ASRock.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Technical Support > AMD Motherboards
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - Constant reboots / resets after POST
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Constant reboots / resets after POST

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>
Author
Message Reverse Sort Order
Xaltar View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 16 May 2015
Location: Europe
Status: Offline
Points: 8958
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Xaltar Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Constant reboots / resets after POST
    Posted: 25 Feb 2021 at 6:57pm
Originally posted by monkeywrench monkeywrench wrote:

As stated, ordered new cpu and gpu that arrived today. It was the cpu all along.

What could've caused it? Overheating, poorly applied thermal paste? Or just a dud?

I'm going to contact my vendor to see if I could get a replacement or something.

Thanks for the assistance, everyone.


Likely just a dud CPU, it happens a lot more these days than it used to due to the
larger dies and smaller manufacture process. The IMC (Integrated Memory Controller)
tends to be the most common fail point.
Back to Top
muziqaz View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie
Avatar

Joined: 04 Jan 2021
Location: London
Status: Offline
Points: 590
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote muziqaz Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25 Feb 2021 at 3:01pm
Originally posted by monkeywrench monkeywrench wrote:

As stated, ordered new cpu and gpu that arrived today. It was the cpu all along.

What could've caused it? Overheating, poorly applied thermal paste? Or just a dud?

I'm going to contact my vendor to see if I could get a replacement or something.

Thanks for the assistance, everyone.


If going through AMD directly, they replace faulty CPUs without much of the fuss :) Depending on your retailer, it might be quicker going through retailer though :)
folding@home
Back to Top
monkeywrench View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 22 Feb 2021
Location: Sweden
Status: Offline
Points: 7
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote monkeywrench Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25 Feb 2021 at 12:54am
As stated, ordered new cpu and gpu that arrived today. It was the cpu all along.

What could've caused it? Overheating, poorly applied thermal paste? Or just a dud?

I'm going to contact my vendor to see if I could get a replacement or something.

Thanks for the assistance, everyone.
Back to Top
monkeywrench View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 22 Feb 2021
Location: Sweden
Status: Offline
Points: 7
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote monkeywrench Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 23 Feb 2021 at 6:30pm
So, hello there, everyone. Status right now is: I have tried booting memtest - and it passed all green with both memory modules in.


Tried booting from USB with linuxstress to do some tests on the CPU - and it just resets as it is trying to boot.

Tried disabling the Core Performance Boost, no dice, just weird and slow behavior and actually hanging when booting anything.

So I wanted to order a cheap graphics card to test if it works and a cheap cpu - unfortunately the AMD Athlon 3000G is out of stock everywhere, so I had to order another Ryzen 7 - a 3800X, but it seems easier than to send away the computer for diagnostics elsewhere...

So, I'll be back in a few days, swearing. Or cheering.

Thanks for all the ideas and support, everyone.
Back to Top
DemonAk View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 04 Apr 2018
Status: Offline
Points: 16
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote DemonAk Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 23 Feb 2021 at 12:01am
Try to disable in BIOS (AMD-CBS-CPU Configuration) Core performance Boost and test, if post and boot fine then probably your CPU defective and you need to replace it
Back to Top
muziqaz View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie
Avatar

Joined: 04 Jan 2021
Location: London
Status: Offline
Points: 590
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote muziqaz Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 22 Feb 2021 at 11:22pm
Take it, BIOS is the latest?
Have you tried booting and doing something with single stick of ram placed in second from the left RAM slot? Maybe try booting into Memtest86+ USB stick and see if you can run your RAM through memory test?
folding@home
Back to Top
monkeywrench View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 22 Feb 2021
Location: Sweden
Status: Offline
Points: 7
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote monkeywrench Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 22 Feb 2021 at 11:10pm
So, I've tested with another Corsair 750W PSU I hade lying around - same issue. Can't boot.

Gaah.
Back to Top
muziqaz View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie
Avatar

Joined: 04 Jan 2021
Location: London
Status: Offline
Points: 590
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote muziqaz Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 22 Feb 2021 at 8:59pm
PSU failures (not catastrophic ones) manifest themselves under certain loads. If GPU is too powerful for PSU (not your case, just an example), PC will start, get into Windows, and will crash if you start doing anything 3D intensive.

In your case, GPU will never be able to kill your PSU, however faulty PSUs happen, and in those instances failures can manifest in various ways. When you start installing windows, or start booting windows, CPU is loaded quite a bit, so that might trigger a reboot. In BIOS if you could report voltage sensor data, it might reveal PSU issues (or not) ;)
folding@home
Back to Top
monkeywrench View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 22 Feb 2021
Location: Sweden
Status: Offline
Points: 7
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote monkeywrench Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 22 Feb 2021 at 8:44pm
But I can start the computer. Are you basically saying that perhaps at the moment the graphics card or CPU starts to load the PSU with more demand for power, it gives out, perhaps?
Back to Top
muziqaz View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie
Avatar

Joined: 04 Jan 2021
Location: London
Status: Offline
Points: 590
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote muziqaz Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 22 Feb 2021 at 8:31pm
It is possible that PSU gave out.
CPUs do not die that easily these days. You would have felt overheating CPU in your gameplay before it would switch itself off.
In BIOS go to Monitoring tab, and check what each voltage sensor is reporting (12V, 3.3V, etc).

folding@home
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 12.04
Copyright ©2001-2021 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.063 seconds.