ASRock.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Technical Support > Intel Motherboards
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - SkyOC WINS!
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

SkyOC WINS!

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>
Author
Message
t3hoz View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 10 Jan 2016
Status: Offline
Points: 7
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote t3hoz Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: SkyOC WINS!
    Posted: 10 Jan 2016 at 5:29am
Hello,

I've just bought an Z170 extreme4 board with an 6400 cpu and 8GB crucial ram 2400mhz.
I really dont know what iam doing wrong or why it aint working.

I updated the bios to the latest version 2.4.
Changed the BLCK to 125 set memory profile, profile_1 wich is 2400mhz everything else stock.
Save&exit > no boot

I shutdown the system press it on again it boots but in some sort of safe mode so i can enter the bios and change the values. I noticed the system target memory speed is set to 3000 why?

Ive tried different voltages/blck clocks but always somehow the memory speeds seems to end up higher then the value i put it on. Do i miss something? i think the system fails because of the ram speed.

Anyone?




Edited by Xaltar - 11 Jan 2016 at 4:00pm
Back to Top
Xaltar View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 16 May 2015
Status: Offline
Points: 5791
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (1) Thanks(1)   Quote Xaltar Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 10 Jan 2016 at 5:54am
You need BIOS version 2.43 beta which can be found here if you are using a Z170 Extreme4. It is under the Beta Zone section on your product page.
Back to Top
t3hoz View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 10 Jan 2016
Status: Offline
Points: 7
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote t3hoz Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 10 Jan 2016 at 5:54am
Tried even a BLCK of 103 and it didnt boot...
Memory can be overclocked as i just tried, 2600mhz is no problem at all but once the blck is touched > no boot, so it cannot be a memory problem.
Back to Top
t3hoz View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 10 Jan 2016
Status: Offline
Points: 7
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote t3hoz Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 10 Jan 2016 at 5:56am
Originally posted by Xaltar Xaltar wrote:

You need BIOS version 2.43 beta which can be found here if you are using a Z170 Extreme4. It is under the Beta Zone section on your product page.


OMG i feel so dumb now, thanks!! going to try it now.
Back to Top
t3hoz View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 10 Jan 2016
Status: Offline
Points: 7
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote t3hoz Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 10 Jan 2016 at 6:21am
Originally posted by Xaltar Xaltar wrote:

You need BIOS version 2.43 beta which can be found here if you are using a Z170 Extreme4. It is under the Beta Zone section on your product page.

It worked! 4.5Ghz with an 6400!
Back to Top
Xaltar View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 16 May 2015
Status: Offline
Points: 5791
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Xaltar Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 10 Jan 2016 at 6:25am
Congratz Thumbs Up

Enjoy your shiny new overclocked system Cool

And CPUz Validation link or it didn't happen Tongue


Edited by Xaltar - 10 Jan 2016 at 6:26am
Back to Top
parsec View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 04 May 2015
Location: USA
Status: Offline
Points: 4996
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote parsec Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 10 Jan 2016 at 2:11pm
Yes please post some pics of your OC so others know it is possible. Thumbs Up
Back to Top
t3hoz View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 10 Jan 2016
Status: Offline
Points: 7
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote t3hoz Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11 Jan 2016 at 8:41am
Sorry for the hold.. sure no problem.
Right now i have it on 4.2 (still testing) ram on 2700.
I did have some bsods/freezes and didnt know if it was my ram or cpu oc.

Ram right now stable from 2400 16-16-16-39 to 2700 14-14-14-36 on 1.3v
6400Tongue on 4.2 with 1.35 and still testing so far stable, will try increasing clock speed in the next days.

http://valid.x86.fr/lh4xbr 4.2Ghz stable with 1.35v
http://valid.x86.fr/u6q138 4.45Ghz but i know it aint stable on 1.35v

As i dont want to put more then 1.35v i might reach 4.3/4.4 :)
Many thanks or the beta bios btw !

Edited by t3hoz - 11 Jan 2016 at 8:58am
Back to Top
s_pc View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 11 Jan 2016
Status: Offline
Points: 14
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote s_pc Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11 Jan 2016 at 3:17pm
I think you should change the topic to "SKYOC wins" lol
Back to Top
Xaltar View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 16 May 2015
Status: Offline
Points: 5791
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Xaltar Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11 Jan 2016 at 4:00pm
tehehe

Done Thumbs Up
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 11.06
Copyright ©2001-2018 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.078 seconds.