ASRock.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Media&User's Review > Networking Products
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - Asrock G10 Issues
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Asrock G10 Issues

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>
Author
Message Reverse Sort Order
eghuff View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 08 May 2016
Status: Offline
Points: 27
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote eghuff Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Asrock G10 Issues
    Posted: 08 May 2016 at 12:17am
My G10 fails to reconnect to the WAN when it is rebooted unless I power cycle the G10.  This makes the self healing feature not useful.  I'm connected to a Cisco Docsys 3 cable modem supplied by Charter as a part of their Charter Spectrum 60 Mbps service.  Is this issue common?  Any idea how to fix it?
Back to Top
ASRock_TSD View Drop Down
ASRock_Official
ASRock_Official


Joined: 20 Mar 2015
Status: Offline
Points: 2440
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote ASRock_TSD Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11 Jan 2016 at 11:29am
We have provided a test FW and try to fix the issue. Please inform us if you still have issue.
Back to Top
wardog View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 15 Jul 2015
Status: Offline
Points: 6336
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote wardog Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 02 Jan 2016 at 5:19pm
Back to Top
wardog View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 15 Jul 2015
Status: Offline
Points: 6336
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote wardog Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 02 Jan 2016 at 5:17pm
Originally posted by slosspit slosspit wrote:

Ipv6 setting is disabled in the router and has been disabled since owning the g10, and time Warner in my area has not moved to Ipv6.


Just checking as I noticed the reference to IPv6 in that log snippet you posted.
Back to Top
slosspit View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 30 Dec 2015
Status: Offline
Points: 8
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote slosspit Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 02 Jan 2016 at 2:27pm
Ipv6 setting is disabled in the router and has been disabled since owning the g10, and time Warner in my area has not moved to Ipv6.
Back to Top
wardog View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 15 Jul 2015
Status: Offline
Points: 6336
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote wardog Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 02 Jan 2016 at 1:50pm
ASRock_TSD, in the latest firmware is IPv6 set to On as the Default?
Nothing here. Move on!

16,441 - https://www.3dmark.com/fs/13030306
Back to Top
wardog View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 15 Jul 2015
Status: Offline
Points: 6336
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote wardog Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 02 Jan 2016 at 1:17pm
Is IPv6 enabled in the firmware? If it is, disable it unless your ISP tags IPv6.
Nothing here. Move on!

16,441 - https://www.3dmark.com/fs/13030306
Back to Top
slosspit View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 30 Dec 2015
Status: Offline
Points: 8
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote slosspit Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 02 Jan 2016 at 11:14am
restored to factory (thats twice now) still have same issue.  Gaming boost off, hard wired in with xbox one. when light goes orange i get this in my system log

Jan  1 11:28:00 (none) daemon.info dnsmasq[12934]: started, version 2.72 cachesize 150

Jan  1 11:28:00 (none) daemon.info dnsmasq[12934]: compile time options: IPv6 GNU-getopt no-DBus no-i18n no-IDN DHCP no-DHCPv6 no-Lua TFTP no-conntrack ipset auth no-DNSSEC loop-detect

Jan  1 11:28:00 (none) daemon.info dnsmasq[12934]: reading /etc/resolv.conf


after 10 seconds of orange like all is good but i get kicked out of the game i was playing.  Really tired of getting dropped going to go back to the asus ac66u at least i know i wont get dropped.  Am really sad i love asrock products i run their motherboards in all my rigs, i should have waited to buy this or bought the second gen of this product.  

Its all yours wardog "ibangedyourwifi" , my neighbors love it, they are always asking who's house has that ssid lol, i just say; i know right who would do something like that lol  

Back to Top
wardog View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 15 Jul 2015
Status: Offline
Points: 6336
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote wardog Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 01 Jan 2016 at 4:11am
BTW, love it.

ibangedyourwifi

I'm gonna borrow that. Here's hoping you don't live near me :)
Back to Top
wardog View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 15 Jul 2015
Status: Offline
Points: 6336
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote wardog Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 31 Dec 2015 at 4:28pm
Originally posted by ASRock_TSD ASRock_TSD wrote:

After update the latest firmware, please restore to factory default. Please follow the Q&A "How to restore to factory default settings? "as below link.
http://www.asrock.com/networking/G10/QA.html


Yea. Didn't think of this one. We do it to our motherboards prior to and again immediately after flashing a BIOS update.


Yesterday I received the RT-AC68R. Wouldn't you know it. Out of the box the power brick is bad. eBay to the rescue I have one showing up here today, along with the R6300 and some other self-gfited Christmas goodies.

ASUS wanted $49.00USD delivered for a power supply to this router that cost $180.00! Unbelievable... Makes me wonder if they charge $28.00 for a Support CD or $20.00 for the box it came in. Phew was I upset.

NewEgg. Not much better. Send it back for replacement. At my cost and time of course.


What ever happened to cross-shipping? I have no problem with a merchant placing a "Hold' on my card to enable cross-shipping. Somewhere sometime merchants have apparently ceased the practice. Admittedly, it's been a long long while since I've received defective electronics that cross-ship was needed, but still ......... c'mon folks.
Nothing here. Move on!

16,441 - https://www.3dmark.com/fs/13030306
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 11.06
Copyright ©2001-2018 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.078 seconds.