ASRock.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Technical Support > AMD Motherboards
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - AM4 BIOS info
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

AM4 BIOS info

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <1234>
Author
Message
AbsorbingUnderwear View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 24 Aug 2020
Location: Netherlands
Status: Offline
Points: 2
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote AbsorbingUnderwear Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 24 Aug 2020 at 12:51am
Board model: X370 Taichi
BIOS version: P5.60 (latest Summit Ridge support)
CPU: Ryzen 7 1800X (3.6-4.0Ghz)
RAM: G.Skill Flare X 3200Mhz 32Gb (2x F4-3200C14D-16GFX)

Notes:
User Interface

CPU Fan 1 Setting - CPU Fan 1 Temp Source shows "Monitor M/B" and "Monitor CPU, however this should be "Monitor Tctrl" and "Monitor CPU"

Personally I do not trust the fan control at all and not sure what the fans react to

Bios upgrade performed nominal + flushed all previous settings.
Re-flash did not solve the issue.

Workaround:
- Set "Monitor CPU" manually to be safe
- Use Asrock Tuning Utility to set fan profiles

The rest of the build seems to run stable with CPU 3.6-4.0Ghz (AMD CBS + Manual both stable) and 32Gb of RAM running at a stable 3200Ghz which is as promised capabilities, however it does require some minor sanitized settings.
It would be nice to finally see a fully bugless BIOS for the X370 Taichi flagship after those years. Someone at Asrock Support promised once LOL

Apart from that CPU cooling control UI bug this build did not give me a single BSOD and performed as intended in my case, however the bug around cooling control murders all the other success.

Can't wait to see the Glory BIOS for the X370 Taichi

Roland
Back to Top
Jasonwsc View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 24 Aug 2020
Status: Offline
Points: 1
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Jasonwsc Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 24 Aug 2020 at 10:49am
Board model: B450 Steel Legend
BIOS version: 3.40
CPU: Ryzen 5 3600
RAM: 2x8GB Crucial Ballistix DDR4-3600 BL2K8G36C16U4W

Notes:

XMP does not work, period. The PC will fail to boot and the fans will run at full speed. I have to force it to shut down by holding the power button.

Turning the PC on again, the computer will try to train the memory 3 times before failing and setting the RAM speeds back to 2666MHz.


Downgrading back to 3.20 allows the XMP to work, but I get WHEA correctable errors in Windows.

A corrected hardware error has occurred.

Reported by component: Processor Core
Error Source: Unknown Error Source
Error Type: Bus/Interconnect Error
Processor APIC ID: 0

The details view of this entry contains further information.

Lowering speeds to 3200 seems to remove all WHEA errors.
Back to Top
Bob423 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 15 Aug 2020
Status: Offline
Points: 1
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Bob423 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 27 Aug 2020 at 8:08pm
Board model:ASRock X570 Phantom Gaming 4
BIOS version:3.10
CPU:Ryzen 3600
RAM:Corsair CMK32GX4M2B3200C16 (2x16GB in A2/B2)

Notes: Would not stay at 3200, kept defaulting back to 2130. Used XMP settings, still defaulted back to 2130 after a long boot cycle

Solution: Ran Ryzen RAM Calculator and manually entered settings recommended: 16-18-18-18-36 at 1.36v. XMP recommended the same timings but a lower voltage at 1.35v. That added 0.01v made all the difference. It's been stable now for the last month and it boots to the Win10 screen in 21 seconds (with default settings).
Back to Top
nickyl3 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 02 Jan 2020
Status: Offline
Points: 2
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote nickyl3 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 03 Sep 2020 at 5:10pm
Board model:ASRock b450m pro4
BIOS version:4.30     
CPU:Ryzen 3600
RAM: Ballistix Sport LT Grau BLS2K8G4D30AESBK 16GB DDR4 Kit RAM

On 4.30 and 4.20 unstable at any ram configuration, including XMP. Reverted to version 3.90 with ram set at 3800cl16
Back to Top
Asr0cker View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 04 Sep 2020
Status: Offline
Points: 2
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (1) Thanks(1)   Quote Asr0cker Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 04 Sep 2020 at 5:17am
I had the same Problem with my Steel Legend B550m. After Bios update to 1.20 the old ram timings for 3800 didnē¹”t work.
Have you tried to set the procodt to 43.6, CAD to 60/20/20/24?
With this settings my pc is running at 3800 now.
Back to Top
AngryAdm!n View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 26 Aug 2020
Location: Denmark
Status: Offline
Points: 12
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote AngryAdm!n Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 07 Sep 2020 at 9:08am
Board model: x570 Phantom Gaming X
BIOS version: 3.40
CPU: Ryzen 7 3800X
RAM: 4x M378A1K43CB2-CTD

Problem 1:
I obtained the board 5 days ago with BIOS 1.70. I was unable to install windows. Would restart at "configuring devices 86%" and restart. After that, Windows would continue to just loop restart and never install.

