ASRock.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Technical Support > AMD Motherboards
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - x470 Taichi, 3.50 to 4.60 BIOS Update
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

x470 Taichi, 3.50 to 4.60 BIOS Update

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>
Author
Message
WowMike2002 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 13 Feb 2021
Status: Offline
Points: 3
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote WowMike2002 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: x470 Taichi, 3.50 to 4.60 BIOS Update
    Posted: 13 Feb 2021 at 7:53am
I am curious how long the 'technical support' emails take to have responded to? It has been working on the 3rd day now and still nothing.

I used my 2700x on my x470 Taichi to update to 4.60 to install my new 5900x processor. After the update finished and it powers down.. it no longer posts. Have done all the checks and boxes (I am a Systems Administrator, work on computers day to day). Everything from swapping memory, to a single memory stick, clearing CMOS and everything. no official post code other than '00' with the 2700x, while the 5900x has no post code show up at all.

Attempting to get a fix for this ASAP as this is also my work computer, rather frustrating not having a Flashback available.

Still fully under warranty, and also snagged an extended warranty as a just in case through Newegg.
Back to Top
StefaanC View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 13 Feb 2021
Location: Belgium
Status: Offline
Points: 95
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote StefaanC Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 21 Feb 2021 at 5:07am
Strip down the entire system, just keep cpu and atx power supply and start computer wait 20 second and press again on power button , if it shuts don immediately ok thats when in the bios . then add 1 ram and repeat, then then videocard and repeat and so on till it does not boot and be note the 5500x needs more power then a 2700x .

I had on the x399 taichi a 1000watt PSU due to the entiry setup , 128 gb ddr4 raid 6 card running 8 sas disks sobe carefull what the computer is asking.
Back to Top
muziqaz View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie
Avatar

Joined: 04 Jan 2021
Location: London
Status: Offline
Points: 500
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote muziqaz Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 22 Feb 2021 at 10:52pm
5900x and 2700x both have same TDP: 105W

What Asrock did not anticipate is that people will want to upgrade from 2000 series to 5000 series on their x470 motherboards, and currently according to their documentations there is no way to update the BIOS to latest if you have 2000 series CPU :/
folding@home
Back to Top
eszed556 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 22 Feb 2021
Status: Offline
Points: 8
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote eszed556 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 22 Feb 2021 at 11:29pm
Hi. I'm in the same situation as OP, except I haven't attempted the swap.

Current specs:

Ryzen 2700
ASRock X470 Taichi (P1.60 BIOS)
4 x 8GB CL14 RAM 3200MHz XMP enabled
1000W PSU

I'd like to swap the 2700 with the 5950x. As per ASRock support page, BIOS 4.60 supports Ryzen 5000 series.

However, I don't know whether to jump directly to 4.60 from 1.60 or 1.60 > 2.00 > 4.60 or any other combination.

Has anyone successfully moved from Ryzen 2xxx to 5xxx on an X470 board?
Back to Top
muziqaz View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie
Avatar

Joined: 04 Jan 2021
Location: London
Status: Offline
Points: 500
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote muziqaz Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 22 Feb 2021 at 11:37pm
Jumping from 1.60 to 4.60 will definitely brick your motherboard.

Updating to 2.00 first and then to 4.60 might work, but might be same as what happened here
folding@home
Back to Top
datonyb View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 11 Apr 2017
Location: London U.K.
Status: Offline
Points: 2269
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote datonyb Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25 Feb 2021 at 12:00am
in theory the option to update bios from internet in bios should give you the correct paths/order of updates
[url=https://valid.x86.fr/jpg250][/url]

3800X, powercolor reddevil vega64, gskill tridentz3866, taichix370, evga750watt gold
Back to Top
eszed556 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 22 Feb 2021
Status: Offline
Points: 8
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote eszed556 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25 Feb 2021 at 12:13pm
Through their support channel, an ASRock rep advised to move from 1.60 to 2.00 then 4.60. I'll give it a shot this weekend and revert.
Back to Top
muziqaz View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie
Avatar

Joined: 04 Jan 2021
Location: London
Status: Offline
Points: 500
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote muziqaz Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25 Feb 2021 at 2:57pm
Originally posted by eszed556 eszed556 wrote:

Through their support channel, an ASRock rep advised to move from 1.60 to 2.00 then 4.60. I'll give it a shot this weekend and revert.


Best of luck :)
folding@home
Back to Top
eszed556 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 22 Feb 2021
Status: Offline
Points: 8
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote eszed556 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 27 Feb 2021 at 12:05pm
1.60 > 2.00 > 4.60 was a success. Thanks for the responses.

I have paired the 5950x with a Noctua NH-D15 cooler. It idles at 32C. Ran Prime 95 for 20 mins and CPU peaked at 75C. Should improve as the thermal paste cures I guess.

XMP 2.0 is stable thus far (B-Die). The hardest part was installing the CPU cooler. I have a CM HAF 912 that houses 4 sticks of RAM, a 3080 and this massive cooler. Hands are full of cuts and nicks.

Interestingly my 2700 booted successfully on BIOS 4.60.

I had installed the latest chipset drivers (from AMD's site) prior to the BIOS flash. Do I need to do anything else post CPU swap? Some OS settings were off - other than that, so far so good.
Back to Top
muziqaz View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie
Avatar

Joined: 04 Jan 2021
Location: London
Status: Offline
Points: 500
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote muziqaz Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 27 Feb 2021 at 5:24pm
Great stuff.
AMD says that 5000 series does not need special power plan anymore, like they did with 2000-3000 series
folding@home
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 12.04
Copyright ©2001-2021 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.070 seconds.