ASRock.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Technical Support > AMD Motherboards
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - ASRock K7S41GX issues
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

ASRock K7S41GX issues

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>
Author
Message Reverse Sort Order
Xaltar View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 16 May 2015
Status: Offline
Points: 5279
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Xaltar Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: ASRock K7S41GX issues
    Posted: 27 May 2015 at 1:54pm
If this is the same board from your competition entry the entire board needs to be cleaned. I noted caked dust on your RAM slots as well as other areas. The only way to clean a motherboard relatively safely is to use an old toothbrush and isopropyl alcohol and gently scrub the contact points with the alcohol. You have to be careful however as the bristles on toothbrushes are nylon and can conduct static so be sure to use an antistatic wrist strap and avoid scrubbing any of the boards ICs. As for the burned pin the best you can do with that is to use a thin flat head screw driver and scrape off the charring from the pin then use isopropyl alcohol to scrub out the blackening in the plastic and surrounding pin. The odds are however that the burned pin caused permanent damage to the board. I assume when you say power input socket you are referring to the 20pin power connector from the power supply to the board. If the CPU socket itself is damaged the board is toast, as parsec said, repairs like this, while possible in a professional electronics service center are too costly to perform to be viable and even with replaced components it is likely that there is further damage to the board.

As for the overheating issues you must be sure that you have installed the cooler correctly. The Socket A CPUs do not have a heatspreader on the die so your cooler makes direct contact with the core. One of the common mistakes made with these CPUs in their day was to use too MUCH thermal compound. People would read about using X amount of thermal paste and not realize that that amount was designed for an intel CPU with a heatspreader. For the socket A CPU you actually want to apply as little thermal compound as possible. The layer should be near transparent. Also be sure there are no scratches or machining marks on your CPU cooler, this will severely decrease cooling performance on a Socket A system. 
Back to Top
parsec View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 04 May 2015
Location: USA
Status: Offline
Points: 5000
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote parsec Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 26 May 2015 at 11:55pm
Originally posted by johnliu johnliu wrote:

One of the hole and the pin inside in the power input socket on this board is darkened. 
What would it affect?
How to repair it myself?


The automatic shutdown of a PC due to high temperatures is caused either by the CPU itself shutting down from its own over temperature protection, or a mother board detecting an over temperature situation which also shuts off the PC.

Both of these safety features should not be ignored or set to higher temperatures, even if that was possible. Every processor type has its own temperature limits. If some processors have higher maximum temperatures, that does not mean they all do, or that we can assign higher maximum shut off temperatures to any processor.

When you said power input socket, you mean the CPU socket itself, right? If any of the holes for the CPU pins is darkened, that means there was burning and heat damage from a very high VCore voltage or high processor temperature.

There are several possible affects of this happening. The CPU pin contact in the hole is probably damaged, and if that pin provides power to the processor, it either won't provide as much power, or won't provide any power at all. If that pin is a data connection of some kind, it might cause the processor to not work correctly, or not work at all.

The only thing you can do is try to clean that connection, but other parts of it you can't see are probably damaged. You can't replace connections in a CPU socket, or replace the socket yourself. A soldering iron is not used to build mother boards, all soldering is done with special machines.

It would be hard to find a place that could replace the CPU socket, which may not even be possible. If it could be done, the price for the fix would be almost as much as buying the board.


Back to Top
johnliu View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 05 May 2015
Status: Offline
Points: 29
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote johnliu Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 21 May 2015 at 12:44pm
One of the hole and the pin inside in the power input socket on this board is darkened. 
What would it affect?
How to repair it myself?
Back to Top
johnliu View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 05 May 2015
Status: Offline
Points: 29
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote johnliu Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 16 May 2015 at 11:25am
The PCI modem/sound card/TV card also has the some problem on it.  I have to re-install them for about 10-20 times before it can recognize them.
What is the problem?
How to check the problem on the board?
How can I repair it myself? I got soldering iron+capacitors+multi-meter.
Back to Top
johnliu View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 05 May 2015
Status: Offline
Points: 29
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote johnliu Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 16 May 2015 at 11:23am
I also has another problem with it. 
Once the 2 x 512MB DDR400 RAM are removed, I have to re-install both of them for about 30 times before it can recognize all of them.
Even if one of the RAM works, after I re-install another not recognized RAM, then removed the not recognized RAM, the RAM that was work also fail to be recognized. Then computer bee, bee, bee after switching on with black screen since it thinks that no RAM is installed.
What is the problem?
How can I check the problem on the board?
How can I repair it myself? I got soldering iron+capacitors+multi-meter.
Back to Top
johnliu View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 05 May 2015
Status: Offline
Points: 29
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote johnliu Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 16 May 2015 at 11:11am
Thanks for your advice, I have already brought the largest heat sink in the shopping mall when I bought this PC many years ago. I also has a large Pentium 4 heat sink but it doesn't fit on socket A.
This board's auto protection temperature is about 80C, if I remember it correctly. I found it by checking the CPU temperature in the HWMonitor software. Once it raise to this temperature, it will shut down automatically.
I have also install a case fan trying to lower the temperature.
I found that it would be better to open the case cover during operation. However, I don't like the case cover always be opened.
Back to Top
Edwin View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 27 Apr 2015
Status: Offline
Points: 20
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Edwin Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 15 May 2015 at 11:14am
Heat issue from CPU!!! K7 CPU is famously HOT, the problem you had is all related to it, get a better cooler if you canSmile
Back to Top
johnliu View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 05 May 2015
Status: Offline
Points: 29
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote johnliu Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 15 May 2015 at 9:51am
I found that the temperature of the CPU is very high and it often trigger a relatively low temperature protection function of the board which cause it to be switched off automatically. Is there any way to modify the protection temperature or make my CPU cooler?
Back to Top
johnliu View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 05 May 2015
Status: Offline
Points: 29
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote johnliu Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 15 May 2015 at 9:48am
What is the fastest CPU that this board can support?
Back to Top
johnliu View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 05 May 2015
Status: Offline
Points: 29
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote johnliu Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 05 May 2015 at 12:10pm
This system will shut down automatically after using a period of time. 
How could I fix it and what is the cause?
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 11.06
Copyright ©2001-2018 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.062 seconds.