I noticed SB_Temp in BIOS was 71C so I turned the board of and let it sit for a while. Started up after 2-3 hours to find SB_temp 70C in BIOS once again... The SB_Fan running at 4k RPM. Concluding this must be a BIOS error I update to 3.40.

I go into BIOS and try to find my SB_temp. Gone, vanished? (Does Asrock not want to people to know their product is poorly designed at runs way too hot at SB? It appears so) Now, I am stubborn. I try to install Windows, same problem as before.

install linux and check the sensors temp. Guess what I find in an idle Linux... 71C SB_Temp... SB_fan running at 4k RPM.

I read on the net that the Wi-Fi chip is buggy and windows won't work with it enabled.

Honestly, im baffled that such an expensive board has so many issues..

How do I get my purchased wifi to work with Windows and how do I get the SB_temp down from 71C? All other x570 boards run significantly lower... I am unwilling to invest in watercooling for a chipset that should have had adequate cooling solution on!

If I didnt run Linux and virtualized Windows with GPU passthrough I would never have gotten this board to work!
Back to Top
ThreeDee View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie
Avatar

Joined: 24 Jul 2019
Location: Billings,MT
Status: Offline
Points: 540
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote ThreeDee Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 07 Sep 2020 at 9:58am
Board model:ASRock X570 Steel Legend
BIOS version:3.00
CPU:Ryzen 3700x
RAM:Hynix Chipped HyperX Predators 3200mhz CAS 16 (2x16GB in A2/B2)

Notes: Previous BIOS 2.80 had errors, missing settings and I could only do XMP (3200mhz) or defaults of 2400mhz. BIOS 2.60 I could run my RAM at 3800mhz CAS 18 1.41v. Now, with BIOS 3.00, I can run the same settings I was running with BIOS 2.60.
Solution: With 3.00, whatever was buggered in 2.80 is now fixed
|Ryzen 3700x|ASRock X570 Taichi-BIOS 3.40|2x16GB HyperX Predator PC3200@PC3600(CAS16)1:1 IF|ASRock RX 5700XT|2 x PCIe 4.0 M.2 Drives for OS & Games|850 WTT EVGA GQ 80+ Gold PSU|Noctua NH-D15|
Back to Top
Reset View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 13 Jan 2020
Status: Offline
Points: 48
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Reset Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 07 Sep 2020 at 5:18pm
Board model: X370 Pro 4
BIOS version: 6.40
CPU: Ryzen 3 2200G
RAM: 2 x 8 GB G.Skill F4-3200C16-8GVKB (XMP 2.0)


Notes: The APU can be adjusted better, PCIe SSD runs faster
Back to Top
wino View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 30 Sep 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 55
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote wino Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 07 Sep 2020 at 7:57pm
Board model: Fatal1ty AB350 Gaming-ITX/ac
BIOS version: 6.60
CPU: Ryzen 5 1600
RAM: G.Skill Flare X 16 GB 3200MHz CL14 (F4-3200C14D-16GFX)

Notes: system boots up on XMP without issues. Using the Ryzen DRAM Calculator everything now seems to be fine at 3400 MHz SAFE settings (14-14-15-14-30). Earlier I had Partiot Viper Elite DDR4 2x8GB 3200MHz (PVE416G320C6KGY) on some strange Patriot chips, they didn't worked on XMP, only on 3000 MHz 14-16-16-16. G.Skill TridentZ 16GB (2x8GB) DDR4 3600MHz CL15 (F43600C15D16GTZ) bought a week ago didn't want to boot up at any configuration except 2133 MHz. I replaced them with Flare X and I am incredibly happy :)
| AB350 Gaming-ITX/ac 6.60 BIOS | Ryzen 5 1600 | G.Skill Flare X 2x8GB @ 3400 14-14-14-28 | Zotac GTX 1050 Ti | Samsung 960 EVO 250 GB M.2 | SilentiumPC Supremo M2 Gold 550W V2 |
Back to Top
A Computer Guy View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 25 Nov 2019
Status: Offline
Points: 10
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote A Computer Guy Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 10 Sep 2020 at 9:37pm
Board model: X470 Master SLI/ac
BIOS version: P4.20
CPU: Ryzen 9 3950x
RAM: Crucial 16GB DDR4 SDRAM ECC Unbuffered DDR4 2666 (PC4 21300) CT16G4WFD8266

- The newer P4.10 & P4.20 versions of UEFI have lost multiple menu items including those for memory configuration. I think they were located in the CBS menu.

Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <1234>
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 11.06
Copyright ©2001-2018 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.064 seconds.