect the ancient monitor to display port 3 then I can access the bios no bother so it seems to me the old monitor does 60Hz and the new ones only 75Hz..... that seems to be a crux of the problem to me or am I missing something?

As for selling my CPU, things have changed so much since I last built a PC and I haven't gamed for probably over 10 years. It never entered my head I was duplicating resources which now that I think about it was a waste of money..... However would it actually worth selling my CPU second hand and buying another one, wouldn't I just lose more money because the CPU is second hand?

Thanks again for replying

Squiggley
Back to Top
cx5 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 15 Sep 2017
Location: Hong Kong
Status: Offline
Points: 211
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote cx5 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 05 Jun 2020 at 9:35pm
Squiggleyåš—?as you said the gfx is disabled in bios, hence no bios display. This is prove priority has gone to 3400G APU output motherboard HDMI, not the Gigabyte.

I presume if you connect the monitor directly to motherboard's HDMI output then you can see bios, right? have you tried it?

I don't understand "My monitors are all connected with a display port to hdmi adapter and work just fine." so I presume, 3 dell monitors, all using a HDMI convertor to display port then connect to 5600XT, right? If yes, again this to me proves that no bios appear because bios gave priority to 3400G APU.



On 2nd hand sales.

I'm in Hong Kong and noticed parts with official receipts and original box with long warranty periods, i.e 2 years 9 months warranty sells for 90% of new price. Sites like carousell, dcfever are very useful and active trades.

If you won't be gaming much, i.e. just gaming very seldom, then try the performance of the 3400G alone without 5600XT, if it does the job then sell off the 5600XT instead, less hassle to remove CPU.

Many says 2x8GB 3200Mhz tight timing will be a very good start for 3400G's build in GPU. The faster the better.
3800x Taichi_X370 CX750M Sapphire 5700 pulse PoseidonAbsoluteZero3 Barrow PWM-17w>CPU>420x140x28 TT_core_V71
ram = 4x8gb HOF4CXLBS3600K17LD162C
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 11.06
Copyright ©2001-2018 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.094 seconds.